We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food. Not much of a view though” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kyprida Restaurant

Kyprida Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 90 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food. Not much of a view though”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The food was so flavorful, and we enjoyed almost all the foods we ordered. The pork souvlaki was even better than what we got in Athens. The afelia was our next favorite. It was like a braised pork in wine with corriander seeds, and was incredibly tender and delicious. I would order each of these again. The view wasn’t the best, but we were staying several nights in Oia, so we weren’t too bothered. However, if we got up and walked to the stairs, we were able to see the setting sun, and it is a beauitful sight.

We would return here and highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012Paige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    157
    54
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place to watch sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a corner table with an amazing view to watch the sunset. We ordered the 15 item tasting menu for two and it was amazing!! The grape leaves and the red wine sausage were the best, but all was unforgettable. Good value as well for the amount of food that arrived.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were for the evening in Oia for the sunset - gets extremely busy! This was the only restaurant we would get into even slightly seeing the sun. Service was very quick so we didn't actually see the sun setting here but where we sat was perfect if you would want to see it. Menu had plenty of choice and not expensive at all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJStephens7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious 15 dish sharer menu infront of romantic sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I really enjoyed the food at this retsauraunt. We had arrived in Santorini the previous day so were keen to sample as wide a range of local dishes as possible and this was a great way to do it. It exceeded my expectations.

We actually chose the restauraunt as it was over an hour before sunset and we wanted to grab a seat before they filled up. Turns out a lot of the best restauraunts with a view you need to book in advance to get he best seats but we didn't know this then. We sat down at a table, only to be spotted by the owner a couple of minutes later who explained the table was reserved. He moved us to another seat, then had to apologise as that table was also booked so finally we were seated at the third table and here we stayed. I had a view of the setting sun out the window, albeit over the shoulder of the table next to us. But it was pretty good.

We spent a leasurely couple of hours taking our time over the 15 dishes (which were not brought all in one go meze style, they were served across several courses)

Basically despite the seat shenanigans which had me slightly perplexed to start with the food was great and we left with big smiles on our faces. I do recommend it - but if you want a great seat then reserve in advance. Though I was happy with where we were anyway having turned up onspec.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Jaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
“The only thing more vile than the food here is the service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Do not let the sunset view lure you into dine at this restaurant. We were unfortunate enough to have sampled their undercooked ravioli, not an experience any of us would like to repeat. The staff and especially the owner were rude from the moment we sat down. Do not waste a moment of your holiday in this restaurant especially with so many wonderful restaurants in Oia.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NBen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kyprida Restaurant also viewed

 
Oia, Santorini
 

Been to Kyprida Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing