We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Atlantida Villas
Ranked #54 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel offers stunning, unobstructed views of the Caldera. We were speechless when we first arrived and saw the views from our villa. Waking up every morning to these breathtaking views was an amazing experience. The hotel itself is very pretty and worth exploring. At the front it has its own little church and windmill, which are both gorgeous and offer some good photo opportunities of the sunset (if you can tear yourself away from the Caldera view). There is also a large carpark available to those that hire cars.The pool area was clean and a welcome relief from the heat. Swimming in the clean, cool water overlooking the Caldera was amazing. The staff were friendly and helpful. George organised our port and airport transfers to and from the hotel, as well as a day cruise around the island. The cruise was fun- we went to Thirassia toured the volcano and swam in the hot springs.
The breakfast was essentially the same every day and included beautiful Greek yoghurt, honey and jams, bread, pastries, boiled eggs, juice and coffee. The restaurant across the road, Santorini Mou, offers traditional Greek food and has a band playing traditional music which creates a lovely atmosphere. As for the rooms, we stayed in a 2 bedroom villa as there were 5 of us. This consisted of a mezzanine level that had 2 single beds, one room downstairs with a double bed (not really large enough for 2 adults). The fifth bed was a single fold-out located in the kitchen area. The double bed and the foldout were uncomfortable, the doors very noisy, as were the stairs leading to the mezzanine, so no quiet visits to the loo in the middle of the night! The bathroom was small, and there wasn't much shelving or hooks to hang toiletry bags etc. (especially considering there were 5 of us). There's a bus stop in front of the hotel which takes you into Thira, which was very convenient. Oia town is about a 20 minute walk, but you reach a mini market in about 10 minutes. There are many lovely cafes and restaurants in town and the walk provides beautiful, classic Santorini views. We hired a car for a day to explore the island's beaches and spent some time at Perissa which is a beautiful beach and has lovely beach-side restaurants. Keep in mind that you will need transportation if you want to visit beaches every day. The view from this hotel was certainly the highlight of our trip to Greece and made up for any minor shortcomings.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lydz1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    93
    37
    33
    35
See reviews for
71
131
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise when arriving. The manager George was very nice and welcoming. Only negatives is that the pool is very dated, beds are quite hard and the breakfast isn't great. Besides this though it is in a great position and was a nice place to stay in Oia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairetravel269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTH AUSTRALIA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Firstly a big thank you to George and his team for getting us checked in so early. We arrived on the 615am flight from Athens and arrived at the hotel at about 650am. George was extremely accommodating in serving us coffee whilst the other George came in early to get our room ready. We were in our room and relaxing by 715am.
The location was fantastic, close enough to Oia to walk there, but far enough away to think you were all alone. I think there were maybe only a couple of other accommodation options close by. You can easily walk to town along the road, or follow the walking path from the front of the hotel. There is nothing blocking your view with the edge of the cliffs literally meters away.
Overall the apartments were great, but maybe in need of a bit of a refurbishment. The bed was a little uncomfortable (quite hard and no padding / softness to it) and the furniture on the balcony needed replacing. You can tell that they do touch ups here and there, as is evident by the paint drips on the concrete, but I think it could just that bit better. The bathroom had a step in bath and shower curtain and no bench space for beauty cases etc. The kitchenette was okay - everything you need to do a stay at home platter - and the mini bar fridge a welcome addition. The views from the rooms are just spectacular though. You look back to the direction of Immverogli (excuse the spelling) and the interior of the Caldera. A note that the sunset doesn't actually set this way BUT there is a lovely picnic table at the front of the hotel that satisfies the view of the sunset sensationally. You can see for miles from the patio.
Breakfast was included in our rate and was really quite good. As someone else mentioned, the early you go the warmer you 'hot' portion of your meal was. Each day had a different hot meal portion along with a different cake. And a very proud George was happy to share his home grown fruit. The pool was a lovely area to relax and enjoy the view.
After talking to some locals we decided not to do a catamaran cruise ("touristy" was the wording the used - you pay a lot of money to see the same thing from the mainland) but I do recommend hiring a scooter. We hired one for 2 days and it was great, and cheap. It gave us so much freedom to do what we wanted when we wanted. We made our own way to the back of the island to Red and Perissa beach, down to the lighthouse, over to Karima (?) beach and various back roads that you wouldn't usually find.
Overall, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Atlandtida to anyone, and rave about it to anyone that asks, but I do also think that it could be just that little bit better. They charge a good rate considering the view (!) and location but just be prepared that its not the 5* quality that you may be expecting.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEO029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejle, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

All the way from booking online to checking out, Atlantida was a pleasant experience.

Our room was clean, the kitchen was well-equipped and the private balcony had both comfortable chairs, a table and an umbrella. Our rooms was cleaned when we were at breakfast and we got fresh towels (including pool towels) every day. The thick walls kept the room cool so aircon was unnecessary. Only downside was the very, very hard bed which gave us sore back and hips. We solved it partly by stuffing blankets underneath the sheets but really recommend Atlantida to invest in top mattresses to their beds.

The guy at the reception was very friendly and helped us book an ATV and a catamaran sunset cruise (I recommend both of them!) at the same prices as you can find online or in town.

Breakfast consisted of more than we could eat and was served by the same man every day: Always juice, coffee/tea, bread, marmelade, boiled eggs, yoghurt and fruit. And every day there was a little extra like pancakes or scrambled eggs and bacon. The earlier we attended breakfast the warmer were the eggs - it seemed like most of it was made for everybody at once so getting up early resulted in the best breakfast experience.

There is a bar at Atlantida but it's mostly for water, beers, rum+coke etc. Don't expect freshly made mojitos.

The pool is nice and clean and so are the sunbeds surrounding it. Some of the sunbeds have umbrellas but not all of them - so rude guests would leave their towels at beds all day long to make sure that they would always have the possibility of shade (even when they were gone for hours).

The free wi-fi worked very well from our terrace but we could hardly connect from the pool area or our room.

The view of the caldera is absolutely amazing from all rooms+private balconies+breakfast area+pool: There's no trees or buildings blocking the view at all.

Note that the sun does not set over the caldera, so when staying at any hotel in Oia you either face the sunset or the caldera. I don't think any hotels face both directions but some of the restaurants do (from their roof top terraces). Personally I would prefer the caldera view over the sunset. When staying at Atlantida Villas you have full view of the caldera and can see the sun set behind the landscape and into the sea from the back of the hotel. For an unspoiled sunset view however you should walk to the end of Oia town: Mind you that it gets very crowded!

At one side of the hotel, a new hotel is being build but it was not open yet in June 2013. At the other side is Oia Suites, a similar hotel with higher prices (probably because of the private jacuzzis). In front of the hotel is a foot path leading from Oia to Fira/Thira (approx. 10 km in total). It takes you 10 minutes to walk to the beginning of Oia town and 25 minutes to walk to the end of Oia from where you can see the sun set into the sea. At the back of the hotel is a free parking area to hotel guests and the main road going through the island - it is not noisy and will not disturb your sleep nor caldera watching. Across the street is Santorini Mou, the #1 Oia Restaurant at the time of writing: A lovely Greek taverna with live music every night. A small supermarket is situated just a 5 min. walk down the road (Oia direction).

All in all, I found Atlantida to be good value: A 3-star hotel with a 5-star view, placed right outside Oia which is by far the most charming town in Santorini with +50 restaurants and a nice town centre where you don't have to struggle with stairs if you don't want to and where the sales people won't try to push you into buying anything.

So far, Santorini is my favourite Greek destination in terms of romance, views, peacefulness and restaurant quality (I've visited Crete, Rhodes, Samos, Karpathos and Parga). Just don't chose Santorini if you want to go to the beach every day.

Room Tip: All rooms face the caldera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank piaech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Let me preface this review by stating that George and his staff do a great job making the guests feel welcome and are very helpful.

Unfortunately, the hotel itself leaves a lot to be desired.
Positives:
- Spectacular View
- Very friendly and helpful staff
- Decent location a relatively short walk from Oia
- Free breakfast is OK
- Pick-ups available from airport or harbor (for a fee). This is quite a long drive, so worth it

Negatives
- Hotel is run-down and needs refurbishment
- For the price you pay, the rooms are less than satisfactory.
- Beware of the 2-bedroom apartments. The air conditioner is in the wall of one of the rooms. Once you close the door, nobody else gets air conditioning. The result is that the AC must be turned on full blast to make the rest of the apartment cooler, freezing the occupants of that bedroom, and still inadequate for the occupants of the other bedroom.
- Bathrooms were a little gross and not well ventilated
- Beds are small and uncomfortable
- Some people may not like the walk to town (it was fine for me)

Hotels are somewhat expensive in Oia, but I think that I would spend a little more for better comfort. The service levels are the only reason that I did not give 2 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The Villas arranged for us to be met at the boat - and we were so that was a good start, certainly for Santorini for when you arrive by boat, it's madness, so to have someone waving a sign with your name on it, was wonderful. Of course the trip up to the top is not for the faint-hearted, but then again, neither is a trip to this fabulous island. OUr room at Atlántida Villas was lovely, the view unbelievable, it was clean, comfortable and well equipped. George our host, gave us a great tip regarding where to eat - more on that later. The pool was superb and was the location, you couldn't ask for anything better. In fact we believe we had the better location than the thousand dollar a day hotels a little way towards Oia. All in all, a great stay, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room with a mezzanine bedroom - and if we go back, we'll ask for one on one level. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolehmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

After visiting in 2004 we returned on 10 June 2013. We got married in Santorini and booked the very top Romantica studio. George was brilliant from the outset replying to emails instantly. When we arrived there was red ribbon and candles on the stairs, a bottle of wine and 2 wine glasses. (How did he know my colour scheme was cream and red). We had 16 guests to our wedding and had the ceremony on the balcony over looking the caldera it was quite something else. George arranged for us to have more glasses so we could offer the guests a drink on arrival, more chiffon/organza material to put on the front balcony so guests knew where to go (8 guests were in Kamari), on our last night he gave us a bottle of wine to celebrate (or commiserate) our last night in Santorini. He was so helpful, loaning some guests and iron,looking after things for us for the wedding planner to pick up. nothing was too much trouble, even on the day as we had the ceremony on our balcony there was nowhere for my husband and my dad to get changed, all rooms were booked George was upset about this and offered a room in reception or the laundry, they were both able to shower and get changed just before the guests arrived. We would most definitely return. We paid no more money for using our balcony for our ceremony so if you are planning on getting married in Santorini and don't want to pay silly money for a venue, and still want an amazing view book in here. No matter what room you are booked into they all have caldera views and you say wow when you open the back door onot your balcony it is truly breathtaking.

Thank you George you were amazing (all the best for October) xxLinda and Rick Bowden.

Room Tip: If you are planning a smallish civil ceremony wedding book romantica room (highest room) it has a hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.3 mi away
Nikos Villas
Nikos Villas
#46 of 56 in Oia
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
1.1 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#45 of 56 in Oia
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#43 of 56 in Oia
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 56 in Oia
348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantida Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantida Villas

Property: Hotel Atlantida Villas
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Atlantida Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santorini hotel, atlantida Villas traditional hotel is located in amazing region of Oia santorini. Atlantida Villas hotel of the Santorini hotels belong to the 4 star category of the Santorini hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atlantida Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantida Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing