We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer dinner under the lime trees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vitrac
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Summer dinner under the lime trees”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Having dinner at the Hotel Plaisance is an essential part of every family holiday in the Dordogne. We love the setting - in summer in the shade of the lime trees on the terrace - the friendly staff and the menu based on regional dishes. They all add up to a experience that is slightly old-fashioned, but in a good way. This year the 29 euro four course menu fully lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingjenny30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    83
    14
    9
    1
See reviews for
43
106
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

A good position overlooking the river. Very friendly and helpful people, good food and comfortable and very clean rooms. Parking at hotel could be tight but there is an overspill parking across the road. Lovely grounds at sports centre to sit and relax.

Room Tip: Overlook river and bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Planezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, VT
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Went with Friends and found the Hotel Vitrac to be a good location for exploring the area: the roads along the river, the castles. It's not too far from anything. Be sure to have your dinners at the Hotel -- on each of 4 nights we were never disappointed. The "Walnut Delight," "Apple or Pear Tart," duck dishes, all lovely. Special kudos to the house "fish soup" with additions (which could be a meal itself.) The heated pool is great and a very short walk from the hotel. It's refreshing and well worth the little detour. The hotel rooms we had were plain, a little dated, but clean and quite comfortable. The sun room on the second floor was a nice place to sit, play cards, write letters, etc. If you have a time, stop into the village where there is a lovely art gallery/cafe run by the artists. Most of the works are theirs, but their work is excellent and their cafe charming. English is not the strong suit of the owners, but between my absymal French and their desire to accommodate, everything was fine. Their young employees' English is adequate. If I travel to that region again, I would not want to experiment with another place. Hotel Plaisance was too pleasant!

Room Tip: Ask for the jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Materforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed one night at this popular Hotel with friends, having made the reservation through Logis. We all made use of the lovely heated swimming pool which is 100 metres from the hotel but an easy walk. It is certainly worth the effort. We dined on the terrace and all enjoyed our meals. The Fish soup was an excellent starter, followed by some good local dishes. The Cafe Gourmand was delicious. Some of the portion sizes were possibly too large, but the prices were good. The rooms were clean and tidy with nice views. We did not try the breakfast. I recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the Vitrac area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plantsman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This is a quaint and interesting French hotel in a wonderful location right next to the Dordogne at the port of Vitrac. We booked half board which included a simple but very drinkable bottle of wine and dinner which comprised of soup, a starter, a main and dessert. This was produced each night and we never knew what would be served up but it was invariably of a good to high standard. If you like duck you won’t be disappointed here. The room we had was excellent for our family of 4. The décor like in a lot of French hotels is a little run down but everything is very clean. The hotel has excellent facilities: a tennis court, a swimming pool and table tennis. There is a charge of €4 per wifi connection. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBlunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights with 11 other people and we were all very satisfied with our experience there. The hostess and staff are extremely nice and helpful and the food is true authentic cuisine from the region. It is also well prepared and generous, and you can eat outside on the very nice terrace.The buffet breakfast is varied and a real feast and the location of the hotel perfect : close to Sarlat and across a canoe landing which allows you to rent canoes and go down the river to admire the breathtaking landscape and architecture.
The traffic is noisy during the day in August but it becomes quiet at night. Not a problem.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabienne922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I visited the restaurant with three friends in July 2010 and we were all impressed. Menu was extensive, service was speedy and staff pleasant. The food was of above average quality and good portion size and the cost for four people including three courses, hors deufs, coffee and two bottles of wine was €140. Beat that.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitrac
4.4 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
628 reviews
4.5 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Le Relais du Touron
Le Relais du Touron
#2 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
198 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
389 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Mounea
Hotel Mounea
#1 of 2 in Marquay
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Plaisance

Property: Hotel Restaurant Plaisance
Address: Le Port, 24200 Vitrac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Vitrac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vitrac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Plaisance 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaisance Hotel Vitrac
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance Vitrac, Dordogne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing