We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderfull experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agneaux
Melboune Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderfull experience”
Reviewed 25 January 2008

We found the whole exprience very enjoyable and food to die for. The owner a true french gentleman did not speak a word of english ,but hey I dont see many not speaking my mother tongue language Hindi too !!!!

St Lo which is not far from the Chateu is a bustling town with a few cafes around the rotunda.

I do hope the new owners keep the character and the charm as we may be visting again.

Lastly I would give an arm and leg to be on the holy and sacred day the 6th of June and not whinge about the curtains

  • Liked — History and Character
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBharat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    37
    24
    17
    9
See reviews for
22
61
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2008

December 3/6-2007
Stevens - Liverpool

We had a marvellous and delicious stay in this castle for 3 nights.
We couldn't play tennis but the new owner explained us that he was managing a lot of works everywhere in the castle in order to reach top quality. We had 3 great diners in the brand new restaurant "La Table de Louis", excellent atmosphere.
We'll be back in this charming place on june 08.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank steliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. We stayed in a large room in the main castle with a canopied bed and large en-suite bathroom. The room was fully heated and there was plenty of hot water. It was also extremely clean - it compared very well to some of the five star chain hotels which I have stayed in recently. The staff were friendly and very pleasant without being unctuous. The breakfasts were also excellent. I would certainly recommend the hotel to people who would like to stay in good accommodation which has character and individuality without the blandness of a chain hotel.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank buwchgotagoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shorne,uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

I booked this hotel before I saw the reviews and will never make the same mistake again. It's beautiful to look at, from the outside, but gloomy and austere inside. We went thinking we would be able to use the tennis court and my husband would be able to fish in the grounds! The tennis court was there but unplayable and fishing in the area is good but not accessible from the chateau. We had no hot water and had to stoop to get in and out of the very austere bathroom. The bed was uncomfortable and the room spartan. We ate there the first night and it was ok, but no atmosphere, a bit like fawlty towers! Staff were pleasant enough but we dreaded going back there at night. It was a relief to get away and get home!

  • Liked — beautiful building
  • Disliked — uncomfortable, austere and no hot water
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallcallShorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agneaux hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2007

How we agree with the most recently posted review. This is undoubedly the worst hotel in which we have stayed in France. Rustic charm is one thing but a dusty, musty room with uncomfortable bed, one chair, no amenity, dark bathroom under the eves etc is quite another. The whole place is untidy and the people dishevelled. And it is not cheap at 153 euros per night for the room we had. Dinner and breakfast were poor and again not value for money. We had booked two nights and, because it was a weekend ,we couldn't easily find an alternative for the second night or we would have moved on. When we came back on the second evening ( as late as possible in order to spend little time there ) the room had not been serviced. Do not stay here under any circumstances

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ScotlandKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, Ca.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2007

I have just returned from France. We were to stay 2 nights at Chateau Agneaux (having made a previous reservation.) Having seen it was not going to be satisfactory we found we couldn't communicate with the owner in order to change to one night.
The room, had no heat and was cold as was the bathroom with no heat The bed was uncomfortable sloping to the middle. The food was cold at breakfast, cold coffee included. We of course, did not eat dinner there. I had made and confirmed the reservation at a price of 97 Euros per night. The bill was made for 157 Euros per night. Having not mastered French, I could not get thru to the owner this fact so I of course paid far too much. Absolutely no English is spoken by anyone here. Not a good experience.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Kittykat_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2006

From a historical perspective staying in this 13th century chateau is an unbeatable experience. The charm of staying in the Guard Tower and looking out of the ancient stone window in the early morning onto a mist filled valley below with birds chirping through the forest was amazing. The shamefully shabby furnishings were scandalous, to say the least.

Firstly, we had booked a room that was supposed to be large enough to hold 2 adults & 2 children, having been booked through hotels dot com. Upon arrival we were told that our single room was not large enough to hold all 4, and that we would have to pay for an additional room for the children despite our having a written confirmation in our hands clearly outlining 2 adults & 2 children for 94 euros a night. We had no alternative but to pay 202 euros per night for the family room in the Guard Tower.

The owner could do with spending a little bit less on his top of the line Mercedes parked in the garage and a little bit more on the furnishings that would not appear to have been changed since 1987, when he purchased the chateau. The decor in our room was pink & grey, colours not seen since the 80's. Our rooms contained fake white sheepskin throw rugs that were so threadbare that only the outside perimeter of the carpets had shag. M.Renee has not ever encountered "Ikea", it would seem. The microthin pillows were ancient and extremely useless, like lying on a cottonball (just one!) and my husband's side of the bed (two twins pushed together made up our bed-how romantic!) sagged very, very badly in the middle. The bathtubs are tiny and there are only handheld shower heads, making it difficult to shower yourself properly and thoroughly. Since I am an English size 10 and weigh 9 stone, I cannot be said to be too large.

An old shabby doll and 2 old children's books made up the decor in the children's rooms. A single visit to a car boot sale and the expenditure of 10 euros could tastefully update the children's rooms quite easily. We are animal lovers and found the whippet charming until he bit our nine year old daughter.

We went on a picturesque walk along the river upon the recommendation of the owner who obviously doesn't have the land treated properly as we walked through bushes & bushes of something akin to poison ivy that burned our skin and caused welty rashes on exposed skin for the entire day. At the end of my stay I had to dig out a black, hard-bodied tick from behind my knee and now have to take antibiotics to prevent obtaining any weird bacterial disease. I'm so not thrilled.

We did not eat in the restaurant at all, based on what we had read in the reviews prior to our having gone there (but not before we had booked the one room for 4 nights).

This chateau would be perfect for an Extreme Hotel Makeover show on television if such a show were to exist, as it is a shame that such a beautiful hotel contains such shabby furnishings at such a high price by anyone's standards, be it English, French or American. Our advice would be to stay at a B&B around Utah Beach as there are plenty there offering lovely accomodation for 50 euros a night.

  • Liked — Historical perspective
  • Disliked — the shabby furnishings
  • Tips/Secrets — Book it only if you are affluent and can afford to throw away money
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FairandBalanced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agneaux
3.0 mi away
Chateau de la Roque
Chateau de la Roque
#1 of 1 in Hebecrevon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Saint Lo Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Lunotel
Hotel-Restaurant Lunotel
#5 of 8 in Saint-Lo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Saint Lo La Chevalerie
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Lo
Ibis Budget Saint Lo
#1 of 8 in Saint-Lo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Cremaillere
Hotel La Cremaillere
#6 of 8 in Saint-Lo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux

Property: Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux
Address: Avenue Sainte Marie, 50180 Agneaux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Agneaux
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agneaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing