We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent B&B, great fruit salads at breakfast...”
The Belvedere front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Belvedere front
Living room Living room/ dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The Belvedere front
Living room
Living room/ dining area
Puisserguier room
Capestang room
Beziers room
Cruzy room
Rooftop views from Cruzy and Capestang rooms
Terrace viewed from Cruzy room
Public garden, Quarante
Quarante church, dating c.1053
Chapel view from Puisserguier and Narbonne rooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Capestang, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
bobeeke
Brampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent B&B, great fruit salads at breakfast, nice host, clean, comfortable”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The best memory are the breakfasts: a beautifully prepared and presented frui tsalad, freshly pressed orange juice, fresh bread and croissants, home made jams. Bed comfortable, room clean, host friendly and helpful. In short, what more would one require from a B&B?

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2013
Thank you bobeeke for taking the time to post your kind review. The least one should expect from a B&B is a comfortable bed and a good breakfast! Personal attention may also be expected, one of the advantages of staying in a B&B (or small hotel) against a large impersonal establishment. For us it is always nice to meet and converse with interesting people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metroviv
Mebourne
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room and bathroom was spacious and clean. The breakfasts were the best we had in France. Nigel, our host was friendly and extremely helpful.
While we only stayed a couple of nights, Quarante and The Belvedere would make an excellent base for exploring the surrounding area with lots of beautiful villages and vineyards.
Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2013
We very much appreciate that you took the trouble to write us such a nice review. Thank you, Metroviv. It is kind of you also to appreciate our breakfasts and our help. To us that is all ‘part and parcel’ of what we do to make our guests stay enjoyable. It is nothing special for us, however it does make our experience ‘special’ when guests appreciate our efforts. Again thank you and ‘à bientôt’.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billabong...
Melbourne Australia
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great regional base.”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Found this very special B&B thanks to a recommendation of a friend who had heard that it was "good" but had not actually stayed there. Good was a serious understatement. Tasteful, spacious and immaculate bedrooms and bathrooms (very comfortable bed and excellent shower) Superb dining and lounge area... a host who proved most helpful and a seriously good cook to boot ! The Belvedere is a renovated work of love and it shows in the quality of the building and the fittings; far superior to the many we have seen. Highly recommended as a base to travel around the region's many interesting sights and charming villages. The village of Quarante is quiet and not really a tourist destination in itself and that is what makes it ideal as a base...no bus loads of visitors...and free parking for your car ! Four or five days in The Belvedere is a guaranteed treat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2013
Thank you ‘Billabongshade’ for such a wonderful review, and for spending the time in your busy travel schedule writing it. We are delighted that you really enjoyed staying with us and exploring the area. We hope that the next time you are in France you will visit the area again and discover some more of its hidden delights. In the meantime safe travelling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan412
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great village experience in Languedoc France”
Reviewed 27 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Great location for relaxing holiday in Languedoc region of France. Owner is pleasant and English speaking. Breakfast on the terrace was one of my favorite times each day! Quarante is a delightful village to wander in with a beautiful church, interesting little museum and lovely stone houses and shops. Daily car trips around the region were interesting and varied. History, beaches, good food and great wines -- all the ingredients for a wonderful vacation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2012
Thank you Jan412 for taking the time and trouble to write us such a nice review. Quarante is full of history, well at nearly 2000 years old it would have some! Languedoc-Roussillon also has loads to do and see. We are pleased that you appreciated both Quarante and the area and we look forward to welcoming you and your husband back at a future date. à bientôt .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magpie123...
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous B&B in lovely village, and a great host”
Reviewed 18 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned home after four nights at the Belvedere in Quarante and will definitely go back if I'm in the area. The rooms are beautiful and the bathrooms modern with great showers. Bedrooms and bathrooms are also large which is a real bonus in a B&B. The outside terrace is a lovely place to sit and relax. Nigel - the owner - is charming and very customer focussed. Nothing was too much trouble. He also cooked a fabulous meal for me and two members of my family which, at 20e per head, was the best meal I had during my trip.The B&B and surrounding streets are very quiet and I slept very well. All in all I heartily reccommend this B&B. If you are in the area and are looking for somewhere to say, then don't hesitate - make for the Belvedere.

Value Rooms
Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2011
Thank you Magpie, for your kind review and for taking the time to write it. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests, especially when the service we provided has met their expectations. May we take the opportunity to wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mestizach...
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Don't miss Quarante or the Belvedere if you are in the region!”
Reviewed 17 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We stayed 4 nights at the Belvedere in Quarante and absolutely loved it. Our host, Nigel, provided a warm welcome, great advice about the region and contributed greatly to our wonderful little holiday. The restorations he did to the house are impressive and give the place a contemporary feel while respecting the architecture and the feel of a home in a medieval french village. We had our choice of two spacious rooms (both with lovely modern private bathrooms) and selected the one on the second floor with a view of the street. Every morning we were greeted with fresh croissants, baguette, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee and of course the local paper. We also took advantage of Nigel‘s offer to cook dinner (20 Euros/person) for us and some friends on Bastille day. It was absolutely delicious, well executed and a really fun time with a break between the main course and the cheese platter to participate in the Quarante Bastille Day procession and watch the fireworks. Thanks Nigel for such a wonderful time!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2011
Thank you Mestizachiquita, for your kind review and for taking the time to write it. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests, especially when the service we provided has met their expectations. We hope you will drop in and visit us the next time you are in the area. May we take the opportunity to wish you both a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlicot
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2013
Je vous remercie pour votre avis gentil et de prendre le temps de l'écrire. Il nous fait grand plaisir d'entendre que nos invités ont apprécié leur séjour chez nous et ont apprécié nos efforts. A bientôt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Rates have not been provided for this property. Please contact the owner/manager for total price.
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing