We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on what you get”
Review of Le Bistretatais

Le Bistretatais
Ranked #5 of 49 Restaurants in Etretat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$34
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Depends on what you get”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to visit this place based on the 4,5 stars rating. My meal was good but my girlfriend's one was quite disappointing. So I'd say it really depends on what you get. The staff is really nice.

Helpful?
Thank bschoeffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    317
    49
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
165 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“nice bistro”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This is a nice place for simple food with excellent ingredients. We had the degustation menu for 28 euro and enjoyed it. There are three courses with around six choices each. The rillette de poisson was excellent, as well as the oysters.
Main course with fish or meat. Especially the pasta was great, clearly home made.
Desserts again wonderful.
This place is for those who like good food, especially fish, in a informal environment.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Sisters?”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

You'd think that there would be fierce competition among a town's eateries, but as we left Lann-Bihoue at lunchtime we picked up their card--- and discovered the Bistretatais on the reverse. As we were looking for our last evening meal at Etretat [ I'd cooked escalope de veau the previous evening on our little coin cuisine cooker] we just hoped that there would be a similar standard of excellence..... and didn't really need a wide-ranging Carte- cos all we were really after was Moules et Frites. We also needed a clear head for travelling the following day so settled for a Kir ----- and then water! I had noticed in the town market that morning that though there was a giant swordfish on display on the fish stall,all the mussels on sale were quite small and so it proved here, but, they were sweet and succulent, came in a choice of sauces - a giant bowl- with a great wodge of really crisp chips to go with them. This was after a bowl of fish soup with croutons and freshly baked bread-- and before 'pain perdu'- which doesn't sound much when you think it's made with stale bread - but this was soaked in juice/liquer and drenched with caramel sauce made with salted butter.When you've got a pile of restaurants in a seaside resort, it's not eqasy to know where the best food is, but when next in Etretat, we'll certainly be paying a return visit here

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank taff515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
186 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food sensibly priced.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

One can eat here without breaking the bank. The menu is varied and well-priced where one can have a good meal for 2 for about 70 - 80 euros including wine. The restaurant is quite new but sems to have build up a busy clientele quickly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank anthoncon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Some of the best food i had in France”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The food here was reasonably simple, but amazingly good and well priced. I went to places in Paris that had a 2 month wait to get reservations, but the fish and bavette we had at Le Bistretatis was far better (and 1/3rd the price).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bistretatais also viewed

Etretat, Seine-Maritime
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
 
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Le Bistretatais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing