We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Donjon - Domaine Saint Clair
Nearby Hotels
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Etretat(Etretat)
US$118
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
L'Escale(Etretat)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveller rating
307
213
92
47
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
213
92
47
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa treatmentsvery nice hotelconservatory areawine listmichelin stara wonderful staycliffsrelaxationfrancedonjonimaginationtub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 688 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The view from this hotel is outstanding! You may not get a room that overlooks the sea, but it doesn't matter when you step out onto the grounds, which are filled with flowers and gorgeous trees. The hotel itself has a certain charm as it looks older than it is. The main building houses a few rooms and there is another building adjacent to the main building offering three floors of rooms. Each room is different and decorated in an art deco style, with oriental décor. Lovely fabric covers the walls. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were large. The only thing was that the adjacent building smelled of mold at various times. Perhaps owing to it location near the sea, but it was at first off-putting. The staff were very accommodating. For example, there was something wrong with the doorlock to our room and they upgraded us to a junior suite. One warning, though, there are no elevators. The staircases, while charmingly winding, become difficult with heavy suitcases. Also, there is free wifi, but it only works in the library. The nice thing, as it turned out, is that we stayed up late in the small library each night, drinking tea, in this cosy, lovely room. Although we didn't eat at their restaurant (the prices were quite high), the view from the dining room is spectacular!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I love this place. The rooms are wonderful(looked at three) & the views of the sea were breathtaking. The staff was so kind and accommodating. We had dinner in the restaurant. Loved the food & wine. Driving is tricky due to the narrow road, but oh so worth it!!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent two nights in here in July 2013, traveled with my husband and son aged three. The surroundings are spectacular beyond words. We did not want to leave our room as the view to the sea was just amazing. Staff very friendly, there was always someone to ask if we needed help and if everyting was ok.

We dined there one evening as we did not feel like going further. We were reserved a table of two, but waiters arranged a chair of our son without problems. Also they arranged a special menu for him. Waiters entertained him to ensure we get to eat in peace. The dining room was a bit on the formal side, but the service kind and relaxed.

Food was just superb! We would definetly want to come back one day, perhaps with friends so that we can enjoy the spa treatments and pool. Surroundings are beautiful! Room prices are perhaps a bit on the expensive side, specially considering that breakfast was not included. we had brekfast one morning and it was well worth the money though. Dinner prices were ok.

Room Tip: ask for corner room to the sea. You will be able to enjoy the view changing through the day.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donjonsaintclair, Propriétaire at Le Donjon - Domaine Saint Clair, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions pour votre aimable avis suite à votre séjour de Juillet 2013.

Ce fut un réel plaisir de vous accueillir, vous et votre fils, pour un séjour en famille. Nous portons une attention particulière au bien-être de nos hôtes, petits ou grands.

Nous serions très heureux de vous accueillir pour un prochain séjour et vous faire découvrir nos offres spa et piscine.

Nous vous prions d’agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de nos salutations distinguées.

La Direction du Domaine Saint Clair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel came as surprise to me , As there are not much options in Etreta for big hotels chains.
SO i thought of booking this one.. But in the end choosing this hotel was better choice..... The food they serve is awesome i liked it a lot.. They have good breakfast and esp i liked the Hotel interiors. But if you are looking for room with amazing view then i am sorry this is not that hotell
Also its bit expensive than rest of the good hotels in Etretat , but its just that i could not get rooms in other hotels and finally settled here.. But it was not a bad choice . The only thing that was lacking in this hotel as the room was not cleaned properly and the curtains were also very dirty..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhit011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Fantastic stay here - the best in our two weeks in France. Fantastic accommodations, fantastic view, fantastic coffee and fabulous food.

A great stay, albeit somewhat pricey.

Would I come back? Absolutely. The view from our room was a living painting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the sea. Our corner room was very private.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dukeofargy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews