We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property, great owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostellerie du Grand Duc
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gincla
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely property, great owners”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This hotel is nestled in the tiny town of Gincla in the beautiful Aude department. It has comfortable and pretty rooms, park-like grounds, and an excellent restaurant. Dinner was one of the highlights of our 3-week France holiday. Our thanks to the owner who worked diligently to find us a room at another Logis de France for the following night. His advice--to visit the "tres jolie" town of Mirepoix--was a terrific tip. Next year, we hope to take the Train Rouge through the mountains, and we will certainly stay at the Grand Duc both before and after the journey.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MadameSwann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    25
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
51
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Somewhat isolated in the south of France this typical French hotel will surprise you. The family will give you a warm welcome and will carry your luggage to the second floor. Very spacious but basic rooms with good beds are available. The setting is charming and you get the feeling you are back in time. The service is good but the restaurant is outstanding. Great dishes honest food and a reasonable price. The only downside may be the language..everyone speaks French! However...you are in France. If you want a typical good hotel hidden in the French hills with good service at a fair price... this will be a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robispho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed at this delightful hotel for three nights in May 2012. It is a traditional family run hotel. Our large, light and airy room was very comfortable and the bathroom looked as if it had recently been refurbished. From the moment we arrived we felt that this is how all hotels should be. The food is excellent, traditional French with a modern twist. A good choice of wine, all at reasonable prices.

The hotel is situated in a pretty wooded valley which is in an area full of stunning Cathar castles and other attractions.

We were sad to leave, after only three days saying our goodbyes to the Bruchet Family felt as if we were leaving friends. We definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: Corner room overlooking garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coulsdon_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Don't expect luxury here. It is after all "only" a 2 star Logis de France. However, it is a delightful place and completely family run. Monsieur runs front of house, Madame cleans immaculately and their daughter runs the kitchens. While the rooms are a little idiosyncratic/old fashioned from a decor point of view, they are large and very clean. Comfortable and spacious dining room where the food is surprisingly good - and the Corbieres wine too (agree re Chateau le Palais). Also the surrounding countryside beautiful and you can find marked walks where you won't see a soul for hours.
Highly recommended and excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbwlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
277 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This was the sort of hotel France was famous for. Family run, beautifully situated and excellent food. Nothing is too much trouble.
Lovely old building in quiet rural location. If you like Holiday Inn type hotels this is not for you. It has an elegant charm and style. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. Some quirky decoration. Breakfast good. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room overlooking garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ninebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
209 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights. The location is stunning. Mountains all around. The hotel has a lovely location. It has a nice front garden with a fish pond and an extensive terrace. The loveliest part was the dining room. It is very tasteful with lots of flowers, ie white orchids etc, table spaced apart well. The food was always very good and the service was excellent. Usually we like to dine outside but the dining room was so lovely it was a pleasure to eat there. Half board included a cheese board so 4 courses - good value at around £75 per head. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast included home made jam. There were only 2 sun beds so you have to be quick if you want to sun bathe! I recommend the local wine Chateau le Palais, Corbieres. A half bottle in a ice bucket on the terrace is just right after you return from a day out!
Good location for touring the Cathar castles, gorges etc. Scenery is totally stunning.
Watch your speed when driving as the local police are spying on you with their cameras - we were fined 90e.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda58essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2007

I agree with everything in the reviews preceding mine with the one exception that the refurbishment noticed by a previous visitor is evidently finished as there was no sign of it when we stayed.

The previous reviews sum this hotel up pretty well and it's difficult to know what to add. But there are a few things I can emphasise, all of them good.

The organisation is superb, even though it's a small and simple hotel. Madame has everything very much under control. The word that comes to mind is "correct" - everything is very correct; it is hard to imagine much being left to chance.

The welcome was most friendly and helpful. It is true that the stairs are steep and slightly uneven in places, but Madame insisted on lugging the heavier of our two cases up to our second floor room herself and had we not protested, I think she would probably have carried the other one up there too! In fact, Monsieur arrived post-haste and took the other one, so we just followed in their wake.

One word of warning - please do not mistake formality for unfriendliness. This place is very "French" in the best way, so don't expect a laid-back, casual kind of amiability. It's more amicable than amiable if I can put it that way.

Don't expect grandeur either. Any that there is, or might have been, is now slightly faded, but the hotel has charm in bucketloads and the slight fading adds to that charm. If you like the truly grand style it is not for you. But you won't pay "grand style" prices either! The Duc represents very good value. Our stay of 2 nights in a nice double room, including breakfast, dinner (both evenings), all drinks and wine cost us 392 euros, and we didn't stint ourselves at dinner.

Our room was fairly basic but spacious and comfortable with everything we needed including a good en-suite bathroom with a full-length bath with shower over. The comfort extended to the double bed which was nicely old-fashioned with sheets and blankets. There was no noise - it could not have been more peaceful.

The food at the Grand Duc while not sophisticated, either in its combinations or in presentation, was nonetheless seriously good. Simple but good ingredients, well-cooked and attractively presented without any pretence at creating a work of art - this approach has a lot going for it. The wine selection is nicely varied though entirely French (what a surprise) with some local wines at very reasonable prices. We were able to get some good advice about these and helpful directions to the vineyards where we could buy them at a fraction of any restaurant price.

There is little of note in the village of Gincla, but it is an agreeable place and placed in a fascinating and beautiful region with an extraordinary history. The hotel makes an excellent centre for exploration of the Cathar country and the ruined castles. Carcassonne is not far to drive if you can stand the stress of the crowds and the trinket stalls (but do go there once if you haven't been). It's not far to Limoux either, with its famed "Blanquette" - again you can buy direct from the Chateau or Domaine, often with a little tour thrown in, and again the friendly people at the Grand Duc will give good advice about which ones to visit. This is also a fine area for walking.

This was our first hotel in France after crossing the Pyrenees from Spain and it really served to emphasise the cultural differences. We ate well in Spain, but this was still the best food we had tasted since leaving Bilbao over two weeks previously.

Our holiday (of five weeks) was an anniversary celebration and to spend time together. We both think the Grand Duc would be a great place to stay as part of a touring honeymoon or romantic get-away. But it would also be good for families, older people, singles - indeed I can't imagine who it could not cater to successfully, with the possible exception of those on business, but even that would be largely because of its location. If you wanted a quiet conference it would be just fine.

It is well worth the 20 minute diversion up the narrow road through the gorge and past the Chateau Puilaurens. And there's ample parking when you get there but don't try to negotiate the hairpin bend to take you up to the hotel in one movement - it doesn't work unless you're very adept at handbrake turns.

Oh and yes, the owls add their own particular charm to the mix. And there I was, thinking the name Grand Duc derived from some nobleman! A clever play on (French) words if ever I saw one.

  • Liked — Tranquility and the food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Northerner44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gincla
13.2 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
10.7 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
179 reviews
8.6 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#2 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Chateau De Riell
Chateau De Riell
#1 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
239 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#1 of 4 in Vernet-Les-Bains
155 reviews
14.6 mi away
Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Grand Duc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Grand Duc

Property: Hostellerie du Grand Duc
Address: 2 route de Boucheville, 11140 Gincla, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Gincla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gincla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie du Grand Duc 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostellerie du Grand Duc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing