We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left feeling slightly confused!”
Review of Hotel du Havre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Havre
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yvetot
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Left feeling slightly confused!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Other reviewers of this property appear to have stayed in a separate building nearby. This review is about the hotel itself. The welcome we got on arrival was curt and lacked warmth. The room was finally located at the end of a number of dimly lit corridors with many right angled bends. It was very small but immaculately clean and with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was tiny. Dinner was served in a restaurant very strangely themed around a French cartoon character called Michel Vaillant, who apparently featured as an imaginary French Formula One racing driver. Every table had a Michel Vaillant book placed upon it, with a model car resting on top. We counted well over 50 model cars in the restaurant. Despite this, the food was good - although the English language menu offered to us was completely unintelligible and had clearly been translated by someone using a dictionary. We stuck to the French language menu so that we knew what we were ordering. Breakfast was superb, with heavy emphasis on local produce. We also encountered the fierce woman who runs the place, but we she was very courteous, if not a little "direct" in manner. We left feeling confused by the place - some very good things, and others very odd!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    27
    12
    14
    25
See reviews for
13
19
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

After a long journey travelling from Brittany back towards Calais we found ourselves at Yvetot. We were informed that there were no vacancies at this hotel, but we could have a room at their sister hotel a little way away. We were offered a choice of either a double room or twin room for 106 euros including breakfast. We asked if we could have dinner and were told to be there no later than 8.30. Once we managed to find our room we had very little time and just about made it back to the hotel. It would have been nice if the staff had remembered us as we had only just booked in but upon arrival at the restaurant we were quite rudely asked if we had made a reservation. Once shown to a table we sat for a long time with no one taking any noitice of us. It was very stuffy and therefore made the decision to get up and go. The room at The Manior Aux Vaches was very nice but it was a bit isolated. We made our way to breakfast which for 15 euros was a joke. All it consisted of was a choice of mainly cakes and coffee. The woman in charge was unhelpful to the point of being rude. None of the staff looked happy. The general atmosphere was unpleasant. When we went to pay we were presented with an invoice for 116 euros. When we queried it she said that we had two beds in a twin room and therefore it would be 116 euros. She passed the blame to her colleague but we didn't accept this and refused to pay the extra. Reluctantly she gave us another invoice for the amount originally agreed but she made us feel very uncomfortable and ignored us. The owner should consider employing someone who makes the paying guests feel welcome. To make matters worse when we returned to the sister hotel the maintenance man was on the roof but there was an Alsatian dog roaming freely. When we opened the gate to shout for the dog to be restrained the dog charged at us before we could close the gate. Reluctantly the dog was put indoors. All in all we would suggest that you avoid this hotel like the plague which is a shame because the actual bedroom was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on the rooms at the main hotel. However, room 5 at the sister hotel was adequate alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yvetot hotels

Lund
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is a very special hotel, you must not miss it if you are driving around in north of France. We came late one evening and got a room at the "Manoir a Vache". A very, very special and clean and quiet annex of this hotel. It is equipped with cows of all kinds and it gives a very special atmosphere. We slept very well. Breakfast was served at Hotel du Havre. Breakfast was well, but a little to much sugar for me.
Yvetot is a very small town, but very interesting to visit, can recommend it to all that pass by.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tove S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We arrived a little early and were shown up to an unmade and frankly horrible room - when i said it was small and also not ready the proprietress laid into the young girl who had shown us up and was really nasty to her blaming her for showing us up
We were taken over to their other hotel which was new and very nice - rooms only no other services - but everywhere lists of what items would cost if we took them!!!! why should we
We had breakfast back at other hotel - were told to sit - and then no one came over - I asked the girl who was washing floor and again the owner went off on a rampage saying hadnt she told us breakfast was self service - at which point i told her it was herself who had ignored us and she was rude (my french is fluent )- she made every excuse poss to blame everyone else - we will never go there again and the breakfast was basic as can be bread jam croissant and some plain yoghurts for 9 euro
the breakfasts everywhere else were much better and cheaper
dont go there

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chansonEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yvetot
3.7 mi away
La Croisiere
La Croisiere
#1 of 1 in Louvetot
40 reviews
6.6 mi away
Normotel Restaurant La Marine
Normotel Restaurant La Marine
#2 of 2 in Caudebec-en-Caux
84 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Relais d'Etretat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Le Cheval Blanc
Le Cheval Blanc
#1 of 2 in Caudebec-en-Caux
40 reviews
11.2 mi away
Campanile Rouen Nord Barentin
6.6 mi away
Le Normandie
Le Normandie
#3 of 3 in Caudebec-en-Caux
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Havre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Havre

Property: Hotel du Havre
Address: 2 rue Guy de Maupassant | Place des Belges, 76190 Yvetot, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Yvetot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yvetot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Havre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing