We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky”
Review of Detective Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Detective Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We are a bunch of overgrown kids out on our Annual foray, This year we chose Etretat France.
Etretat is a lovely picturesque littleVlle just to the east of La Havre, Its a bit hilly, so if you are a bit feeble to foot migh not be for you, We stayed ( 20 of us ) at the detecive hotel in Etretat. A funny quirky little place themed as you'd guess on detectives, I wa in the miss marple room. comfortable ? yes it was, although throughout it was a bit DIY, but fun, Brekkers was fine, the place was just fun,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madanc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    199
    58
    23
    6
See reviews for
63
276
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed a the cutest hotel in downtown Etretat. The Detective Hotel is quaint and comfortable. The rooms have a detective theme such as Sherlock Holmes or Miss Marple, etc. the owner was a really delightful young man who tried valiantly and often succeeded in communicating with us in English. There was a really good breakfast offered With the usual pastries, fruit juice and coffee as well as ham, cheese, yogurt and fruit.

There is no elevator but the staff carries your bags up the stairs if you wish. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms good as well. The one thing I would say that might keep you from renting here is that there is no air conditioning--but we are only a couple of blocks from the ocean and the night breeze cools everything down. I would rent a room in this hotel again.

Room Tip: No air conditioning. There is a breeze coming off the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiebs47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed here for one night during our long trip across France, and it was one of the best. The themed idea is just stellar! Room (Arsene Lupin) designed with taste and style (and we even had our little piece of mystery!). It's a real old-fashioned house, packaged with creaking stairs, dark wooden floors, carved headboards et al. If you have heavy luggage, mind the stairs. On the ground floor is a cozy common room full of small detective-related gimmicks. Clean, cozy, located just off the centre, nice friendly English-speaking staff. Definitely worth a return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnTheOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I recently stayed with a group of friends sharing 2 rooms at the Detective Hotel. We found this place last minute before driving into Etretat, based on tripadvisor reviews. Upon arriving at the address, we were skeptical if we would be comfortable in the hotel based on it's outside appearance. But we were quite content to stay after we went inside and met the really friendly manager/host who gladly let us check out the rooms before checking in.

The hotel is typical French countryside style, not fancy, just simple. But the theme was cute and novel and it just made you feel like they put a little extra effort into making something fun and unique. Both of the rooms we stayed in (between 4 people) were quite small and the attached shower also small and dated. It wasn't the most comfortable of rooms, the bed wasn't superb, and the bathroom cramped, but everything was clean and taken care of.

We took the buffet breakfast which was pretty good, with all the typical offerings like bread and cheese, yogurt, cereal, coffee, tea, but also had some really tasty Pain au chocolat and Croissants!

Overall, we were content having stayed here for the night because of the pleasant staff, good breakfast and interesting theme. I might not stay here more than one night because it's not particularly comfortable but it passes for a quick stop in the town for a night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaclyne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We booked this hotel for a last minute detour to Etretat.
a double bed, on the small side, not the most comfortable, but the pretty fine... The bathroom was clean and the shower was adequate. All in all, a great place for one night, but we wouldn't stay there longer...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danchi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We had high hopes for the Detective Hotel due to the good reviews, but they were largely not met. I think it may all be down to unrealistic expectations. We were disappointed because, the room was very small, there was no storage apart from 2 small bedside tables and a small projecting bracket for hanging clothes on so almost everything had to stay in the suitcase, the bathroom was small and smelt musty, the doors didn’t shut unless forced to do so and were in need of a coat of paint (much like everywhere really) particularly on the bits that were bare wood, there were gaps on the floor where the carpet tiles didn’t meet, and the whole place was run down and in need of a facelift. If it had been a cheap stay, it maybe wouldn’t have been so bad, but it wasn’t cheap. We stayed the first night in a Holiday Inn Express for less money and twice the comfort. On the positive side, breakfast was good value compared to if you ate out, and the location is ideal, with the beach and restaurants being only a few minutes walk away. Parking was almost impossible and involved driving around for some considerable time to find a space, although I know that we were there at the height of the season and the town was very busy at all times. Eating and drinking is extremely expensive, and English is not really spoken, so a bit of French is pretty much essential, however people were very friendly and very patient with my average grasp of the French language. The pebble beach is nice, and the walk up onto the cliff top is rewarding. Watch out for the seagulls as they will steal your ice cream. We were very lucky with the weather and had blue sky and sunshine, and we really did enjoy our short break, but we won’t return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crossfire3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We booked this hotel for a last minute detour to Etretat. Slow down as you aproach the main drag, otherwise you might miss it (it's right next to a butcher shop, and across from New Windsor Hotel.) Parking is real easy to find and it's literally steps away from the hotel, in the city hall lot, even though it's "pay" it's FREE (tried and true). You can also find the Tourism Office there where maps of the city can be obtained.

Our room was on the top floor and called Closeau (all rooms have detective names, no numbers). It had a double bed, on the small side, not very comfortable, but the view of one of the cliffs made up for it. The bathroom was clean and the shower was adequate.

In the morning, we chose to eat breakfast at 8€ per person and we were stuffed by the time we left. A typical €uro breakfast, which contained meat, cheese, jams, croissants, baguette, cereal & hot beverages. The innkeeper was extremely helpful and suggested another pitstop across France called Honfleur, which we did visit and glad we listened to him.

All in all, a great place for one night, but we wouldn't stay there longer because of the comfort of the mattress.

Room Tip: If you struggle with walking up stairs, do not choose a room above the Second Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fstrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Etretat hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dormy House
Hotel Dormy House
#1 of 14 in Etretat
1,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassadeur Hotel
Ambassadeur Hotel
#6 of 14 in Etretat
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
#5 of 14 in Etretat
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre Etretat
0.5 mi away
Hotel Etretat
Hotel Etretat
#9 of 14 in Etretat
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detective Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detective Hotel

Property: Detective Hotel
Address: 6 avenue George V, 76790 Etretat, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Etretat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Detective Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mystery of the hotel The chairs were comfortable well be the most welcoming host, a vague apprehension pincer visitors who took the risk to book a room at Hotel Detective . Dim light , dark corridors and creaking floors . Wall , a steel plate shredded shot rocket launcher sets the tone in a setting worthy of a film noir. The country of Arsene Lupin , the ghosts lurking . Miss Marple and Sherlock Holmes Charlie 's Angels Ladies, all the great names of literature the crime series have left here trace of their passage and even hidden in some room some bumps and smaller surveys that must be resolved before you can rest soundly . So open the eye and play finesse ! And needless to slip away , the handcuffs are never far away and the boss is an old fingerprint expert of the Institute of Criminal Research of the National Gendarmerie . Credit text Seine-Maritime Mag # 86 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Detective Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing