We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and relaxing”
Review of Sunset Ammoudi

Sunset Ammoudi
Ranked #25 of 99 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 8 November 2018

We ate here after watching the sunset with the crowd in Oia. It's a long walk down cobbled steps so would be difficult for those who find walking challenging, however, the views are stunning. The staff were welcoming and helpful, even though it was the very end of the season. We ordered too much and everything was fresh and delicious. The staff helped us to call a taxi so we could get back to our accommodation. I hope I get to return some day.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StephanieJF137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,705 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2018

Many friends of ours from NYC recommended this place and there's no better view of the sunset ... anywhere!!! We made reservations a few days before via email which I don't think is necessary. But, we wanted a table directly on the water. You couldn't be closer to the Mediterranean, the sun is beaming on you. Warning: in summer it is HOT. We walked down the cliff, save yourself and take a car. Food is fresh and delicious, staff is friendly, not one negative!! Life is good in Santorini :)

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank astricy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

After 5 days in Oia, we decided we need to try some fresh seafood. Made a reservation (highly recommended) to have dinner and see the sunset here after looking for recommendations from the hotel concierge. The restaurant is right on the water and very popular. If you want a good sunset view you need to make a reservation and request the tables closer to the water. We walked up and down the steps to get to the restaurant, we didn't mind the 200+ steps, but you can get car/taxi to take you up or down. The seafood was fresh and delicious. The food came out rather quickly and was very tasty.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Traveler1454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018

This is one of the best locations for sunset. The food and the service is good and yes it is expensive but you cannot beat the location.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank My_Lady_of_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

Our hotel recommended this restaurant for our first night in Oia and made the necessary reservation. Even though it was the end of the season it was the busiest of the four restaurants located by the beach.
We ordered the mussels and grilled prawns for our starter but were disappointed with the very small portion of mussels served. They were also very salty. The sea bass whilst well cooked was expensive as was the white wine.
All in all we paid about 25% more than for similar fare in Oia.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunset Ammoudi also viewed

 

Been to Sunset Ammoudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing