We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food”
Review of La Fargo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Pierre-des-Champs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Fargo
Bath
Level Contributor
163 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Didn't stay here but dined one weekday evening based on recommendation. We ate from the a la carte menu. The monk fish was well presented but, being critical, it was overcooked. Rabbit again well presented but was also overcooked and, as a result quite dry. Good wine list. The atmosphere was "okish" but lacked warmth with the engagement from the "hosts" being aimed at the residents which I guess is understandable but it didn't endear the place to us. Overall, judged the food as average and the value for money less than good (90Euros for 2 mains, bottle good wine and 1 coffee. That said, we didn't find anything better nearby so if you are in the area, why not give it a try.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveinBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    16
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Fargo for 2 nights as part of a Pyrenees cycling tour, with 10 other mad cyclists! When we arrived down the long driveway, we soon realised what an amazing oasis La Fargo was. Surrounded by endless fruit trees and vines, we were able to freely sample the wonderful figs, grapes, apples and pomegranates grown by our lovely hosts. After cycling the big climbs in the Pyrenees, the beautiful swimming pool and large, stylish rooms were incredibly welcome! We had dinner and breakfast both days of our stay and everyone in the group was very impressed with the quality and taste of the food and wine. Everyone who worked at La Fargo was more than helpful to our large group, and went out of their way to accommodate us. We will certainly be returning, and will be recommending La Fargo to friends and family who travel through the region.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicolabodor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

this was a holiday destination to remember for many reasons........ The people, Christophe and Dominique ( and the other staff), the food& wine, the atmosphere, the beauty and peace and the proximity to many wonderful places in the Corbieres. We spent 15 days in the area and loved every minute of it especially our breakfast after a couple of hours walk in the brisk mornings.
We would recommend it and look forward to returning for another stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Back in Saint Pierre after more than fifteen years, this was the first time I had the chance to go to La Fargo. The location is stunning and Christophe and Dominique transformed this old forge and sheepfold into a charming hotel. The restaurant is excellent with Christophe a menu made of the freshest ingredients, and having dinner under a treills with a kiwi fruit vine over you is fabulous. A little gem if you want piece and quiet in the heart of Corbieres.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is quite possibly one of the nicest places we have ever stayed at. The hotel could not be more beautifully set in the middle of the Corbière wine growing region amongst fields of rolling vineyards and aside a local river you can bathe in, which winds its way up through the foothills of the Pyrenees.

The food is fantastic, simple menu’s with only one of two things to choose from varying each day. Everything freshly made or hand picked from the garden with some of the most tasty of wines carefully chosen from nearby vineyards. Meals can be eaten in an outside dining area sheltered by a roof of vines.

The hotel was lovingly designed and built from the ruins of an old forge and its scattered out houses only a dacade ago apparently by Dominique & Christophe Morellet (the son of Francois Morellet the famous minimalist French artist) who were just so friendly and accommodating to everyone.

If you are looking to get away from it all I’d say this is where you should be heading next holiday, that’s if you are lucky enough to get a room – recommend you book early. This is officially a 3 star hotel but personally I would stay here over any 5 star hotel in the world.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonp0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

On the basis of our stay last year we returned to La Fargo.. and it is as beautiful as ever.. A wonderful setting... I would say that it is now rooms with a restaurant rather than a restaurant with rooms which is what it was before (the food was a little disappointing this year but only a little) ... the rooms are simple and chic. We had not good weather which was a shame as the setting outdoors is great for eating outside... One little point.. some training for the staff.... the waitress held everything by the rim!! I remember one of my colleagues always saying never hold cups, glasses, jugs by the rim that is what handles and stems are for... Just a little thing but it is these little things that are so important in terms of what really makes a difference ...

Room Tip: We love the room overlooking the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueSpencerKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights at the charming La Fargo hotel as our base to explore the Cathar trail and the very scenic Corbieres. We stayed in the very spacious Figuie room and dined in the restaraunt each night. Dominique and Christopher were wonderful hosts and the meals and service were excellent. We would delight in returning someday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrance K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Pierre-des-Champs
23.5 mi away
Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant
13.5 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotellerie du Chateau de Floure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
10.8 mi away
Auberge Cote Jardin
Auberge Cote Jardin
#1 of 1 in Conilhac-Corbieres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Roc sur l'Orbieu
Le Roc sur l'Orbieu
#1 of 3 in Saint-Pierre-des-Champs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fargo

Property: La Fargo
Address: 1 Lieu Dit la Fargo, 11220 Saint-Pierre-des-Champs, Lagrasse, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Lagrasse > Saint-Pierre-des-Champs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Pierre-des-Champs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Fargo 3*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing