We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again!!”
Review of Domaine des Clos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Domaine des Clos
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaucaire
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never Again!!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have just got back from a week in this attractive converted winery. When we arrived we were quite happy with our choice of place to stay but after a couple of days we were desperate to leave. This place is plagued with mosquitoes and even worse wasps! There must be an infestation of wasps in this place as you could not walk through the grounds without wasps everywhere, could not relax by the pool as there were hundreds flying around the poolside and about 40 dead ones in the pool. I understand there is not much one can do about mosquitoes but everyone staying at this god forsaken place had so many huge bites all over their arms and legs. When I mentioned to the owner the dead wasps in the pool, they handed me a net without a handle to fish them out myself! Then I was told that wasps can't hurt you if they are dead! Are they completely mad? We were with our two small children and there were many families here at the same time. Who wants to swim with wasps, dead or alive?! I have to say the owners seem very disinterested in the upkeep of their establishment. We found thick layers of dusts on fans and smelly bathrooms. We were not expecting ultimate luxury but cleanliness and an interest in satisfying your guests.When I enquired about booking horseriding the owner just handed me the phone and got me to do it myself! Our error was also not checking whether the rooms were air conditioned and that was a huge mistake.In addition, if you are mad enough to book here, just check it has been done as if you do it over the phone or by email, someone else can book your rooms on line at the same time. This is what happened to us and that is why we had to move in the middle of our stay to rooms that were not air conditioned.
If you want to be bitten to shreds by mosquitoes or have swarms of wasps buzzing around your head, feel free to stay here! Otherwise stay well away. Every other place we went to in the surrounding areas did not have this problem. They really need to resolve it and also the owners need to be a little less lazy! Every morning one of the owners was sitting having breakfast on his own in the breakfast room. Rather odd I thought.
Sorry to be so brutally honest but I think you need to know before you book this place. If I could have found somewhere else to stay I would have done so but the South of France was heavily booked up in the surrounding regions as it was a bank holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ausset, Propriétaire at Domaine des Clos, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Mrs ,
We would like to say we are always available to listen to our guests’ suggestions and complaints and to respond to yours in particular.
As you mentioned we have in fact restored this large provencal farmhouse which dates from the 18th century and is located in full countryside. As you noticed, vineyards, olive groves and horse paddocks encompass the estate and it is precisely this country atmosphere which our urban guests look for.
On the down side – the insects, which aren’t always to our liking but which we have to live with. Consequently we have fitted all our windows with mosquito screens. Anti-mosquito devices are placed around the garden in the seating areas. We also sell mosquito spray in our boutique as well as having it freely available at our front desk for those in need, unfortunately we have had a particularly rainy season and this seems to have encouraged them apart from the fact that we are on the doorstep of the Camargue where it is well-known they abide. Whilst for the wasps we do regular treatments to eliminate them but it is difficult to anaesthetize nature.
We have a family orientated clientele with many children and have had no particular problems around the swimming pool. We received at the same time as you and your family a German family with 4 young children who stayed 15 days and who visibly appreciated the charms of our old vineyard as before leaving they reserved for 15 days next summer. Their children after multiple swimming pool visits are safe and sound.
We have tried to make your stay with us agreeable but without success. The day of your arrival you missed your train and arrived at 10.30pm instead of 7pm.
Each morning we take breakfast with our guests, this allows us to discuss and to recommend interesting places to visit, festivals which are taking place or activities available in the region. We are astonished that this custom didn’t please you as most of our clients find this accessibility and exchange a pleasant start to their day and it is precisely this convivial and family spirit at Domaine des Clos which we try to cultivate.
One day you wanted to go horse-riding, I telephoned in front of you to request the information. You had many questions to ask; it seemed natural to me to pass the telephone to you so you could ask your questions directly to the person concerned who spoke very good English.
Our reservation planning is put on-line to aid our guests so they can see in ‘real’ time our availability and reserve on-line immediately. Concerning your reservation (initial request early April) we had sent you a proposition of stay the day of your enquiry, but received no response. Without further news from you the rooms which you had expressed interest in were reserved by another family. You re-contacted us 10 days after my initial email at which point to accommodate you we suggested a change of rooms during your stay. You had access to all the photos and descriptions of the rooms on our website. The rooms Lilas and Lavendre are not air-conditioned (these are the only 2 which are not). At your request the fans were cleaned and the chamber maids were always available for any request you made. Further you asked for a reduction at the moment of your reservation, we accorded you a ‘tarif promotional’ and we regret that even with this added advantage you feel that you have paid dearly for your stay.
We sincerely regret that you have not enjoyed your stay with us and that you were unable to appreciate the time and the effort we and our cleaning staff put in daily to satisfying our guests.
Respectfully,
Sandrine and David AUSSET
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    39
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
63
85
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This Country Inn is in such a perfect location that we couldn't possibly see all the sights in the three days we were there. Close to Nimes, Beaucaire, the Pont Du Gard and the Camargue we could also have gone to Avignon, Arles and Les Beaux. All an easy drive.

As mentioned by others, the grounds are stunning and wonderfully cared for...the pool was warm and large and surrounded by beautiful gardens. An idyllic setting.

We stayed in a family unit which had a mezzanine for the two kids beds and the use of a small shared kitchen down stairs. Perfect for our family. It was decorated with period farm house type furniture and fittings which were lovely but our only complaint would be that perhaps they should be a bit more current. Two of the chairs were pretty rickety and we did not feel we should sit on them...the towels were also "period" and not exactly cozy.

A minor complaint as it did not really affect our stay.

The community dinner, hosted by the owners, was delicious and the desert of apricot pie and lavender ice cream was amazing. We appreciated the opportunity to meet other guests and hear about their travels.

The mosquitos were bad, as others had mentioned, but they responded well to a little bug spray and were not really an issue.

A great place to stay if you are looking for an Authentic Country atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for a week, in two adjoining rooms Lilas/Lavande which unfortunately were not air conditioned (our mistake in booking). The domaine is beautifully decorated and the gardens and pool are lovely, with lots of places to sit and enjoy an evening glass of wine. However we were totally unable to avail of the facilities due to what seemed like an ever increasing numbers of mosquitoes which despite a variety of sprays and citronella candles constantly plagued us. It is well located for access to Nimes, Arles and even Avignon but the nearby town of Beaucaire was disappointing. Probably best for stays of 2-3 days.

Room Tip: Be aware that Lilas/Lavande are NOT air conditioned and the owners office is accessed via a shared d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k8butterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were referred to this location by my Wife's Aunt who has stayed here many times when working in Southern France. I was very happy for her suggestion!

It is out of town, but not a far drive to the nearest restaurants and stores. The location is perfect to relax and spend time together, as well as being close to all historical attractions.

The grounds are incredible! My wife and ran almost every day after breakfast and would stop and pick peaches and apricots right from the trees.

Dave and Sandrine were excellent hosts. They were on top of making sure our needs were met and were great at giving us advise on where to go each day.

We loved the rooms. It was great to have so much space, and it was beautifully decorated. The bedroom had a King bed for my wife and I, and a loft with two beds for our boys. Each night we would play games downstairs at the large table before going to bed.

The breakfast was also a wonderful way to start the day. Each morning there was fresh fruit & bread, home made jam, and pastries.

I would recommend this location to anyone. Whether traveling as a couple or a family, I believe everyone would enjoy their trip while staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tentrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a great stay ad Domaine the Clos. The rooms are nicely decorated, clean, have a very comfortable bed and the aircon is just perfectly silent.
For a french breakfast, it is very well done - you can have fresh espresso and freshly made orange juice with a great variety of bread, homemade marmelade and a very warm welcome by the hosts every day. The hosts answer any question and give valuable tips.
During your stay, you can travel around easily, as the location is perfectly situated between Avignon, Arles, Nimes, Camargues, Provence, Wineries, markets, ...
The pool is inviting and you can spend long evenings in very comfortable lounge areas.
As there is a kitchen and a fridge even for the B&B rooms, you don't need to go out for dinner!
So, if you are planning to go for the Provence, go for Domaine the Clos!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCEngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Domaine des Clos is an excellent base to visit amongst other places Nimes and Arles, both having beautiful Roman remains.
The domaine is set back from the main road between Beaucaire and Bellegarde but it is very easy to find. We stayed in Alpille, one of the self-catering apartments having a private balcony. The apartment had been beautifully designed and decorated. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything you might need . The property itself has been lovingly restored and it offers a tranquil place to relax and unwind. There is a large outdoor pool with an ample supply of sunbeds and well maintained and extensive grounds.
There are two brick-built barbecues available for use by guests.
Sandrine and David are excellent hosts who stay in the background unless you need them.
Once you get past the eyesore of the cement factory Beaucaire has an interesting old town and a lively area by the canal with numerous restaurants and cafes. If driving in Bellegarde be very careful driving over some of the speed humps, which have dips in the middle, meaning even at 30 km/h you are likely to scrape the bottom of your car.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stunningly Beautiful place! a very warm and discret welcome by the owners that only the French know how to do. Owners very helpful with restaurant reservations and advice on the downside breakfast is adequate but not in reflection of the standing of the residence and the people running the place.

A little hard to find but once you are there what bonheur!

We really enjoyed our stay and we will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaucaire
4.2 mi away
Logis Les Vignes Blanches
Logis Les Vignes Blanches
#3 of 4 in Beaucaire
3.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant l'Oliveraie
5.4 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 8 in Tarascon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Robinson
Hotel Restaurant Robinson
#4 of 4 in Beaucaire
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
13.6 mi away
Le Vieux Castillon
Le Vieux Castillon
#1 of 2 in Castillon-du-Gard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
10.0 mi away
L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine des Clos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine des Clos

Property: Domaine des Clos
Address: Domaine des clos 911 Chemin du Mas de la Tour, 30300 Beaucaire, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Beaucaire
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaucaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine des Clos 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a country home which offers the perfect blend of the charms of yesteryear and the comforts of today. Each room is individually decorated and stylishly furnished in a vibrant homage to the colours of the South. All bedrooms are soundproofed and air-conditioned. They each have an en suite bathroom with a hair dryer and a variety of toiletry products. The rooms have a flat screen TV and free WiFi access. Personal safe. For your comfort: there is a living room and a small kitchen at the guests' disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domaine des Clos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Des Clos Beaucaire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing