We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, good view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seagull Restaurant

Seagull Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 90 Restaurants in Oia
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
238 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Decent food, good view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I guess my husband and I are creatures of habit. We've been in Greece for almost a week, and we've had the same lunch almost every day. I have the greek salad and he has chicken slouvaki. The seagulls rendition of these two dishes was just ok. The salad had lots of tomatoes and a good amount of feta, but only a few cucumbers. His chicken was slightly salty, the rice wasn't cooked enough, and the fries weren't the best. Nice view, but we won't go back again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    43
    27
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Budget restaurant with great view and Ice Cold Draft Beer and barrell wine at a reasonable cost.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Don't know what put off the last reviewer, but we have nothing but high marks for this small family run place in Oia. But we typically are not five star eaters and drinkers. It is a small family run place. It is not by any means a five star restaurant. It has a limited menu but we ate here three times during our stay and the food was as good as any we had in Greece. But their prices are very reasonable compared to what the big names charge on this island. A .5 L draft beer is served in an ice cold mug for 4.10E compared to 6-7E everywhere else. Their .5L of "barrel" wine (which most greeks drink instead of the expensive bottled wine) is only 6E, and most bottles at restaurants begin at 20E and glasses at 7-8E each most places.

They don't really have addresses there, but you can find it by looking for the two blue domes close together on the south side of the main drag through Oia (that everyone tries to photograph.), then make you way to the small alley going in between them. Take a look at the menu at the top of the stairs before deciding, the stairs are steep going up and down but the view is as good as any of the big name restaurants along the south side of Oia.

This is a great place to have 2-3 liters of barrel wine or draft beer while you watch the lights come on in the evening. Oops, too much...can't get up the stairs...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarlinRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
“HORRIBLE FOOD AND SERVICE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

DO NOT.... Go to this restaurant. They had horrific food that tasted disgusting and the service was even worse. It is the worst place to eat in Oia, and will make you very sick to your stomach!

Helpful?
Thank Andregtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing view of the blue domes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stumbled upon this place, which is down a small side street off the pedestrian area of Oia, and were blown away by the view! It looks out right over the famous blue domes and the water, as well as the caldera. We had beers and snacks, and found this location to be perfect right after the sunset. The service was very friendly and they speak very good English.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WineGirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laveno-Mombello, Italia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good, typical food, amazing view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Hidden gem in Oia, a few steps down from the main street, the food is good, with a good variety and reasonable prices, service OK, what makes this place special is the amazing view on the caldera and the fact that it remains quiet. Strongly recommended for a unique setting

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MelaniaMela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seagull Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Seagull Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing