We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant hotel; good situation”
Review of Ambassadeur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassadeur Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel; good situation”
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Etretat is quite a small place and the hotel could not be in a better position to access all amenities and also had the bonus of a car park. The "beach" is stony with no sand so not the best for children. However, the views from the cliff tops are fabulous. We had a day walking along the GR21 and the view never failed!
Back to the hotel; our room was small and the "ensuite" facilities were cramped but very clean. Breakfast was typical of small hotels in France; limited in choice but adequate. We had a very pleasant stay but it did seem as though the hotel was more pricey than others in the town which had the same rating and looked good.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    100
    64
    27
    8
See reviews for
26
152
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2007

The Ambassadeur is in an updated nineteenth century home a few steps from the Tourist Office in the center of town. It has been beautifully redone with lovely tile bathroom, crown molding, etc. Except for the room's entry door, everything seemed new. An excellent breakfast was included in the price, and the price itself was very fair. Etretat itself is a resort town full of visitors and good restaurants, a large beach and even a casino. The natural scenery is spectacular. We recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank RSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2007

Stayed for a weekend in this small family hotel, a 19th Century house, for the second time (previous stay in 2003) and again pleasantly surprised at the good value. 105 euros for a calm, clean, double room on ground floor, overlooking outdoor terrace, with marble bathroom and corner bathtub. Just a 5 minute walk from the sea front and town centre. Hotel has 17 parking places for 20 rooms which is great, given the difficulty to park in town. Continental breakfast (croissant, fresh bread, juice, yoghourt; tea/coffee) for just 8 euros each. Separate small breakfast room for families allows everyone to feel more at home. Friendly staff.

  • Liked — Within walking distance from town centre/beach
  • Disliked — nothing !
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParisVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2007

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend and was pleasantly surprised. Our room was large and nicely furnished with lovely french windows looking onto a quiet street. The bathroom was really nice, immaculate and with a large french window making it bright and airy. The hotel is in a quiet location and a few minutes walk to the beach, the breakfast was nice and the staff were very helpful, we would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank happytravellerSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Etretat hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dormy House
Hotel Dormy House
#1 of 14 in Etretat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
#5 of 14 in Etretat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Detective Hotel
Detective Hotel
#2 of 14 in Etretat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre Etretat
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Residence Manoir De La Salamandre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadeur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadeur Hotel

Property: Ambassadeur Hotel
Address: 10 avenue de Verdun, 76790 Etretat, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Etretat
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Etretat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassadeur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Etretat , on the coast of Normandy , the Hotel Ambassador is a dream setting for a weekend or a short holiday to the seaside . Built in 1860, Villa Louise has been converted into boutique hotel after the war and the owners have modernized the property while retaining all the advantages of this nineteenth Norman Villa. The result is a boutique hotel with 20 spacious and comfortable . In addiction, a renovated 19th century building also hosts 4 whirlpool Jacuzzi rooms . Conveniently located just 1 minute from the famous cliffs of Etretat , the Hotel Ambassador will be your starting point to explore Etretat, the coast and the countryside Norman ... Architectural heritage, natural beauty and historic past ... treasures that are worth lingering in this beautiful region, Normandy . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ambassadeur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadeur Hotel Etretat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing