We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“terrible people”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The staff is terrible. They are thief!! Terrible place and I wont highly advise of not going there. I reserve with booking.com and when I call back they rise the price for the room. Very unpleasant people.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZOZO60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    188
    81
    42
    28
See reviews for
63
431
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We traveled to Etretat during August 2012 with our 2 daughters. We all loved the hotel. The views were wonderful, the outdoor pool with foosball table and apple cabanas was a huge hit for all of us. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is an easy walk to town, the ocean and the beauty of Etretat. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable; the bathrooms and furnishings luxurious. We did not have dinner at the hotel, but the breakfast was delicious. The bar and library were very comfortable. The setting and atmosphere were delightful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster Groves, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My wife and I just stayed at the Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon for two nights (not enough!) in July, 2012. What we found was a truly unique hotel and restaurant. Very small and intimate with great, attentive and friendly service. This is one of those places where you are never rushed - no need to "turn tables" in the restaurant. The staff seemed quite happy to remain as we finished dinner and then had after dinner drinks at the pool. I thought that the hotel was very reasonably priced in relation to what one would pay for similar accomodations in, say, Paris. Etretat is a neat place to visit - great boardwalk along the beach and incredible views of the famous Etretat cliffs from both the beach and the hotel. Great walkable town for exploring with charming shops and art galleries.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the cliffs. We booked late and had a very nice room, albeit without m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Love love unique style hotel, there is spa to offered the guest. Bar is very nice, pool is only open in summer. Love the hotel decoration, feel like I am staying at some friend house , not a hotel. The view just step outside from hotel is stunning of Etretat cliff & downtown .Selection of wine list is great. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairenica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londra
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel is situated right outside Etretat, only a 10 mins walk from the town (downhill easy, uphill slightly less!). The photos on the site are a bit misleading - looks a lot bigger and spacious than it actually is. The reception area / bar is ok but with weird furniture (pink covered antique chairs, uncomfortable leather swivel chairs). The aperitifs are pleasant. The rooms where liqueurs are taken after dinner is nice and cosy on a winter night. The restaurant room elegant, but the food bland and the service hit and miss. Our room was a 'club room' which was ok, but at 190Euro a night, very overpriced. The bathroom was freezing cold and the door really badly positioned versus the main room door - we hurt our hands trying to close / open. Only the more expensive rooms have a view, ours overlooked the reception conservatory. Breakfast was extra at 14euro (which we avoided). A pleasant stay but I would not go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDivingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the hotel, as it offered a package 'hotel/gastronomic dinner/golf'...

After a nice walk alongside the cliffs, we enjoyed a PERFECT dinner with delicious wines and had a rest in the ancient donjon part of the Domaine Saint Clair! Juts a dream!

Breakfast was such a delight with a view on the valley and city center.

Time to head for our round of golf at the Etretat Golf Club with sunny weather and a slight breeze!

For more information view my pictures : http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.180392385360579.45039.100001694567744&l=3792456330&type=1

www.chantalguillaumephotography.jimdo.com

Room Tip: Any room in the ancient Donjon!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotographyCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Our stay here was to be the highlight of a rare weekend road trip with our classic car, far away from child and pets for my wife and I. The hotel was full whilst we were planning and we were excited to have secured a late cancellation.

The location is high above the village but whilst there is plenty of parking, the walk back up if you venture out on foot is not to be taken lightly. However with a reservation in the hotel restaurant this did not worry us.

The room was up a steep flight of twisting stairs, but this and the elegant decor rich in velvet and dark colours appealed to me. Ours was the Proust room, which was of a good size and esoterically decorated. The bathroom was plain and functional with a spa bath which took some effort to get working - there are instructions but they defeated our level of French. However the big deal was that being above the kitchens and close to the extractor fans - even with the windows closed the noise was obtrusive. On enquiring at reception we were told that the fans would turn off when the kitchen closed, but to be frank when you are paying 220€ a night you expect better than this. We stayed in February, but in the summer when you would want the small windows open it would be even worse.

I am not a fussy eater and we have dined in style all over the world, but the meal served here was the most pretentious nonsense I have ever experienced. There was no a la carte available, just a Gourmet menu with no choices - my wife does not eat fish so I had to negotiate with the waiter who 'allowed' us to swop out the fish starter. I won't go into the entire menu, but having a few twigs lit under a lone raw scallop at the table does not impart anything but bonfire soot into the shellfish, rocket sorbet is one of the most pointless accompaniments I have ever experienced, and a heavy dose of bergamot made the sweet taste like TCP. If the village had been easier to reach we'd have bailed out and gone down there to dine. Oh and for the coffees to be charged as an extra 5€ on an expensive menu like this was the final straw. I appreciate French cuisine done well. This was an extreme form of culinary art that was memorable for all the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SteveVyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etretat
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dormy House
Hotel Dormy House
#1 of 14 in Etretat
1,267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassadeur Hotel
Ambassadeur Hotel
#6 of 14 in Etretat
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
#5 of 14 in Etretat
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Falaises
Hotel des Falaises
#7 of 14 in Etretat
261 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel le Grand Pavois
Hotel le Grand Pavois
#1 of 10 in Fecamp
649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Residence Manoir De La Salamandre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon

Property: Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon
Address: Chemin St Clair, 76790 Etretat, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Etretat
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Etretat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HRS, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon Hotel Etretat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing