We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive tourist restaurant with poor quality and service.”

La Belle Epoque pastati & Patatate
Ranked #38 of 49 Restaurants in Etretat
Price range: US$10 - US$49
Cuisines: French, Italian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 26 April 2014

La Belle Epoque was nothing else but a regular to poor service restaurant that are all around Europe with expensive or pricey menus for poor quality food and service. Waiter was lost and was running all over the place as there was only one server for probably over 8 or 10 tables at the time for dinner. Meal was nothing to remember but I do remember the check was pricey so that is not a good sign. I have doubts about how clean the kitchen was... Just watch out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GiancarloA330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delcourt G, Directeur général at La Belle Epoque pastati & Patatate, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your visit.
Our staff and myself do our best to satisfy our customers, however, if this was not the case, we apologize.

cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

After arriving late in Etretat, my fiancée and I just entered the first restaurant which we saw. The negative experience started on the second minute and later I was sorry that we did not leave in the very beginning.

The restaurant was half empty and we decided to sit on a table for for, next to the windows. There were two other free tables for four guests and one for four was occupied by another couple. When we sat, the waiter came and his first words were that we could sit there and we had to move on a table for two. And this, provided that it was already 22h and the restaurant was half empty !!!

I did not want to argue and just followed him. We ordered "moules frites" and rose wine. The classic "moules frites" seemed OK, but the one with Provance sauce that I ordered seemed as if just a pasta sauce was dumped on top of the regular "moules frites". In addition to this, the portions were definitely not cleaned properly. Apart from the sand pieces in the "moules" (this was OK if they were wild ones, which I doubt) we were awfully surprised by small stones in the pots !!!!

We just decided to pay the bill (37 euro for 2 moules frites & 2 glasses of rose wine) and never ever to return !!!! Avoid this place by all means !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Maksim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delcourt G, Directeur général at La Belle Epoque pastati & Patatate, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your visit.
Our staff and myself do our best to satisfy our customers, however, if this was not the case, we apologize.

cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I couldn't taste the cider in my cider mussels. The bread was delicious and the cheese omelet good too. The waiter was nice. My husband thought the restaurant was dirty but the bathroom was clean. The place is okay.

Thank BAU_RACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delcourt G, Directeur général at La Belle Epoque pastati & Patatate, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your visit.
Our staff and myself do our best to satisfy our customers, however, if this was not the case, we apologize.

cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My husband ordered the "moules frites" and both the sauce and the mussels were awesome. We had to ask for a condiment to go with the frites, but eventually got some mustard. I ordered a galette (savory crepe) with cheese, mushrooms, and an egg, but it was totally unremarkable - very little filling and a pathetic little garnish with old lettuce and an old tomato slice. Our house wine was ridiculously over priced but tasted fine. My main complaint is that our neighbors in the restaurant received a nice little nut mix with their pre-dinner drinks and bread with their dinner as well. We received neither. Apparently, the waiters need to learn that, even though our French is not fluent, we can see when other customers are receiving better service. Also, we were seated at at table squeezed in beside another two top, when there were plenty of other empty tables all over the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank allenericnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Foot and service were a disgrace. The ultimate tourist trap. A shame for the town. Pizzas are drowning in bad quality cheese, the ham is risky to eat. Why would you put a raw egg on a pizza?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank novelrevolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Belle Epoque pastati & Patatate also viewed

Etretat, Seine-Maritime
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
 
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to La Belle Epoque pastati & Patatate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing