We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Domaine du Verbois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domaine du Verbois
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2007

A lovely little gem of a hotel, set in the pristine village of Neuphle le Chateau. Visit the village - it's retained it's old world charm with a village square, old houses, no modernizations, really. The boulangerie has the best pain au chocolat I had in France!

The hotel is a beautiful little chateau which has a fine terrace for dining on. The menu, food, and service was superb. As good as anything I ate in Paris, really.

I agree with the former reviewer who said this is a lovely place to stay after visiting Versailles. The hotel owner told me that many weddings are held here, too. I can see why!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SimplyAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2006

My husband and I have just returned from a visit to the Chateau of Versailles. After having read mixed reviews of hotels in the town, we decided to stay at the Domaine du Verbois in Neauphle-le-Chateau about 10km from Versailles by car. The place is well-signposted and easy to find. It is a typical small French chateau with pink-washed walls, converted into a hotel in the 1980's. It is set in a large garden with wonderful views over the woods and fields of the Neauphle Plain. A large terrace takes advantage of these views, and this is where dinner is served.

We were made very welcome on arrival. We found the staff to be very pleasant and to speak good English. Our room overlooked the terrace and the views at the back of the building. It was perfectly comfortable but quite small, and either rather dated or charmingly old-fashioned, depending on your point of view! But the bathroom was large with it's own window, was well-equipped and had a good strong shower. Everything was fresh and clean. Best of all, there was a bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us, courtesy of the management! Dinner on the terrace was 4 courses including cheese and was very good. The menu was small but perfectly formed from local produce.

We are very glad that we stayed here! After a hard day slogging around Versailles with the heat and the crowds it was EXACTLY what we needed. A haven of peace, quiet and comfort. I would certainly recommend it to anyone who is travelling by car and is looking for the same things. We thought it was excellent value for money too.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank citeseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: choisir cote vue vallee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank phetanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jean-christophe l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marie Pierre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domaine verbois v, Responsable relations clients at Domaine du Verbois, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Suite Euridice, 1er étage, très belle décoration, spacieuse, grande télévision, belle salle de bain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Louis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neauphle-le-Chateau
5.0 mi away
Hotel Saint-Laurent
Hotel Saint-Laurent
#1 of 2 in Montfort-l'Amaury
102 reviews
19.8 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,091 reviews
9.0 mi away
Abbaye des Vaux de Cernay Hotel
Abbaye des Vaux de Cernay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cernay-la-Ville
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Le Manoir De Sauvegrain
Le Manoir De Sauvegrain
#1 of 2 in Saint-Lambert
87 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Auberge de l'Etoile
9.8 mi away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine du Verbois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine du Verbois

Address: 38 avenue de la Republique, 78640 Neauphle-le-Chateau, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Neauphle-le-Chateau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Neauphle-le-Chateau
Price Range: £84 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine du Verbois 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a large bourgeois mansion of the late nineteenth century. This building is the work and gift of a Parisian antique dealer for one of his mistresses. Le Domaine du Verbois enjoys a privileged location in a 3-hectare park overlooking the Mauldre Valley where you can relax under the sun, or enjoy its newly renovated tennis courts. A private and closed free of charge parking is at your disposal during your stay. A “Chateau Hôtel” located just 20 minutes away from Paris via the A12 - A13. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domaine du Verbois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing