We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disinterested staff - too bad!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Manoir de la Roche Torin

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Le Manoir de la Roche Torin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Courtils
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disinterested staff - too bad!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

After a little trouble finding the hotel down a narrow set of roads we were met with a mediocre welcome. Too bad because the place looked beautiful from the outside. Great view of Mount St Michel and beautiful farm land. The room was old and dated. The bathroom had carpet on the floor and no shower curtains. The pillows needed replacement! No english tv station or they never told us about it. Had their breakfast which was over priced and simple. They did not have a lot of food out. They were not very welcoming. It seemed they we just waiting for us to leave. Glad it was only one night!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    49
    49
    22
    12
See reviews for
27
122
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Having stayed in 6 hotels in 8 days this was the last and very disappointing. I would have preferred to have gone home a day early! The ambience on arrival was poor - once we found someone to talk to. The superior room was a through back to motel styles of the 1970s and 1980s. Decor was drab, bathroom (and separate wc) desperately in need of modernisation and a good clean - the room was like a box with a bed in it.
The staff that we came into contact with were very average and didn't seem interested in their guests at all.
We returned to the hotel before 10 in the evening having eaten elsewhere to find the place in total darkness and locked up. Told to go round the back to get in!
Not an experience I will be repeating.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Courtils hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

The hotel itself is just lovely. Very quaint with beautiful grounds, lovely terrace bar and a nice restaurant with countryside views. If you have the right room you can see the Mont in the distance which is nice to have the view without being in the midst of the tourist craze that exists closer to the Mont. The restaurant was good, but I was not as impressed with the salt lamb as I wanted to be.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silverinc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
expat in Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Very romantic manoir, nice hotel that could be excellent just with some minor improvements.
the beds are in bad shape and you can not really call it a double bed just because you put two single together!

Apart from that, small rooms (but correct), clean and well equipped. Top quality food with an impecable menu and "à la carte" and ...... one of the most fantastic views of Mount St Michel in the sunset. Really worth to be there!!!

Been three times and never regretted it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misskeika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

We heard all bad things before we came. Well, sorry but hotel is super, the people are very nice, lovely terras, super good food with vieuw Mont St Michel when the sun goes down! The rooms are not big but very clean and in the badroom you have all you need, you dont't need nothing to take with you.
If I go back to Normandie and Breatgne I will go back there, 100%. It's scoored 9/10
if the people have bad things to say, mostly ist people that don't have much at home and have critiqe on everyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandrineBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2008

A bit like a French Fawlty Towers. To get to your room you'll need to negotiate the tight spiral staircase. And when you reach the room you'll realise it wasnt worth the trip. Dark, dingy, in need of a good clean and around the same size as a decent family suitcase.

The meal... well, I'd like to review the meal but alas it never arrived. The disappointing starter did, but following a delay of 1hr 20mins we concluded that the main course was unlikely to be worth the wait. We raised these issues with the staff who instantly lost the ability to speak English, a language they were only to fluent in when takings bookings and payment.

It's true there's a great view of Mont St Michel. But that's also true of the burger van down the road. My advice? Go there instead.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2006

We actually stayed at the hotel in Sept 2001. The day was 9-12-2001. The staff were very helpful. Made connections back to the U.S. for us which was very hard. They were extremely sympathetic. The view was spectacular. The photo's does no justice to the actual scenery, especially at sunset.
The restaurant was fantastic. The chief cooks over an open hearth in the front of the kitchen. The windows along the back look out over the bay to Mount Ste. Michel.
I had a friend stay on the Mount before. Big mistake. You have to walk and drag bags over a quarter of a mile. Noise on the steet all hours.
If you go to the Mount Ste. Michel, you must stay here.

  • Liked — THE VIEW AND THE FOOD
  • Disliked — THE ROOMS WERE SMALL BUT WE WEREN'T AT THE FOUR SEASONS
  • Tips/Secrets — THE SALT GRASS LAMB
  • Stayed September 2002, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryGranade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtils
4.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
3.4 mi away
Les 13 Assiettes Hotel
Les 13 Assiettes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Le Val-Saint-Pere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Ramade Hotel de Charme
La Ramade Hotel de Charme
#1 of 5 in Avranches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Casserole de la Baie
La Casserole de la Baie
#1 of 1 in Huisnes sur Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir de la Roche Torin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir de la Roche Torin

Property: Le Manoir de la Roche Torin
Address: 34 route de la Roche Thorin, 50220 Courtils, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Courtils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Courtils
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Manoir de la Roche Torin 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Manoir de la Roche Torin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir De La Roche Torin Hotel Courtils

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing