We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the water at Sunset!”

Sunset Ammoudi Taverna
Ranked #18 of 93 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
312 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“On the water at Sunset!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were booked by our hotel (Mystique) and were about 5 minutes late. They held our table which was on the water's edge! I had the lobster pasta and my wife a local fish. Wow! The sauce for the pasta had fresh orange juice in it which was excellent. My wife cleaned her plate. The restaurant was teeming with diners with people waiting. Interesting- the nearby seaside restaurants were almost empty. We met the owner who cleared some of our plates and he was very humble with limited English. You must have dessert! And have the restaurant call a cab to go back up as it is a long steep walk- 10 Euros was the best we spent on the island!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    345
    132
    75
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good seafood but expensive fish”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our family dined here twice on our recent trip to Oia. The location and ambiance of the outdoor dining is incredible as you are literally next to the water. The fish is ridiculously priced ($30 to $60 euros/kg) so we ate the grilled squid, octopus and shrimp which were delicious and more reasonably priced ($15 to $18 euros), preceeded by tomator/cucumber/feta salads and tzaziki sauce.

If you are dining in the evening make sure you bring your sunglasses as the sun is very bright. You'll also be able to witness the famour Oia sunset, although the last descent to the horizon is blocked by a cliff. Access to the restaurant requires a taxi for easy access otherwise you'll be climbing a 300 step incline, speckled with occassional donkey droppings particularly at the beginning.

If you have very young children, you'll need to keep a careful eye on them as it would be too easy for them to fall off the patio into relatively deep water as there is no protective fencing. Like many places in Europe, danger exists and tort attorneys aren't welcomed.

Would definitely do again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiltonMan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average, average, average ”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Firstly, we were suggested this restaurant by our hotel. We caught the bus to Oia and walked the 240 stairs down to the restaurant. We were told it was the best restaurant in the area, with the best view.

It is average. Food is average, happy to get out of there, service was average, views were ordinary. The sunset finishes behind the rocks, so you miss it from the restaurant. I had a better view from my hotel - and better food.

If you are planning to go to Oia, go to a restaurant on top of the hill, it'll be better all round. Save yourself the energy of walking down the cliff face.

An ordinary experience, wouldn't recommend the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank deano18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Left Sunset hungry”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Lovely location, view, and we felt so lucky to get a table to watch the sunset without reservation. All was good with appetizers, salads, and Santorini wine until the busboy showed up and asked if we wanted anything else, YES our fish! He was ready to set the table for the next customer, we joked if they had gone to catch our fish. Finally, the waiter showed up with a small fish good for one person, we had ordered fish for 3 people. Then came the bill that was so expensive (way more than 4 course meal at restaurants in Paris,) that had double charges for appetizers. We weren't the only one disappointed, the table next to us chose their own fish but were served another kind. If you do want to try Sunset, I suggest you select your fish at the fridge and make sure they weight it. The food was fresh and delicious just not worth the high price and slow service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad but expensive!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

If you're in Santorini and have money in your wallet for a nice dinner out, you won't be disappointed at Sunset!
They have fresh fish, and tables an inch away from the water that why there more expensive from other restaurants.6 small fish(600grams),one greek salad and bottle of water was 50 euros.
Stuff was polite but not very fast.
If you want to see the sunset there you must make a reservation first.Fish its a little bit expensive if you compare it with other restaurants but very delicious and fresh.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marios B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunset Ammoudi Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Sunset Ammoudi Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing