We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Detective Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    US$98
    Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
    US$92
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    US$132
    Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
    US$115
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    US$148
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$327
    Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
    US$314
    Travelocity
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    L'Escale(Etretat)
    US$90
    Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
    US$88
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Hotel Etretat(Etretat)
    US$114
    Priceline
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Reviews (479)
    Filter reviews
    479 results
    Traveller rating
    174
    216
    59
    24
    6
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    174
    216
    59
    24
    6
    See what travellers are saying:
    Filter
    Updating list...
    18 - 23 of 479 reviews
    Reviewed 12 June 2014

    Hotel is located 5 min walk from the Etretat beaches.

    Very interesting and unusual decoration, liked it a lot.
    Clean room, proper bed linen.
    Hotel owners were friendly and extremely helpful. Helped me to choose and book very nice restaurant.
    Great hotel at a great price

    Parking not provided. Big public car park 100 m from the hotel, but you have to pay for it.
    No lift.

    Overall great place to stay!

    • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Александр С
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 November 2013

    We are a bunch of overgrown kids out on our Annual foray, This year we chose Etretat France.
    Etretat is a lovely picturesque littleVlle just to the east of La Havre, Its a bit hilly, so if you are a bit feeble to foot migh not be for you, We stayed ( 20 of us ) at the detecive hotel in Etretat. A funny quirky little place themed as you'd guess on detectives, I wa in the miss marple room. comfortable ? yes it was, although throughout it was a bit DIY, but fun, Brekkers was fine, the place was just fun,

    • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank madanc47
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 September 2013

    We stayed a the cutest hotel in downtown Etretat. The Detective Hotel is quaint and comfortable. The rooms have a detective theme such as Sherlock Holmes or Miss Marple, etc. the owner was a really delightful young man who tried valiantly and often succeeded in communicating with us in English. There was a really good breakfast offered With the usual pastries, fruit juice and coffee as well as ham, cheese, yogurt and fruit.

    There is no elevator but the staff carries your bags up the stairs if you wish. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms good as well. The one thing I would say that might keep you from renting here is that there is no air conditioning--but we are only a couple of blocks from the ocean and the night breeze cools everything down. I would rent a room in this hotel again.

    Room Tip: No air conditioning. There is a breeze coming off the ocean.
    • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank wiebs47
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 July 2013

    Stayed here for one night during our long trip across France, and it was one of the best. The themed idea is just stellar! Room (Arsene Lupin) designed with taste and style (and we even had our little piece of mystery!). It's a real old-fashioned house, packaged with creaking stairs, dark wooden floors, carved headboards et al. If you have heavy luggage, mind the stairs. On the ground floor is a cozy common room full of small detective-related gimmicks. Clean, cozy, located just off the centre, nice friendly English-speaking staff. Definitely worth a return.

    • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank LynnTheOwl
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 May 2013

    I recently stayed with a group of friends sharing 2 rooms at the Detective Hotel. We found this place last minute before driving into Etretat, based on tripadvisor reviews. Upon arriving at the address, we were skeptical if we would be comfortable in the hotel based on it's outside appearance. But we were quite content to stay after we went inside and met the really friendly manager/host who gladly let us check out the rooms before checking in.

    The hotel is typical French countryside style, not fancy, just simple. But the theme was cute and novel and it just made you feel like they put a little extra effort into making something fun and unique. Both of the rooms we stayed in (between 4 people) were quite small and the attached shower also small and dated. It wasn't the most comfortable of rooms, the bed wasn't superb, and the bathroom cramped, but everything was clean and taken care of.

    We took the buffet breakfast which was pretty good, with all the typical offerings like bread and cheese, yogurt, cereal, coffee, tea, but also had some really tasty Pain au chocolat and Croissants!

    Overall, we were content having stayed here for the night because of the pleasant staff, good breakfast and interesting theme. I might not stay here more than one night because it's not particularly comfortable but it passes for a quick stop in the town for a night.

    • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jaclyne C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews