We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Way to Experience the Countryside”
Review of Domaine des Clos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Domaine des Clos
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaucaire
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Wonderful Way to Experience the Countryside”
Reviewed 23 February 2010

As I read through previous reviews, some of which were very negative, it occured to me that perhaps some people should just stay at home, or if they travel at all, stay in a Hilton or a Mariott or a Holiday Inn, where the rooms are all identical to those in Cleveland, and where there are no surprises or touches of originality. A stay at the Domaine des Clos is perfect for those who truly want to experience the country they are in, and not for those who think they can take their habits and their oversized appetites with them everywhere they go. The Domaine des Clos, first and foremost, is a family home which has been lovingly prepared for guests. And, as a guest, you are expected to fend for yourself 99% of the time. That's just fine with me, because I come here to relax and unwind and to have a peaceful place to rest after a day of sightseeing. I don't come here for a fattening English Breakfast or for round the clock service. If that's what you want, go stay in Avignon. What you'll miss are the sublime pleasures of this old farm, the wind in the trees lining the walkway to the large pool surrounded by orchards and olive trees.
If you come here expecting 24hr internet and a hundred channels of crap on the telly, then you're going to be one of those who rate this place with one star. Again, I don't come to Domaine des Clos to be constantly plugged into the outside world. I come here to escape it, if even for just a few days. Regarding the complaint about how far Domaine des Clos is from restaurants, well, again the blokes who write this are totally missing the point of why one would choose to spend their holiday at this farm. You're supposed to shop for wonderful cheeses, breads, fruits and vegetables and of course, wine. Then you enjoy any one of the many hidden coves with candlelight and you are now truly experiencing France. Just don't forget your industrial-strength mosquito repellant.
Regarding breakfast, the European/Australian habit of having a huge and greasy breakfast is overrated and besides, very unhealthy. And really folks, what do you want for the fair price charged by the owners? I spend six months traveling per year and challenge anyone to find a place offering this much relaxation and charm and beauty for the price.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frequent_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    40
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
64
91
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

As private tours guides for small groups of family and friends throughout Europe, my husband and I find that Domaine des Clos is one of our guests' favorite destinations when traveling in Provence/Languedoc Roussillon.

They love the authenticity of staying on an actual "working mas" that is high on charm and hospitality. It's a welcome respite after a day of sightseeing to return to the comforts of Domaine des Clos. There are many options for relaxation on the grounds -- within one of the little nooks, under the huge plane tree in the courtyard, at the swimming pool, or strolling through the lovely grounds.

Our guests love that they're able to keep food in the community refrigerators and that there are kitchens available so there's no need to go out for dinner. A highlight is to go "foraging" at local markets for the evening's meal at Domaine des Clos

Breakfast time is very friendly as you're able to sit and chat with other guests from all over and compare notes as to how they've spent their days. Madame Ausset's preserves are my favorite ever! You'll love the varieties and creative combinations that she's concocted.

Over the past several years, the rooms have been updated with beautiful and creative touches that make them even more cozy and comfortable.

For a true french countryside experience -- but in the vicinity of many major sites -- Domaine des Clos is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenean516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2009

My husband who is a French Canadian wanted to introduce the French culture to me, who is a Chinese Canadian. What better way to do that than to take me to La Provence for a French Immersion experience.
We stayed at the Domaine des Clos for one week and it was one of the best weeks of our lives. We enjoyed everyday of our stay, getting up in the morning to the sound of the birds and the cock-a-doo. The breakfast was delicious and the farm setting was both rustic and modern. David, Sandrine and the staff were very hospitable and efficient and the place felt like home.
We loved the trees and the flowers and the relaxed amostphere where we lazed on the garden chairs every morning just listening to the sounds of the country. My husband fell in love with the dog who would wait for us to return from our daily outings to play soccer... and what a brilliant soccer player she was!
It was such a memorable experience and it gave me an unforgettable taste of the French daily lives,the warm of the French people, the delicoius French cusine and the beauty of the French campagne.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeVikingQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We stayed for three nights in July at Domaine des Clos. On the plus side it is a beautiful setting, the property and grounds are very pretty , there's an attractive pool and lovely peach groves to explore and its a nice place to relax. But there are downsides to be aware of. Our room had a very small bathroom which we could have coped with but coupled with the lack of aircon (temperatures were averaging 35 degrees during our stay) this made it fairly uncomfortable. Breakfast was a bit stingy too so (thanks to other reviewers) we made sure we got there at 8.30 to ensure we got what we wanted - including lots of the lovely homemade jam. The other major downside was the lack of dinner options. On our first night we enjoyed a four course meal and wine put on by the owners which was great and it was a shame this wasn't available more often. On our other two nights though we had to venture elsewhere as unless you cook for yourself in the communal kitchen you have to drive at least 6km to the nearest town - Beaucaire not being the most attractive place to spend an evening. Once there we did, with the help of suggestions from the owners, manage to find decent places to eat but beware, you need a good map and a strong nerve to get through Beaucaire's narrow and fairly uninviting one way system. We went to Les Doctrinaires which (unbeknown to us) had its own car park and offered a very decent regional menu at 22 euros. The other night we went to L'Ail..heure which was very good food but stifling hot. All in all it's worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Domaine des Clos is a beautiful place set in idyllic gardens. As a whole, it was a lovely place to spend a week. We were with a large group, and found that many of the rooms are charming and spacious and have living/dining areas. However, we unfortunately got the 2 rooms above the office ~ very small, minuscule bathrooms, old raggedy towels, no kitchen access, no tea/coffee making facilities, no iron or access to one, no clothes washing facilities. When I hung handwashed clothes in the window to dry, the proprietress told me it ws "not possible" to do so. Fortunately others in our group let us use their fridges and kitchen utensils, and we used a laundromat in the nearest town. You need a car when staying here.

Breakfast is unimpressive. They owners provide a bowl of fruit from someone's orchard (not often replenished), a glass of juice each, some cereals and bread, interesting jams, tea and coffee. However the pots of tea and coffee made at the start of breakfast don't get replenished by the owners (unless you ask), and if the bread or cereal runs out, bad luck. One of the owners is normally present at breakfast, but doesn't seem concerned about looking after the guests or provide customer service.

A cooking class was offered, and a number of guests wanted to attend, but the class was unfortunately cancelled. One our last night a nice dinner with wines was provided for our group by the owners.

With better customer service and facilities this place could be wonderful. Despite the negative comments I did enjoy my week there - it just could have been so much better!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Just be careful which room you get. The room we have has no refrigerator, no facility to boil water for a cup of tea or coffee and no acess to any communal catering facilities. Apart from breakfast between 8.30 am and 9.30 am you have to drive 6 kms to Beaucaire or to Bellegarde to get a cup of tea or coffee or food. Also no iron or laundry facilities. The rooms were equal to 2 star accommodation in Rome or Paris. Small bedrooms and very small bathrooms. Wireless interent only available outdoors so I am not sure what you do if it is cold and raining.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

We arrived at 5pm as requested ( not before), and the assistant showed us our room ( The Blue Room), up long and steep stairs.
She explained the communal kitchen for the B & B rooms, and allocated a shelf in the fridge for our food. there is a communal dining room for the B & B's as well, but strange as one of the rooms opens from this area, so they would get a lot of noise when a group gather here to eat or talk.
We later found a plate with 2 glasses of juice and some apricots, placed near our door, so we assumed this was ours.
Our room was fine, with a lovely antique table, with ornaments, giving it a homely touch, but the bathroom had mould all around the shower base, and the towels were old.
The website gives good pictures of the B & B, and it is a very pretty place, with quiet areas to gather with friends or partner. There are 2 BBQ areas, but no gas, so building a fire and cooking takes ages, and it is very messy.
We had asked and booked for cooking lessons, but this never happened, and the owners never mentioned this, or told us it would not be happening.
In fact we were made to feel very un welcome at the B & B. After cooking dinner the first night, the power for this area went off during the evening, and we heard from other guests it was " our fault". The power was mostly off in this area the whole time we stayed, our food in the frig had to be thrown out, and we could not even make a cup of tea. Our discussions with Madame went un heard, as she just did not seem to care, and the communal area for the apartments was not offered to us to even boil a kettle.
Breakfasts were terrible, fresh breads and home made jams, windfall fruit from the orchards, juice, coffee, a pot of tea which was always nearly empty or cold, and hosts who ignored us every day, preferring to chat heartily with some of the other guests. No early food either, gates to the dining area locked until 8.30 every morning.
As far as location for the tourist area here, a good spot but only if you have a car. The exit is dangerous when you get to the main road, as on a blind bend so take care.
The pool was well used, but NO pool towels, and we could not have possibly bought towels with us. NO washing machines, NO internet, and limited TV.
We attended the communal dinner on the last night of our stay, and the vegetarian meal was ok, with wines as well., but by now the place was spoilt for us, and we could not wait to get up and go out.

  • Liked — Gardens, out of town
  • Disliked — Lack of care by hosts.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KateM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaucaire
4.2 mi away
Logis Les Vignes Blanches
Logis Les Vignes Blanches
#4 of 4 in Beaucaire
142 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant l'Oliveraie
4.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Robinson
Hotel Restaurant Robinson
#3 of 4 in Beaucaire
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses
10.3 mi away
Le Pre Galoffre
Le Pre Galoffre
#5 of 37 in Nimes
326 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hostellerie Le Castellas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine des Clos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine des Clos

Property: Domaine des Clos
Address: Domaine des clos 911 Chemin du Mas de la Tour, 30300 Beaucaire, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Beaucaire
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaucaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine des Clos 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a country home which offers the perfect blend of the charms of yesteryear and the comforts of today. Each room is individually decorated and stylishly furnished in a vibrant homage to the colours of the South. All bedrooms are soundproofed and air-conditioned. They each have an en suite bathroom with a hair dryer and a variety of toiletry products. The rooms have a flat screen TV and free WiFi access. Personal safe. For your comfort: there is a living room and a small kitchen at the guests' disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domaine des Clos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Des Clos Beaucaire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing