We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view and good service”
Review of Hotel Dormy House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dormy House
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning view and good service”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed two nights. They offer good service and good food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aicha1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    496
    88
    32
    15
See reviews for
145
850
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Dormy House is probably has the best location for hotel in Etretat. The room, the hotel, the location and the view - just breathtaking! Good service, clean and tastefully decorated room. What could be better to wake up with the stunning cliff and aqua blue ocean?

Room Tip: million dollar view of the Manneporte cliff from the "Prestige suites with sea view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goofusboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt/Main
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We went there by car. There were a little less info where we had to park a car…If the hotel would fully be booked, i would be afraid that we could not find a parking space :-( The hotel stands at a lovely place (on the hill?!) in Etretat and the view from the hotel was wonderful. However, we stayed a room with a budget (?!) price and the view from the room was nothing :-( The hotel should offer the hotel room with a clear info of the view from each room on reservation (then, i would pay more to see the wonderful seaside :-)) We did not eat at the restaurant at the hotel but there are some restaurants with 10 mins walk down to the beach direction. Breakfast was very nice and the staff worked very hard and friendly. Thanks to you at the breakfast, we enjoyed the wonderful time finally :-)) Room was a quite tired but clean. I recommend this hotel because the place is really nice :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juncool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We came to see the exceptional rock arches and cliffs, and this truly was the place to be. Our rooms (43 and 44) looked out with great picture windows on the smaller arches, the harbor and the rose garden. A short walk down the hotel path gave access to views on the great arch and the western side of the cove. Both rooms were comfortable and adequately spacious, though 44 had a bath and 43 only a shower. The young staff was extremely helpful, moving the luggage and checking our reservations, even showing us our dinner table ahead of time.
The restaurant was very good but busy and service a bit slow.

Room Tip: Great views from 43 and 44.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel Dormy is all that the photographs lead you to expect with it's own intriguing entrance at the immediate left of the long hill coming down into Etretat. Really a hotel complex containing different personalities, I stayed in the little villa in the photo pictured. This a very unique location with extraordinary views and for what it offers, I thought it well-priced. As other reviewers comment, it does have that faded but kept-up elegance of the film, Sunset Boulevard and is stuffed with patterned old fashioned carpets, grand staircases and well-loved furniture. The breakfast was very tasty and Norma Desmond would have fitted right in, (although not every room has a mini bar!). I will definitely be back and wish to thank the staff for sourcing me a taxi so early on a Sunday morning and at short notice, big enough to carry a pushbike and all accomplished with excellent l'esprit du corp.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you want to play golf at Etretat - stay here it's perfect - food great and bar also with special views of the town - the rooms were of a good standard and excellent value for money. The entire place just a walk from the town and only just a 3 wood from the golf course - Loved the place

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Dormy house is a great convenient location with ample parking spaces.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The rooms are done shabby chic very clean ample towels ect.
Now the food in the restaurant with a view,is 5 star at a sensible price you must book a table. Fish is very prominent and cooked to perfection my apple tart came with homemade calvados ice cream fab.
This Chef could push a few of the Michelin star chefs to one side. Service and wine list excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Etretat hotels
0.5 mi away
Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon
0.3 mi away
Ambassadeur Hotel
Ambassadeur Hotel
#6 of 14 in Etretat
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
#5 of 14 in Etretat
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Detective Hotel
Detective Hotel
#3 of 14 in Etretat
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre Etretat
0.6 mi away
Hotel Etretat
Hotel Etretat
#9 of 14 in Etretat
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dormy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dormy House

Property: Hotel Dormy House
Address: 2 route du Havre | BP2, 76790 Etretat, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Etretat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Etretat
#1 Romantic Hotel in Etretat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dormy House 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dormy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dormy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing