We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing paddle down the Dordogne”
Review of Canoes Loisirs

Canoes Loisirs
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Vitrac
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canoës Loisirs is a canoe renting base near Sarlat la Canéda in the Périgord. From 9 to 25 km come and enjoy the different routes to discover all the castles ans the beauty of the Dordogne.
London
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing paddle down the Dordogne”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We spent the morning in Sarlat looking around the shops and the fantastic market, and had previously decided to spend the afternoon on the river. We were a party of 6 - 4 adults and 2 children. After a short drive from Sarlat to Vitrac, we arrived at the busy car park where Canoes Loisirs are based. It was busy but they had plenty of canoes to spare. We paid for 2 canoes and a container to keep valuables in, and were soon equipped with life jackets, paddles, and a map/description of the journey that we would be taking. We then hopped into our canoes and were launched out onto the river to begin our adventure. We had only a little experience of canoeing but this was very easy. The river is nice and calm, and flows at a gentle pace, so you don't really need to do a lot of paddling. We did though, and we completed the 2 1/2 journey in just under 2 hours (the river was high so flowing a little quicker than usual). The description of the journey that was provided to us helped us map our way past the towns and villages to our destination. There are some lovely sights along the way, La Roque-Gageac being one of them, and some nice opportunities for photos. You can of course stop at many places along the river if you want a rest, something to eat, or just to have a look around away from the river. It was a busy afternoon on the river with a lot of canoes and kayaks about, but it was never a problem with there being too many. After we reached our destination, Castelnaud-La-Chapelle, the canoes were taken in and we were told there were 20 minutes until our coach would arrive to take us back. We had a short walk about and bought some ice creams. The journey back took about 20 minutes and dropped us off in the car park where we started.
It was a great afternoon which we thoroughly enjoyed, even if the weather was a little cloudy. The staff we spoke to were all very friendly and organised, and they spoke good English which made it all that bit easier. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCanoes, Directeur général at Canoes Loisirs, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks for your review. Best day ever : Market in Sarlat in the morning and paddling the Dordogne in the afternoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    115
    10
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic day on the Dordogne”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have just returned back to our gite after an amazing day canoeing on the Dordogne with Canoe Loisirs. All the staff were incredibly helpful and polite and helped us get organised with our two small children. From the moment we reserved the canoe earlier in the week, to the moment we returned back to Vitrac everything was just as we had hoped. The journey from Vitrac to Castelnaud (12km) was perfect for our first canoeing trip with a brief stop en route for our picnic. The scenery is truly stunning and we'lll definitely return and canoe further next time. Canoe Loisirs are are very well organised sand the staff are incredibly helpful and supportive, especially to families who have perhaps not canoed before. We were grateful to have our photo taken on the way by the photographer and stopped just afterwards to buy the CD with the pictures on. What a great memory of out fantastic trip!

Our children have had an unforgettable day and we all have very treasured memories of our canoe trip along the Dordogne. Thank you to all the staff at Canoe Loisirs for a fabulous day. We shall return and cannot recommend this company highly enough.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCanoes, Directeur général at Canoes Loisirs, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for your review and a great thanks from all the staff. We are doing our best to mae you enjoy your day on the river. Looking forward to see you again soon.
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very efficient canoe company”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My family hired 2x 2 man canoes in July and travelled the 16km down the fast flowing river to Beynac. This is a very efficient company which operate a large number of boats. They had regular buses returning you from your final destination to your car.

We wore swim costumes in the canoes - the children jumped in - and were provided with life jackets. I would recommend taking a hat and lots of sunscreen on a hot day. You can hire a water tight container for valuables and lunch can be picked up from a bakery/ restaurant at one of the villages on route.

The route is absolutely stunning, taking in villages, cliffs and castles.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank trailgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCanoes, Directeur général at Canoes Loisirs, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review. Hat or cap and a lot of suncream is a really good idea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Madre, California
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Fun activity, no real skill needed”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have done this several times from various ports. You go to the little rental hut and chose how far you want to go. They take you by van to the location and you float/paddle back at your own pace. The river is usually very calm. You can stop as much as you want on the way back, just pull the canoe or kayak up the riverbank, grab a beer or a snack, explore a new village or take some photos. They provide a water proof container for your belongings and lifejackets. Reasonable prices, lots of options.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCanoes, Directeur général at Canoes Loisirs, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for taking some time to rent a coment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun for young and old (14 - 91!)”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Prompt start and pickup at appointed destination. NOT a white water experience. Spectacular scenery, leisurely trip down a slow moving river.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kayron_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCanoes, Directeur général at Canoes Loisirs, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your review. Hope you would come to enjoy the river again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canoes Loisirs also viewed

Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Carsac-Aillac, Sarlat-la-Caneda
 

Been to Canoes Loisirs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing