We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb authentic base for touring!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine Des Clos

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Domaine Des Clos
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaucaire
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb authentic base for touring!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I spent several months (yes,months!) researching a suitable place for a small party to rent in a great location and came across Domaine de Clos by chance on www.sawdays.co.uk. It ticked all our boxes, very central location for touring as mentioned in previous reviews, within very easy reach of Arles, Nimes, Camargue, Avignon and Nimes Airport and superb value (compared to over priced other locations). We were a mixed group of adults, a couple and 3 singles and rented the largest 4 bedroom apartment Le Sud in June. Very large (180 sqm) and effectively a portion of one of the sides of the courtyard on the ground and first floor. Separate kitchen/dining room opening to the rear terrace with comfortable sofa and chairs (not shown in the photos) as well as dining table. Spacious sitting room at the front opening to the courtyard. Perfectly comfortable beds and linens/towels are absolutely fine (in contrast to what other reviewers have said). If you do not wish to bring a pool towel, they can also supply this. Very extensive lawned gardens (so we hardly noticed other guests at all) and fantastic 17m gated pool with shaded area (which we largely had to ourselves in June when we were there). Very helpful manager and owners - the house book had so many recommendations for restaurants we took it with us in the car to stop at places en route! One of the best house books I have ever seen. First class home made jam. WiFi works perfectly. Yes, there were mosquitoes but only at certain times of day. Some of the apartments have been done up more recently and do therefore have better bathrooms. This is a perfect location for an inexpensive holiday (in a location where it is not easy to find good inexpensive accommodation) for families with pre-school children for example or even for adult parties travelling together wanting their own space. Superb venue also for a special celebration taking the whole place (about 50 beds in total). Bellegarde and Beaucaire ample amenities - Carrefour, chemists, banks, restaurants etc. Highly recommended. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated apartments in the main courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGurette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    39
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
61
82
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We absolutely LOVED Domaines de Clos and consider ourselves lucky to have had the opportunity to stay here. A converted old vineyard with charm, our two level apartment is complete with a kitchen and living area, two spacious bathrooms and a wonderful eating area. The grounds are spectacular complete with Cyprus trees, oleanders, olive and apricot trees and a vineyard. A wonderful pool area too! Wonderful homemade breakfasts served every morning and we had a most memorable farm to table dinner with people from all over the world, prepared by David and Sandrine, the owners. The world seemed like a much smaller place! Great location for taking day trips to the hill towns.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfinntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, Ca
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This converted farm has updated rooms and apartments for either short or extended stays on its extensive property. Located between Provence and the Camargue, it was a great location for recuperating after a strenuous bicycling trip. Proprietor/managers are gracious, helpful, and unobtrusive, and the grounds are impeccably maintained. If you're looking either for a place simply to relax, or a base from which to explore the region, this is it. Breakfasts are wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahardy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
218 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have stayed here at least seven times since 2008 and we just love this place so much for its serenity, comfort and now luxurious apartments which have just opened up or been renovated to make them even better than before. Nine guest rooms and nine apartments plus spacious places to relax and just unwind. A huge pool which was, when we were there on June 10, 11 and 12 the perfect temperature for swimming during a hot stretch when daytime temps were in the high 80s and low 90s. Our room, a favorite, the 'Yellow' room has direct access to a lovely lounge with a big table, two very nice and comfy chairs and a very nice couch where my wife loved to read in the evenings. We used the grill two out of the three nights were were there, preparing delicious fresh fish in foil with veggies and LOTS of garlic (to chase away the mosquitos) and it was just heaven to sit out there and have that wonderful food and local wine. The Carrefour store in nearby Beaucaire, less than ten minutes drive, is one of our favorite stores anywhere in Europe and has incredible fish and other options. We honestly cannot understand why anyone even leaves Domaine des Clos at all. The apartments are lavishly furnished and include everything one needs to prepare fantastic, fresh food. The sounds of the night are too wonderful to miss, the wind in the trees, the cicadas, all music to the ears of someone who is tired of city sounds. This is Relaxation Station Extraordinaire. Come and stay for a week or more and you will fall in love with so many things again, or for the first time. New staff member Lisa speaks perfect English as well as French. Owners Sandrine and David speak French, English and some German between them. Lovely breakfast with homemade jams by Sandrine is some really creative combinations.

Room Tip: Take one of the newest apartments with private terrace in either the former horse stables (upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The Hotel is very charming with beautiful rooms decorated in provence style. Breakfast is fantastic ! Great location and very quiet. Close to all main attractions such as Arles, Nimes and Pont du Gard. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naitsabenomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is not a nice location for cyclists- just off the the busy D38 between Bellegard and Beaucaire - but not near enough to either. No shop, no bar, no restaurant. Luckily our Tour Company had booked a taxi to take us to dinner on both evenings we were to stay here. But it was 3.00 pm, we were tired, hungry and thirsty and dinner was hours away. The reception girl spoke no English and my French was insufficient to explain our dilemma. Our room was partitioned off from some larger space and the loo installed by the most amateur of DIY enthusiasts. Rough steps led up to a shower but at least it worked. This was camping out in a building. Breakfast next morning was in a large communal hall, plain tables laid with a single croissant and a small pot of coffee per person. An unappetitising bowl of fruit with a rotting peach was centre piece of a self service table. It was still there, untouched, the following day. The owners, a pleasant couple, took a very "hands off " approach to service at the Domaine, not ideal in a service industry. I cannot think of a single thing to recommend this place. Avoid.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m2smayo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spent a long weekend in this very pleasant 'chambre d'hote' over a long November weekend. The hotel is located a few kilometres outside Beaucaire in a very nice setting in the countryside. The gardens surrounding the property are particularly pleasant, planted with olive trees and various decorative bushes. The family who run the hotel were very helpful and pleasant. The communal areas are all decorated with various 'objets d'art. We stayed in one of the small apartments with a small living area, kitchenette, bathroom and bedroom. All the necessary amenities were provided to cook & eat your own meals - cooker (camping gas) , fridge, microwave, etc. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of fresh ingredients, local jam, fresh orange juice , good coffee. The only criticism we could find were the towels which were extremely hard and worn out.
Globally though we thorougly enjoyed our short stay! To be recommened.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fred187264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaucaire
4.2 mi away
Logis Les Vignes Blanches
Logis Les Vignes Blanches
#3 of 4 in Beaucaire
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant l'Oliveraie
5.4 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 8 in Tarascon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Robinson
Hotel Restaurant Robinson
#4 of 4 in Beaucaire
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
13.4 mi away
Le Vieux Castillon
Le Vieux Castillon
#1 of 2 in Castillon-du-Gard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#3 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Des Clos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Des Clos

Property: Domaine Des Clos
Address: Domaine des clos 911 Chemin du Mas de la Tour, 30300 Beaucaire, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Beaucaire
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaucaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine Des Clos 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a country home which offers the perfect blend of the charms of yesteryear and the comforts of today. Each room is individually decorated and stylishly furnished in a vibrant homage to the colours of the South. All bedrooms are soundproofed and air-conditioned. They each have an en suite bathroom with a hair dryer and a variety of toiletry products. The rooms have a flat screen TV and free WiFi access. Personal safe. For your comfort: there is a living room and a small kitchen at the guests' disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Domaine Des Clos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Des Clos Beaucaire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing