We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying very hard”
Review of Hotel Beausejour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Beausejour
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vic-sur-Cere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

One of those hotels where you feel sorry for the owners. Its a large hotel with lovely grounds and a real sun trap of a terrace at the front overlooking the road. But one worries whether they'll get the trade to pay the running costs of such a vast edifice. We visited in the second week of September - hardly low season, but the place was pretty empty and lacking atmosphere. We opted for a small room as it was just a one night stay, but it was well appointed and clean, if a little old fashioned.
The evening menu lacked choice and was served in a cavernous and sparsely populated room. The menu was trying to be at the gourmet end of cuisine but didn't really succeed. A menu serving good hearty auvergnat favourites might have been better. We weren't late finishing and fancied sitting in the attractive and large bar for a while, but with everything being packed away around us we decided to go up to bed.
Would we go back? - well yes if only to reward the hard work of the owners and staff - you feel like they deserve a break - and it is a nice hotel with wonderful grounds . But we'd probably eat elsewhere in the village.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorrisHatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a holiday resort hotel which does the job well enough. During our stay there was one group of people on a package deal. Our room (superior double with balcony) overlooked the swimming pool, the school and the mountains beyond and it was a pleasant enough view. The room was large and comfortable although decorated in an old fashioned pink mentioned by other reviewers. Dinner was acceptable served in a large featureless room, and the front of house lady (manager?) was very pleasant indeed popping up in Reception, Bar, and Dining Room. Not a hotel or town I would rush back to, but more than adequate for our one night stopover.

Room Tip: Our superior double room with balcony was worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DS221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had a delightful time in Vic sur Cere at the Hotel Beausejour. Large comfy room, comfy bed overlooking the square/trees and mountain view in the distance. Stayed in Room 208. Ate at the restaurant. People were delightful. Town is lovely. Area delightful

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qsmamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This is a delightful, slightly old fashioned (in a good way) hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room with a balcony offered lovely views across the valley. The hotel has a large garden and swimming pool. Parking is very easy. You can eat in the restaurant (limited choice) or there are other places nearby in the town and surrounding villages. All in all a change from bland, uniform chains.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDS8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Late booking as we traveled down through the Auvergne, its a delightful old fashioned hotel. The staff were most welcoming and friendly and the room was newly and tastefully decorated, bathroom excellent with a separate toilet - although it has to be said the toilet was very cramped, necessitating a 'sideways action'.
Prices were good, and the staff couldn't do enough to help and make stay enjoyable.
Free private parking and wifi.
WOuld always stay at a hotel like this with charm and character in preference to a standard 'chain'
Only downside was the lack of air con - but the temperature was over 35 degrees so may not be an issue at other times.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This is a hotel whose best days are probably behind it, but located in a pretty little town set in stunning Cantal countryside. That alone made the visit worthwhile. We stopped one night and probably would not have wanted to stop longer. There was no doubting the warmth of the welcome and the friendliness of the staff, particularly the barman, but we seemed to be all but invisible for 15 minutes when we first went into dinner. There were no 'prix fixe' menus - you ate off the carte, which made the meal more expensive. The meal was pleasant - no more - but it was nice to get an adequate portion of vegetables with the main course (something the French appear loath to do). The hotel decor was appalling - our landing was done in bright yellow paint and our room - + the stairs to the first floor - had a sort of rough plaster finish. What was most disappointing was our [superior] room. The furnishings were past their sell-by date, the bed was uncomfortable, the pillows hard and the duvet heavy. The whole purpose of stopping in a hotel is to sleep and if the hotel cannot get the basics right, it really does not deserve anything more than an 'adequate' accolade.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basil1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed here for one night on our way back from Spain. Last minute booking on line and struck gold! So superior to the ubiquitous soulless "chains" - Campanile, Kyriad, etc. the welcome from Madam was warm and genuinely friendly, - what a charming lady. The bedroom (basic standard) was very modern, clean and comfortable and the setting superb. The young dining room staff were attentive and simply great ( no meaningless "have a nice day" here!) and the menu good. Altogether a great find, and the old town of Vic is quite interesting. Only one negative, stay off the "house wine" this (INMO) is a very modest local vin de table D'Oc but at a not very modest 14 Euros. Far better to choose a genuine AC Bordeaux from the wonderful 2009 vintage at the same price.

Will definitely return if we are in the area.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank UKTravellers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vic-sur-Cere
1.1 mi away
Hostellerie Saint Clement
Hostellerie Saint Clement
#3 of 5 in Vic-sur-Cere
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Family Hotel
Family Hotel
#2 of 5 in Vic-sur-Cere
143 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Casteltinet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Logis Le Bailliage
Logis Le Bailliage
#1 of 4 in Salers
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bel Horizon
Hotel Bel Horizon
#5 of 5 in Vic-sur-Cere
87 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Le Gerfaut
Hotel Le Gerfaut
#4 of 4 in Salers
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beausejour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beausejour

Address: 4 avenue Andre Mercier, 15800 Vic-sur-Cere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Cantal > Vic-sur-Cere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vic-sur-Cere
Price Range: £52 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beausejour 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Beausejour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing