We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
37
2
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
2
0
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Castel de la Terrasse was simply amazing in every respect! We were so impressed with the warmth & knowledge of our hosts who were incredibly gracious & attentive to every guest need. Our room was really well appointed with a fabulous water view. The bed was most comfortable & the shower quite memorable along with the amenities. We had an incredible breakfast & the host could attest to the local source of the amazing cheeses, yogurt, jams & breads. What a feast!
Estelle & Olivier, our hosts, were absolutely delightful & truly put such effort & time into developing the ultimate bed & breakfast. They along with their beautiful son Victor provided such a memorable stay. Our only regret was not to have stayed longer.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ciaobellissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

The boorish people who left a recent negative review should be ashamed of themselves for being so unreasonable and selfish. Estelle and Olivier are the perfect and most gracious and generous hosts imaginable. After buying this home, they spent more than two and a half years completely rebuilding it. They paid amazing dedication to making every detail just right. The living room and lovely outdoor terrace are available for your enjoyment. The newly-remodeled rooms are fully appointed with considerable thought given to every aspect to enhance the enjoyment of each guest. We had a water view room on the top floor— amazing view!! The breakfast (which is included in the price) is quite ample, with tea or coffee, orange juice, apple juice, several local cheeses, several breads, several local jams, local yogurt, etc. etc. Important that the food is all locally sourced, as Estelle works very hard on that aspect of your experience. Parking is included, which is VERY important in Étretat. Bottom line: DO NOT miss this amazing experience!!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravelerMike9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We stayed there for 4 nights, in April. and had a very bad experience that ruined our whole stay.
The place Looks good, but the service is terrible!
Be Aware! You will have to carry your own luggage 3 stairs up, everything we asked they said NO, can't use the sofas in the lobby, can't talk in the place after 10pm not even in the room!!
When I left I forgot a brand new Nike Sneakers more then 200$ worth next to the bed, Called them the next day they said nothing was found, after I confronnted they lady said it was there but it was dirty so she throw it to the garbage.. and she said the garbage was "picked up" already in the morning...
So Be aware, the hosts don't like to host.... choose a different place to enjoy!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Alonii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle P, Directeur général at Castel De La Terrasse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Hello,

In reading your comment we must answer to specify the conditions on your stay in our establishment.

You booked rooms in a Guest House.
You therefore understand that we do not have a bellboy for the room service and the transport of your personal effects. Nevertheless, at the time of your arrival you had a large quantity of luggage ( with in addition the technical material for your photo sessions in Etretat) and we helped you to transport all the luggage of the women alone on floors ( 1st and 2nd , we don’t have third ) as well as at the time of your departure.

You blame us for our lack of services
At your arrival, you had a baby with you even though this is not authorized and clearly indicated at the time of your reservation. We provided you with a cot, linen and clothes to make him sleep as well as the necessary to wash him.

The first evening of your arrival, you could enjoy our lounges with your friends as long as you wanted ( 2h AM) and consume alcohol brought back from outside without noticing us.
The second evening, you and your friends decided to organize a work meeting at midnight in one of the rooms ( 8 people + 1 baby) and I asked you to please leave the room to make your meeting in the library because we received a complaint from another customer awakened by the loud laughter (? too much alcohol) and the crying of the baby.

Your group has asked us permanently (once an hour on average) during your stay for various requests ( most of the time in a very impolite way)

Some examples of the services we have been able to provide:

*Call and reserve a store to help you find a mirror with specific dimensions for your photo shoots.
*Preparing breakfast bag because you wanted to enjoy the sunrise for your photos
*Agreement to use the libraries for your organization of a picnic for 10 people
*Help to find a restaurant for 8 people in the last minutes ( 2 nights)
*Agreement to park a foreign vehicle on our private parking.
*Accommodation of your food bags in our refrigerators
*Agreement for the use of the private rooms and the park for your shooting photos.
*Call shops and police to help you find a forgotten wallet
*ETC ETC …

On our side we had to deal with disrespectful behavior

*People sitting on the floor in the corridors and entrance
*Dirt on common areas and rooms (grease stains in beds and sofas, oil stains on carpets (rest of the picnic) unidentified stain on office leather), housekeepers had to tidy rooms before they could get in and sort laundry mix on the floor with food...
*Impoliteness of people ,never "please" or thank you
*Invitation of outside persons in the property (security code provided directly by you) without prior request


In conclusion we are really very disappointed to read such comments (on trip advisor and google) knowing the investment we have shown. This shows how little respect you have shown both for the premises and for the staff. Fortunately for us, you are the only negative experience of this magnitude that we have encountered and the hundreds of comments ( Booking.com, airbnb, tripadvisor and others) testify that at Castel de la Terrasse we love our profession and that we cultivate the art of receiving.

Le Castel de la Terrasse

Ps : Sir, regarding your shoes, due to the terrible condition and smell we were forced to throw them away, we couldn't have sent them back to you in Israel...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Even though I've been to France many times, somehow I never went to Normandy. This year my family and I decided to make a short road trip to Normandy, only a 6,5 hours drive from Amsterdam. What a pleasure it was, this area has so much to offer; great sights, food, drinks, etc.
Strangely enough I only heard of Etretat a mere two weeks before we left for France and thankfully I heard in time. What a wonderful, beautiful place!
The cliffs of Etretat are storybook beautiful and taking one of the walks over the top (if you have to choose, take the left one past the golf course) is unbelievable. One of the most beautiful sights you'll ever see.
Even though Etretat is visited by many tourists I found it remarkably relaxed and quaint.
We were lucky to be able to make a reservation in the recently opened Castel de la Terrasse. A B&B with 5 rooms, all of them with a view of the ocean. Light, fresh rooms, tastefully furnished. Location perfect, everything within easy walking distance. Leave your car parked at the hotel (which is great because parking is scarce in Etretat)
I slept wonderfully at Castel de la Terrasse, with the wide open windows and the sound of the seagulls. Breakfast was very good indeed; local products, home made jams, etc. Fantastic, welcoming hosts
What a wonderful place, just go and see for yourself!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bloemski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews