We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel, Great city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Tribunal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Tribunal
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, Great city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I was on the trail of my ancestry in the area of "Le Perche" of which Mortagne-au-Perche is one of the main cities, and very nearby where my 8th Great Grandfather emigrated from, to Quebec in the 1600s. The hotel was well reviewed in several places. It's quite unique, being housed in a group of very old buildings - it was quite fun getting to our room - in and out of doors, through 2 little courtyards, and finally up some stairs to our room. Parking was in a public area directly in front of the hotel - luckily each time we returned, there was a spot. I can imagine during busy times it could be a bit tricky to find parking. Hauling our bags was the only hassle. Otherwise the hotel was funky and fun, our room was nicely done, a large room, by French standards, and the town was fun to explore.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    72
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
108
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel although I know the town as a stage in the classic Paris- Brest-Paris cycle event.
Once again, we were warmly welcomed at the reception, and directed to our comfortable room behind the main building.
Our evening meal was excellent although the young waitresses were perhaps over attentive, insisting on a well rehearsed description of each dish.
The breakfast provided a good selection of cheeses, cold meats in addition to the usual breads & confitures. It was only let down by the machine generated coffee.

The town itself is well worth an afternoon stroll, although it will extremely busy for a couple of days in August 2015 when 5000 cyclists will pass through on their return to Paris. We hope to return before then!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiMosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth Herts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to the South East of France. It is a lovely hotel. We had a room off the Courtyard, which was very nice, a large room with a nice bathroom and views of the Courtyard where it would be nice to sit and have a drink early in the evening. (the weather was not good enough when we were there}. The restaurant is excellent. The menu was varied and our dinner was one of the best we experienced in our entire holiday.
I cannot recommend this hotel too highly.

Room Tip: The main builldng has stairs and I am not sure that there is a lift, so for limited mobility it is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conquerors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We found this hotel by accident and stayed here for a weekend and loved it. It is just a little hotel in a little village, very traditional but with a twist. Behind the traditional facade some rooms decorated in bright modern style, bright pink hallways, a hidden courtyard where you can have drinks etc. and an exceptionally talented young chef producing excellent food.
The hotel overlooks a small shady square where you can park. Our room overlooked the courtyard and was newly decorated, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom large. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was superb in a modern 'plate scape' way. Freddie, the young chef, is truly talented and this is reason enough to stay there.

Room Tip: Best to book ahead if you want dinner in the restaurant as it is very popular with the locals. Check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuthatch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at the Tribunal for a friend's local wedding. The rooms are charming, perhaps in need of some upgrades in the bathrooms but the beds, chairs, sofa and spaces are comfortable. The location is in-town in a lovely French village. We were able to visit the outdoor markets on Saturday morning and explored the shops and purveyors. Wonderful fresh chocolates, pastries, snacks and more. Everyone we met suggested the restaurant for dinner. While we were not able to dine there, other guests from the wedding had breakfast --- fantastic was the only word they could use.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Bedrooms are ok but some garish colour schemes but towels are thin and scratchy. Tissue holder had only 1 tissue, soap comes from a press button dispenser.
The young head chef produces superb food but he is let down by 3 young sullen girls. The maitre d' took orders and she was never seen in the restaurant again!!
First placed us at a tiny table by the entrance where my chair was knocked by every passing waitress. Then moved to one if the other 5 spare tables which were all better placed.
Never rec'd canapés like other tables had and bread served after starters had been served.
The high point was when I asked for the classic French liqueur Cointreau and the waitress just gave me a blank look, shrugged her shoulders and walked away.
Breakfast served in a small cramped room and several guests had to wait for a vacant table.
Sadly this hotel could be superb. All it needs is a good manager overlooking the operation. It's the small things that matter and this place has got them all wrong.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelinTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We booked three nights at the Hotel du Tribunal, and toured the area including Giverny which was within easy reach. Our room (one of the cheaper rooms) was very adequate, clean with fresh towels daily and a comfortable bed. We ate two out of our three nights in the dining room and garden, the food was really delicious, having recently visited Raymond Blancs Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons we decided Raymond would be very happy to eat here! Well done Freddy and thank you and your staff for making us so welcome.
If I had one criticism it would be the breakfast coffee, we both enjoy a good strong cup of freshly brewed coffee to begin the day, but it was rather weak - this is the only thing that could be better.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank molldur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortagne-au-Perche
19.0 mi away
Auberge de la Cloche
Auberge de la Cloche
#3 of 4 in Mortagne-au-Perche
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
10.2 mi away
Relais Saint Louis
Relais Saint Louis
#1 of 2 in Belleme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
15.9 mi away
Domaine de Villeray
Domaine de Villeray
#1 of 2 in Condeau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Le Montligeon Hotel-Restaurant
Le Montligeon Hotel-Restaurant
#1 of 1 in La Chapelle-Montligeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
10.6 mi away
Normandy Country Club
Normandy Country Club
#2 of 2 in Belleme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#1 of 1 in Le Mele-sur-Sarthe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Tribunal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Tribunal

Property: Hotel du Tribunal
Address: 4 Place du Palais, 61400 Mortagne-au-Perche, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Mortagne-au-Perche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mortagne-au-Perche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Tribunal 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Ebookers, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Tribunal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Tribunal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing