We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaotic, quirky” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Mas de Barbut

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Laurent-d'Aigouze
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Mas de Barbut
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Chaotic, quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Le Mas de Barbut is far removed from your average B&B. Jean Claude (who speaks very good English) made us feel very welcome with a glass of wine at the kitchen table. The house is chock-full of artefacts, objets and gadgets - with our lovely breakfast boiled eggs, we had three different gadgets to remove the tops including the culinary equivalent of a sonic screwdriver!

We stayed 2 nights in the upstairs room, Mandarine. It had an extra sofa/shortish bed for our son but was not huge for 3 of us. Large bathroom with nice rollltop bath. Problematic loo which refused to flush was irritating.

We ate in Aigues Mortes both nights, about 10 km away. Nearby St Laurent d'Aigouze has a restaurant but it was closed the night we wanted to eat there.

The Mas is away from it all, lots of character and near to some great birdwatching areas. May not be everyone's cup of tea but it's different!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
85
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is one of the most beautiful Bed & Breakfast I ve ever visited! And its done by really unbelievable great hosts! Being at Jean Claudes felt like being with family. More welcoming doesn't seem to be possible! The rooms are super beautiful, all done differently. I am coming back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franziska_neukoelln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed in the Mas de Barbut 21st to 25th September 2013 and this enchanting place was the highlight of our wonderful holiday in the south of France. Danielle and Jean-Claude have a talent for hospitality making us and presumably all their guests feel special.
We had a charmingly decorated and spacious bedroom with its own little private garden alcove. The swimming pool in the spacious and attractive grounds was generously supplied with deck chairs and towels. In fact I would say that generosity was a keynote of our whole experience there.
Our hosts did not serve dinner every night but did provide a delicious and entertaining dinner party one night for us and other guests while we were there.
And - such a treat in France, eggs for breakfast in addition jto the usual French breakfast.
The local restaurants are excellent and Aigues Mortes a fascinating town

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Staying here is just like being invited to someone's private house as you have access to almost every room in the house and Danielle and Jean-Claude make you feel at home straightaway. We turned up late afternoon without having had any lunch and Danielle went to so much trouble to find whatever she could in her fridge to feed us. Danielle also went to a lot of trouble to book a table for us for dinner at a local restaurant which turned out to be amazing. The house is quite remote but that makes it lovely and quiet and peaceful and it is not too far from the attractive town of Aigues Mortes. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Mexican room which had the most beautiful wash hand basin (Spanish tiles) but a very slow filling ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaB288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Le Mas de Barbut is an extraordinary house. It's been in Danielle's family for over a hundred years; she and her mother were born in the house, and there is a strong sense of family heritage. The house is overflowing with objects and collections, like a hippy antique shop. It has a scatty, homely charm, but if minimalism is your thing it's not the place for you. The kitchen in particular has the most incredible amount of clutter; it's clean, but a bit overwhelming.

We had the Cupidon room, which is more like a suite, with plenty of space and even a basic kitchenette. The decor is stylish, and the bed is comfortable. Some minor quibbles: the towels were distinctly past their best, and there were signs of damp. Wifi was only available in the main house, not in the room.

Jean-Claude is a genial and chatty host. Breakfast was stylishly served, and he was endlessly helpful with suggestions for restaurants and sightseeing. When fellow guests got lost on their way back from Aigues-Mortes after dinner, he even went out in his car to find them and lead them home.

This was a great base for visiting the Camargue, and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingNaturalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tintagel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We attended a wedding at le Mas de Barbut in September and wow what a place it is and how well we were all looked after was just so lovely. The whole setting was so romantic and very special. I doubt we will ever be in such a beautiful place for a long time. Nothing was too much trouble for Danielle and Jean-Claude. It was everything I imagined a French Farm would be a more. I would suggest that a car would be useful if you were to stay here, but saying that to sit by the pool or go for a long walk in the countryside would be more than enough for me. We will certainly go back again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: From the rooms were we able to see I would say any of them would be great, my favourite room was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Outofmyattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a lovely bed and breakfast guest house not far from the medieval walled garden town of Aigues-Mortes. The surrounding countryside is uneventful, apart from the beaches which are lovely and sandy, but the grounds of Le Mas de Barbut are enchanting and just so charming. It is run by a married couple, who were very animated, entertaining, welcoming, and accommodating. We were visiting as part of a wedding party so it felt like one big family home, and I can't really say what it would feel like if you were visiting as a normal guest. You need to rent a car, no matter what. You can not get here or anywhere else in the area via taxis or public transport. But why would you, it's a wonderful area to explore and Le Mas de Barbut would make a perfect home base.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nholtsmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Laurent-d'Aigouze
3.3 mi away
Hotel des 4 Vents
Hotel des 4 Vents
#3 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lou Garbin
Hotel Lou Garbin
#1 of 1 in Saint-Laurent-d'Aigouze
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Canal
Hotel Canal
#1 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Villa Mazarin
Villa Mazarin
#2 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Les Templiers
Hotel Les Templiers
#5 of 23 in Aigues-Mortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Mas Des Brune
Le Mas Des Brune
#8 of 23 in Aigues-Mortes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas de Barbut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas de Barbut

Property: Le Mas de Barbut
Address: Chemin du Mas de Barbut, 30220 Saint-Laurent-d'Aigouze, Aigues-Mortes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Aigues-Mortes > Saint-Laurent-d'Aigouze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Laurent-d'Aigouze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The origin of the Mas goes back to the mid 16th century, and it has been in our family for more than 100 years, all this time maintaining the historic charm characteristic of old family homesteads.The Mas de Barbut, nestled deep in the countryside, yet close to the Rampart of Aigues-Mortes and to the area beaches, is a perfect departure point for outings and discoveries of the Camargues, with its wealth of ancient sites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing