We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheaper and and much better just across the street!”
Review of Hotel des Falaises

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Falaises
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
Reviewed 26 November 2006

We decided to go to Etretat for a romantic 4 days get away over the busy Easter period. We were late booking and the Hôtel des Falaises was one of the few left. Unsurprisingly... We were given a 3 people family room for the price of... a 3 people family room, which I guess is ok (90€/night). The room was exactly as per photos on the website [--]

On the negative side:

1) Fabrics were of poor quality. The bathroom sink and table were a cheap cast fibre glass imitation of marble. But then, it's only a 2*.
2) Our window opened on a side street which appeared to be the main throughway for garbage trucks, which did their daily collection at dismally early hours.
3) Clinical ceiling neon lighting which is best left off!
4) Same floor neighbours were appallingly loud, until 3am - I don't blame the hotel, staff was apologetic, and they did offer us breakfast on the last day, for compensation. Best to skip the breakfast anyway. It's frugal and comes at a hefty 9€. You can get freshly backed "chouquettes" from local bakeries.
5) And this is the most frustrating, just across the street is the marvelous Hôtel de la Résidence in an original historic Normand manoir. Rooms are all brand new with romantic cast iron four poster beds (if that's your trip) and retailed at 70€! Some rooms even come with a jacuzzy. Unfortunately, they had only space left for 1 of the 3 nights we were spending in Etretat, so we skipped it. To this day, I regret this decision. So, my advice, book early!!!

On the plus side:

Location. It's a 100 yards from the seafront (but then, most hotels in Etretat are!) and you are guaranteed to hear the seagulls.

Conclusion: as a last resort, it will serve it's purpose to drop your bags and your weary bodies after a day's hike, but don't expect anything more.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Cambridge_Student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2003

Sept.26, 2003. We stayed at this charming hotel for one night. The room was small but very clean and well kept. It had a private bathroom as requested. It has a good location in regards to restaurants of the area and it is very close (50 meters) from the beach front, however, it doesn't have much of a view of it. I had requested and told that I would get a room with a view. If I stuck out my head out the window I could get a grasp of the beach, but that was it.

1  Thank rosema07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank stephanie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank zoponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dedee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: sur la rue Coty, vue sur une belle maison à colombages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Etretat hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambassadeur Hotel
Ambassadeur Hotel
#6 of 14 in Etretat
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dormy House
Hotel Dormy House
#1 of 14 in Etretat
1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Donjon - Domaine Saint Clair
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel La Residence Manoir De La Salamandre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
#5 of 14 in Etretat
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre Etretat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Falaises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Falaises

Address: 1 boulevard President Rene Coty, 76790 Etretat, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Etretat
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
Price Range: £61 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel des Falaises reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Falaises Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing