We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Wow what a view!!”
Review of Hotel Dormy House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dormy House
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Clean, Beautiful hotel overlooking the town of Etretat, the beach and those fabulous chalk whilte cliffs. The only downside is that that great view means a little bit of a hike down to the town and beach, but you are already partway up if you want to hike to the top of the cliffs.

Our room was spacious and gorgeous. The bathroom was huge!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gigi511969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

Very nice staff and fantastic view from our own balconey

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This hotel was on the last night in France and after a hot journey to Etretot, we were on our way out the other side of the town when we saw the signpost. After a climb up the hill through some trees you still don't have any real idea just what they mean by "hotel panoramic" until you are in the reception and can see through the restaurant - the view is amazing!
The staff were very welcoming despite the fact that my husband and I looked quite scruffy having spent a hot day in an open top classic car and didn't look like we were at all part of the normal clientele. What was even more lovely was that although we were probably a little late for starting lunch, they insisted absolutely not a problem - the offer of aperitifs was taken up and the dishes of the day were chosen, partly due to our own idleness, too tired and hungry - and partly because we do believe that these are usually the freshest, most in season choices. Ham & very sweet juicy melon for a starter, rose veal bourgignon with a herby mash then, cheeseboard followed by strawberry tiramasu probably makes it sound less fine cuisine than it was (it sounds much better in french!), but be assured that the food was really very good indeed, really well presented and very tasty indeed.
The walk up to the other side of the bay didn't quite get us to the point of being able to do justice to another full "menu" but the staff were very understanding and not put out by us only wanting a plat principal for supper. This, I must add, is after we hadn't booked a table in the restaurant for the evening, and were quite prepared to take responsibility for our lack of forethought (the restaurant was obviously very popular with locals and people from other hotels) and head off into town for something, but again, the staff caught us up before we left reception with the offer that a table may be free, someone had not yet arrived, if we waited for them to make the phone call they may be able to accommodate us - this, of course, was what they did and we had another very nice dish each; my husband having the filet mignon ( declared "gorgeous") and I took the beef with foie gras, another fine piece of meat cooked to perfection.
Coffee on the terrasse as the sun went down rounded of an excellent day before retiring to the cosy comfort of the room.
Also, an additional mention of a service they offer, as the hotel is on quite a steep hill, the staff will happily use one of their golf carts to help you with your luggage - brilliant!

Room Tip: Room 70 is in the main building, rear facing so no view, but you don't pay for a view, room v co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impsomewhaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Just checked in and were amazed with the location at the shore edge. View from the room is super. Hotel has separated stairs down the promenade. A lot of flowers all over the territory. Spent 2 hours sitting at the hotel's terrace overlooking the beach. Welcome & helpful personal

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia_Belozerova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Before staying this hotel, I have been worry about this hotel because there were some bad reviews in this website. but it wasn't quite bad. I've just found one ant in my room, but that was nothing for me.
The staffs were pretty kind, in fact, my wife and I are Asian but I did not recieved any discrimibation. The garden was beautiful, rooms,hallways and stairs were good design with the whole look together. This hotel has traditional atmosphere, so I thought that was wonderful. Most of all, Its view from my room was especially wonderful!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren_240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed for 4 days in this nice hotel (I think the best you can get there). The service was good, staff very helpful and nice. The surprise was that the famous panorama breakfast was not at all panorama because the restaurant was open only for dinner not for breakfast as we has been told from the presentation of this hotel. The breakfast place was not so nice and of average quality. So do not expect to get any panorama in the morning. If you decide to take a dinner it is rather expensive, the fish did not taste at all... but the panorama was great!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragos43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We are from Italy and we have been there with kids and family for just one night, but everyone fell in love with this place. We reserved 3 "Directoire" room with sea view. Not that cheap, but we had in exchange an astonishing view on "falaises" and a very spacious room with a spacious bathroom. The furniture are old style but not worn out, while the bathroom have been recently refurbished.
Reception was good with two kind receptionists, that helped us with the baggage. Please note that main building (Where rooms are located) has not an elevator.
The restaurant is very good with classical french cuisine well prepared and presented, restaurant has a very good sea view as well, while not all waiters/ress are on par with the hotel. In particular we found the service at the bar not so good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HiJackItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etretat
0.5 mi away
Le Donjon - Domaine Saint Clair
0.3 mi away
Ambassadeur Hotel
Ambassadeur Hotel
#6 of 14 in Etretat
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
#5 of 14 in Etretat
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hotel le Grand Pavois
Hotel le Grand Pavois
#1 of 10 in Fecamp
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Falaises
Hotel des Falaises
#8 of 14 in Etretat
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Detective Hotel
Detective Hotel
#3 of 14 in Etretat
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dormy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dormy House

Address: 2 route du Havre | Bp2, 76790 Etretat, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Etretat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Etretat
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Etretat
Price Range: £111 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dormy House 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dormy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dormy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing