We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming and beautiful chateau in Burgundy”
Review of Chateau d'Ige

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau d'Ige
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ige
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A charming and beautiful chateau in Burgundy”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The Chateau is a lovely castle in the tiny village of Ige in southern Burgundy. Its rooms are all different. Ours was spacious and the bathroom was large, with heated towel rack. Madame Faucon, the proprietor, is a charming and gracious hostess who helped us plan our days to the best advantage. The location is close to many wonderful places and the restaurant was wonderful (see the review). Breakfast is served in a bright conservatory but was a bit pricey. However, there is really no other place around so it worked for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelfiendNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    104
    30
    14
    3
See reviews for
63
265
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Tx
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The Chateau is a charming castle in the village of Ige in southern Burgundy near Macon. It is a beautiful property with lovely grounds and gardens. The dining rooms were very cozy and elegant. Our room (a jr suite) was quite large and very well appointed with a comfortable bed and separate sitting area. The bathroom was very modern. The staff was very helpful (they all speak English)--set up a visit to a local winery (pouilly fuisse maker) that was one of he highlights of our trip to Burgundy. We had dinner at the restaurant both nights of our stay--it was very good, but not spectacular. Overall a very enjoyable stay and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Quirky, Medieval tower hotel in Ige with a fabulous garden, terrace and restuarant and extensive wine list. Perfect and friendly service and clientele of many nationalities but all discerning.

Four poster bed, big bathroom, sitting area and stone stair case to the room.
The hotel gets a makeover each year when madame closes completely. You can feel her love for the place. Quiet and unassuming but very much in control and everything to high standards.

The food was fabulous, we sat in the garden on the terrace and it was so romantic. Good choice of fish, meat and offer of vegetarian dishes on request. The cheese board was excellent and my grand marnier souffle was heaven on earth. Really.

Our only complaint was we couldn't stay longer (it was a stop over en route from Provence to Paris). We looked in on Chablis on the trip and our experience was not good. Stay local! Madame has lots of information on local history, churches and villages and the vineyards.

We will go again. Perhaps in the winter when the roaring fires would blaze. But in any season it is definitely worth a visit.

Highly recommended - sit back and enjoy. If renovation budget allowed a small pool would have beennice. It was so hot - but then I think it would detract from the ambience.

Room Tip: The garden room looked lovely. If you can;t manage lots of steps let them know - its a Medieval Towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We just spent a few days in this fine medieval castle with all modern comforts in Burgundy. The place is wonderful with a superb park/garden. We recommend the half-board rate: the dinners are absolutely delicious with excellent service either outdoor in the park on inside in three different atmospheric dining rooms.
Our suite, (Tour de la dame) in a round tower, was very nice, albeit a little dark. We saw a very light and delightful room "La favorite." It will be out choice next time.
Many clients were returning couples.
Be prepared for really old stone staircases if you choose a room on an upper floor!

Room Tip: we recommend La Favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windinthewillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

this is really close to lyon if youre flying out of lyon airport. theres great day trips in driving distance and the hospitality directed by our host, francoise was most helpful. the accomodations were lovely, as we expected and dining was extremely pleasurable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abl510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We spent one night during our trip and were disappointed.
The garden and the aperò were the only good memories.
The menu was quite boiring, the wine cellar not outstanding, the service fair.
We stayed at the tower suite: not worthy, with a small toilet and old fashioned furniture.
We definetely think that there are better options in this area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElettraStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namur, belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We spent an excellent night in this old castle near Abbey of Cluny on the way to the French Riviera with our granddaughter ( 3 y o ).
Our room - Hirondelles or swallows - ( on the second floor with no elevator...quite normal in a 12th century tower ! ) was like a suite :
separate room for the baby with " tissus tendus " on the walls .
One review complains that the aperitif is compulsory in the park .
What a mistake if one does not spend a relaxing moment in the Edenic garden perfectly trimmed by Yves Aul....
In his company, we discovered the " ail des ours " bear's garlic used in our menu .
This simple menu - others are available- € 32 and € 11 for The child's, was delicious and deserves a Michelin star .
The food was not "molecular gastronomy" but it was a creative interpretation of traditional cuisine .
Ravioles w/ escargots and the bear's garlic !
Duck from the Dombe with a reduction sauce and infusion of exotic fruit.
Souffle Grand Marnier ...
A traditional dinner but one of the best we have ever eaten
. We had just one of Macon Ige Cuvee Chateau London 2009 for only € 25 .
From the cocktail to the end of our meal .
It was a fantastic place to spend more time.



One review complaints that the aperitif is compulsory in the park ...
What a mistake if one does not spend a relaxing moment in the Edenic garden perfectly trimmed by Yves Aul....
In his company, we discovered the " ail des ours " ( bear's garlic ) used in our menu :-)
This simple menu ( others are avalaible ) € 32 and € 11 for the child's ) was delicious and deserves a Michelin star .
The food was not " molecular gastronomy " but it was a creative interpretation of traditional cuisine .
















Ravioles w/ escargots and the bear's garlic, Duck from the Dombe with a reduction sauce and infusion of exotic fruit , Souffle with Grand Marnier ...
A very traditionnel dinner but one of the best we have ever eaten.
We had just one bottle of Macon Ige Cuvee London 2009 for only € 25 .
From the cocktail to the end of our meal ...

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VecqueeNamur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ige
4.0 mi away
Chateau de Besseuil
Chateau de Besseuil
#1 of 1 in Clesse
208 reviews
15.5 mi away
Les Maritonnes
Les Maritonnes
#1 of 1 in Romaneche-Thorins
310 reviews
7.3 mi away
Chateau De Fleurville
Chateau De Fleurville
#1 of 2 in Fleurville
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Georges Blanc Parc & Spa
6.0 mi away
Carrion Cuisine Hotel and Spa
4.6 mi away
Hotel de Bourgogne
Hotel de Bourgogne
#1 of 3 in Cluny
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau d'Ige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Ige

Property: Chateau d'Ige
Address: 252 rue du Chateau, 71960 Ige, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Ige
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ige
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau d'Ige 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In southern Burgundy, a region rich in history, dotted with Romanesque chapels, the four-star restaurant of the Château d'Igé is there to welcome you.The 13th-century feudal château, built under the reign of King Saint Louis, is surrounded by tranquil gardens with thriving vegetation.Françoise Faivre, the owner and manager, welcomes you with the highly professional assistance of her staff, and especially chef Olivier Pons.For a gastronomic outing or a prolonged visit, you will rediscover the charm, both mysterious and familiar, of the Middle Ages.Meals are served in fine weather on the terrace shaded by centuries-old trees, or in one of the dining rooms with French-style ceilings and wood fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau d'Ige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau d`Ige Hotel Ige

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing