We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agneaux
Seal Beach, Ca.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
Reviewed 6 June 2007

I have just returned from France. We were to stay 2 nights at Chateau Agneaux (having made a previous reservation.) Having seen it was not going to be satisfactory we found we couldn't communicate with the owner in order to change to one night.
The room, had no heat and was cold as was the bathroom with no heat The bed was uncomfortable sloping to the middle. The food was cold at breakfast, cold coffee included. We of course, did not eat dinner there. I had made and confirmed the reservation at a price of 97 Euros per night. The bill was made for 157 Euros per night. Having not mastered French, I could not get thru to the owner this fact so I of course paid far too much. Absolutely no English is spoken by anyone here. Not a good experience.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Kittykat_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    37
    24
    17
    9
See reviews for
22
61
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2006

From a historical perspective staying in this 13th century chateau is an unbeatable experience. The charm of staying in the Guard Tower and looking out of the ancient stone window in the early morning onto a mist filled valley below with birds chirping through the forest was amazing. The shamefully shabby furnishings were scandalous, to say the least.

Firstly, we had booked a room that was supposed to be large enough to hold 2 adults & 2 children, having been booked through hotels dot com. Upon arrival we were told that our single room was not large enough to hold all 4, and that we would have to pay for an additional room for the children despite our having a written confirmation in our hands clearly outlining 2 adults & 2 children for 94 euros a night. We had no alternative but to pay 202 euros per night for the family room in the Guard Tower.

The owner could do with spending a little bit less on his top of the line Mercedes parked in the garage and a little bit more on the furnishings that would not appear to have been changed since 1987, when he purchased the chateau. The decor in our room was pink & grey, colours not seen since the 80's. Our rooms contained fake white sheepskin throw rugs that were so threadbare that only the outside perimeter of the carpets had shag. M.Renee has not ever encountered "Ikea", it would seem. The microthin pillows were ancient and extremely useless, like lying on a cottonball (just one!) and my husband's side of the bed (two twins pushed together made up our bed-how romantic!) sagged very, very badly in the middle. The bathtubs are tiny and there are only handheld shower heads, making it difficult to shower yourself properly and thoroughly. Since I am an English size 10 and weigh 9 stone, I cannot be said to be too large.

An old shabby doll and 2 old children's books made up the decor in the children's rooms. A single visit to a car boot sale and the expenditure of 10 euros could tastefully update the children's rooms quite easily. We are animal lovers and found the whippet charming until he bit our nine year old daughter.

We went on a picturesque walk along the river upon the recommendation of the owner who obviously doesn't have the land treated properly as we walked through bushes & bushes of something akin to poison ivy that burned our skin and caused welty rashes on exposed skin for the entire day. At the end of my stay I had to dig out a black, hard-bodied tick from behind my knee and now have to take antibiotics to prevent obtaining any weird bacterial disease. I'm so not thrilled.

We did not eat in the restaurant at all, based on what we had read in the reviews prior to our having gone there (but not before we had booked the one room for 4 nights).

This chateau would be perfect for an Extreme Hotel Makeover show on television if such a show were to exist, as it is a shame that such a beautiful hotel contains such shabby furnishings at such a high price by anyone's standards, be it English, French or American. Our advice would be to stay at a B&B around Utah Beach as there are plenty there offering lovely accomodation for 50 euros a night.

  • Liked — Historical perspective
  • Disliked — the shabby furnishings
  • Tips/Secrets — Book it only if you are affluent and can afford to throw away money
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FairandBalanced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2006

Stayed at the Chateaux from Sat 20 May - Fri 26 May 2006.
Very pretty small chateaux. Proprietor, M. Groult, friendly enough but with "no English". Room No 4 was recommended in the guide book and it really is huge. Because it's in the turret it has windows to three aspects. There are wonderful uninterrupted views down the valley with cows on the opposite side and the river running at the foot of the bluff on which the chateaux sits. You also have views of the trees in the woody area directly below where the resident deer can be seen (M. Groult feeds them in the evening). Lots of birds, red squirrels etc and I spent a happy couple of hours watching the water rat swimming up and down making a nest.

Although the room is huge and has great views there is not a lot of comfort. A 5' four poster bed (you could have a 7' and the room would still be huge) which was comfortable. A 4' sleigh bed - presumably for a child. An antique wardrobe and chest of drawers which was fine for us for a week. A small electrolux fridge (which was a real bonus) on top of which sat the "old" TV that only had four French channels (for the price of the room I think he could invest in satetllite to give more value for money). Two very tatty leather bucket seat chairs that had certainly seen better days (stained, torn, what was once cream leather!) A small table and two chairs to have breakfast on if wished. The floor is wooden and highly polished and there are a few rugs around which you have to be careful not to slide on. One mirror on the wall (a bit too high up for me and very difficult to dry your hair with a hairdryer plugged into the nearby socket while standing on a chair to see in the mirror).

I'm sure some people would say that if you're on holiday you don't need tv etc but as the weather was so bad we did spend quite a lot of time in the room and as it was a service that was offered I think it could have been better. (It does rain quite a lot - that's why everywhere is so green and lush).

The bathroom is clean with a white suite - bidet (tap wouldn't stop dripping), corner bath (with only a hand held shower - suitable for washing hair), toilet and sink. Floor has small terracotta quarry tiles (the shiny surface has come off quite a few and left them rough and chalky).

Unfortunately the week we stayed the weather was dreadful - rain, wind and cold. There are radiators in the room but only one appeared to work. The bathroom radiator didn't work either and the one bar electric fire on the wall also didn't work.

The chateaux will provide breakfast if you tell them you would like it and the same with dinner. It is described as a "gastronomic" restaurant. We ate there only once but found it to be very basic. Choice of starters were all cold as were desserts. Main courses - vegetables seemed to be the same for all and my meat was a little dry around the edge indicating that it may have been cooked previously. Nevertheless, adequate but if you want gastronomic this isn't it.

Certainly a different experience to an hotel. Location is very good for the main routes around the La Manche area of Normandy (it also has the biggest LeClerc supermarket in the area 5 minutes down the road).

Helpful?
7 Thank pip666cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2006

A big waste of money. We stayed in one of the intermediate-priced rooms at a rate, which by Parisian standards is very expensive given that Agneaux is in no direct proximity of anything interesting unless you consider the industrial sites and motorway-like roads just 700 meters from the hotel interesting.

Welcoming was bizarre and the place overall depressing, although I must concede a certain atmosphere. View of the valley was OK once you crossed the above mentioned industrial zone and road system. The room in itself was spacious enough but furniture had no soul or charm – consisted of 20 year-old and very used standard hotel furniture. More important: Mattress is the worst we have ever slept on. Bathroom likewise very old and used.

Food, however, beat everything I have witnessed so far in mediocrity. Absolutely a scandal - and that is to be underlined.

An uneatable and unoriginal pre-entrée (too salty and bitter squash-purée), very average foie gras, scandalous magret de canard (duck breast) obviously cooked a couple of days before and just heated up giving the meat a very strange taste and elastic texture, green salad that tasted and felt like rubber and a classic French chocolate dessert with crème anglaise, that was immensely boring and tasteless. I have seldom eaten so badly. We didn't expect high cuisine (although the restaurant is added the pompous title of “gastronomique”) - just a fair meal on good and fresh produce - food at a quality that you can get so many places in France and especially in Normandy Had it then been inexpensive, it would still be unacceptable, but excuses could have been easier to find. This was revoltingly expensive - and more expensive than the centre of Paris! Service was kind, but plain incompetent and unengaged.

It seems to us that the objective just is to shuffle people through the system and smile when they sign the credit card bill. We were very disappointed and will never stay there again. Our word of advice is: Definitely a place to keep away from.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agneaux hotels

England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2006

There may be thousands of castles in France, but it's still not entirely common for people to have slept overnight in one. Chateau Agneaux offers you such an opportunity, complete with appropriately decorated and toasty warm rooms, canopy beds, excellent dining
and gorgeous views of the Vire valley. The owner could not be more polite. Having withstood my midnight arrival (after a serious miscalculation on my part), the owner was both pleasant and charming. My family dined in the hotel restaurant twice, and
my husband loved the Magret (Duck) so much that he ordered it both times. The menu is filled with 'home-cured' meats, wonderful fish and interesting vegetable mousses and gorgeous desserts. A visit of the grounds affords views of the outer bailey, chapel and dungeon (or keep) that are not to be missed. Deer and rabbits adorn the grounds, as does the owner's friendly dog.
I can't imagine why anyone would find the owner unfriendly - unless of course the visitor didn't
speak any French. My extremely rusty French got us through, but I can see where there would be plenty of room for miscommunication, so be sure to bring your French phrasebook to ensure a pleasant stay.
We were able to easily visit Mont St Michel, several ruined castles and the D-Day beaches from
Agneaux (one hour by car in each direction), as the town is well located between these destinations.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tmoran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 August 2005

I've been staying in the Chateau on a regular basis now since 1995.
There is a great sense of pride in the way the Chateau has been restored. No corners cut. Quality and traditional feel being of the essence here. Plenty of ornate tapestries and antique furniture everywhere.

Dont expect a busy bar, or social lounge, it's a beautiful destination in the heart of historic France, with good rooms, and great food in the evening. A huge roaring fire in the Winter is not to be missed. The restaurant has never failed to impress, and the "Table D'Hote" fixed price menus can offer good value for money, with fine, traditional french cuisine. Dont miss out. There's always a good quality (that's even by French standards) choice of wines, and i have never tasted cheese so good, anywhere.
The gentleman who runs the Chateau has always greeted us with reserved politeness, exactly as one would expect in such an establishment.
I have also recommended the Chateau to several friends from different walks of life, all of whom have been delighted and enchanted by the experience.
My visits to the Chateau D'Agneaux will continue as long as the current owner is in residence.

  • Stayed November 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2004

To us it was no better than an expensive Travelodge. We arrived and were greeted by a frozen faced "Madame" who marched us out across the yard through the car-park to a room in the Castle Keep. We decided we did not want to stay there and went back and asked to be moved whereupon in silence we were marched up to a very nice room which made all the difference. There is no where to sit, or a lounge of any type, so we sat outside on two white plastic chairs and watched two English people being frogmarched across again to the room we wouldn't stay in whilst Madame led the way with arms crossed across her bosom clutching her cardigan as the English chap said "If I'd known I was sleeping in the Dungeon I'd have left my car over there". Monsieur overseas the diningroom alone and seemed to do everything but the food wasn't bad. A few smiles and a bit of civility would help. They are relying too much on it being a picture postcard pretty tower and shovelling everyone through. If you stay, make sure you are in the main house. We felt it was a waste of money.

Helpful?
12 Thank Evangeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agneaux
3.0 mi away
Chateau de la Roque
Chateau de la Roque
#1 of 1 in Hebecrevon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Saint Lo Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Lunotel
Hotel-Restaurant Lunotel
#5 of 8 in Saint-Lo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Saint Lo La Chevalerie
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Lo
Ibis Budget Saint Lo
#1 of 8 in Saint-Lo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Cremaillere
Hotel La Cremaillere
#6 of 8 in Saint-Lo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux

Property: Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux
Address: Avenue Sainte Marie, 50180 Agneaux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Agneaux
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agneaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing