We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful chateau in a beautiful setting! very convenient!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agneaux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agneaux
perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful chateau in a beautiful setting! very convenient!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I recently came back from a long weekend at the Chateau with the Family. Its beautiful and really easy to find once we got off the ferry at cherbourg (maybe hour and half drive ish...)
The good bits -
Food was AMAZING! (My sister boyfriend is a chef and even he was very impressed!!)
Chateau is stunning (and in a lovely semi - rural location)
staff were excellent
Room were large and very nice
had some great original chateau features with some very cool/colourful additions (non garish but nicely done!)

the bad-
not much at all.....
I had a foot board on my bed... and at 6ft 1 this was a problem but im sure if i had asked they would have solved it... none of the others had foot boards in my group...
there is a lovely bath... and a shower hose and head but no where to fix it to the wall... not a problem really but a small inconvenience... but when your holidaying in a beautiful 13th century chateau hopefully your not in a hurry and can relax at bathtime!

Really lovely place great staff amazing food!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tejhiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    36
    24
    17
    9
See reviews for
22
60
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanjaron, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband, our two adult children and my daughter's boyfriend spent two nights at the chateau to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. The chateau was gorgeous and just like the pictures, but the restaurant was outstanding. Our daughter is a vegetarian, and the chef created special dishes both nights that were not on the menu. Her boyfriend and our son rated the tournedos of beef one of the best they had ever eaten. All courses were assembled with care and amazing presentation and nothing disappointed. The whole experience was peaceful, romantic and quite unique. We loved the bright colourful cushions and parasols, and eating on the terrace surrounded by candles was very special.

Room Tip: If you are tall, like my husband and son, request a bed without a footboard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We went for a hike with our lovely French hosts and stopped for coffee. The owner was reading his paper on the terrace and was very chatty and friendly. The hotel is a gem. The ladies went inside for a mooch around and said it was full of charm with fantastic views. We looked at the restaurant and if the kitchen smells were anything to go by the food should be terrific.

The tariff looked pretty reasonable and it's close enough to Saint Lo to be a good touring base or stopover.

Our short experience made us want to go back - maybe for a meal and stayover next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanandGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

My husband and I have been to Normandie area during Easter holiday this year. I absolutely love this little Chateau. We stayed two nights there. we were so excited when we first got there. The weather was not great but it still looked stunning from the outside. It is such a beautiful little castle. The restaurant attached to it is brilliant. I ordered fish dish while my husband had steak. They are delicious. We had some free snacks in betweenie, which are very tasty and cute. The staff are so welcoming. The next day morning it was beautiful under the blue sky. There is a fireplace in the lobby, we sat on the couch next to the fire in the evening reading and listening to relaxing music. Some stuff cannot speak English, some speaks fairly good English. The Chateau is quite close to D-Day Landing Beach and mount saint Michel. I will definitely recommend this place for young couples and family, who wish to add a little bit adventure in their trip. However, the facilities are quite dated inside, and the room we stayed is quite small. It needs more effort on the interior decoration. Not a suitable place for people seeking for luxury stay. All in all, wish we can revisit this charming little castle again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lxwin2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Unprepossessingly located just off a rather ordinary suburb of St. Lo, this is a rather surprising and unique chateau, great for a weekend stay. A small but characterful 13th. century chateau overlooking the Vire valley with a church, stable block (now a fabulous restaurant) and house in the well laid-out grounds. The light snow covering and candle-lit walkways, together with some clever lighting made it quite special - could almost imagine it in medieval times. Rooms were well done, service friendly and good walks around. Restaurant a must with good food and atmosphere, though we drew the short straw with a rather surly waitress. well worth checking out this chateau.

Room Tip: There are four classes of room - we wnet for the superior (not the penthouse or suite) and this was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidLGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

We arrived via Paris full of excitement to be visiting here again after 15 years. Unfortunately our excitement was short lived. Our family room was in a separate building up a twisting narrow staircase that we could barely climb up even without bags. No one was available to help us with bags which turned out to be irrelevant as we didn't stay too long after seeing the room. It was stifling hot - opening the windows helped once we cleaned out the cobwebs. There were dead bugs and dust on the windowsills, the TV didn't work but the last straw was the plentiful mouse (or perhaps bat?) droppings all over the bedroom floor. No other rooms were available and the pleasant young lady at reception didn't seem the least perturbed by our complaint and cheerfully helped us to book the wonderful Chateau de la Roque nearby for half the price.

There appear to have been no updates here in 15 years (and it was dated then) but the dirtiness was inexcusable.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agneaux hotels

Galway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

Quaint - accommodation almost Medieval . Indifferent welcome - check in and 5 minutes later you pass the reception and zero acknowledgment . Restaurant across the yard - charming place , lovely ambience and no fault with the food on any quarter . We were advised to fill in our breakfast sheet before dinner - food choice and time - some joke - we arrived for breakfast as if off Starship Enterprise - we did eventually get some of what we ordered . Bottom line food fine - accommodation and residential service poor. Stay elsewhere !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dickdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agneaux
1.0 mi away
Mercure Saint Lo Centre Hotel
2.9 mi away
Chateau de la Roque
Chateau de la Roque
#1 of 1 in Hebecrevon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Lunotel
Hotel-Restaurant Lunotel
#5 of 8 in Saint-Lo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ibis Saint Lo La Chevalerie
2.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Lo
Ibis Budget Saint Lo
#1 of 8 in Saint-Lo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Cremaillere
Hotel La Cremaillere
#6 of 8 in Saint-Lo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux

Property: Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux
Address: Avenue Sainte Marie, 50180 Agneaux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Agneaux
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agneaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux 3*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing