We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night with no power, water - Still Good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Atlantida Villas
Ranked #54 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Seoul, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A night with no power, water - Still Good!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

There was a big explosion and all Santorini had no power no water for one night.
But our kids could splash in the pool during the day, as the night fell, we could see even more beautiful starry sky with beautiful moon, all reflected on the sea.

The next morning still no power or water, they ran here and there from Oia n Fira town to get us bread for breakfast searching for a bakery who could supply them. Even though the coffee wasn't hot, we still could have all the same breakfast as before. (when we moved to Fira next day, they just gave us bread and coffee saying that they threw away everything while the shops 20 meters away were selling everything! Lame!!)

The house felt a bit smaller than the picture, but was the same. There were basic pot n pan n cookery for us to cook our kids' meals, the swimming pool was clean n nice with a little shower right next to it, there were more than plenty of space to our kids to run around and play in the frontyard, there is even a miniature island with roads and houses (my boy fell in love with it), nice photo shot oppotunity with windmill and little towers.

It was about 5-10 minutes walk to Oia, but needs to walk about 15 more minutes to see the famous sunset which is the opposite side of the town, following the famous trail right next to the pool which connects Fira - Oia (total 2.5 hours walk) it was short 4 bus stops from Oia town center but there is no announcement on the bus so make sure to tell the driver that you need to take off at Atlantida (we missed it and stayed on the bus until it reaches Fira and came back since our kids fell asleep which took us about 40 minutes. if you don't miss the stop it is less than 5 minutes.

Koulombo beach was about 20 minutes walk away (but no shade on the road, better get a cab or drive), nice black sandy beach, the taxi asked 10 euro which George arranged for us. The beach umbrella n sunbeds were 10 euros again with a little shower, there was a Grill house 3 minutes away from the beach (the owner was more than kind, he even proposed to give us a ride if he fails to call a taxi for us), and there is a bar selling drinks n snacks at the beach.

Overall, I enjoyed staying at Atlantida a lot, it is not a splendid luxurious villa but had everything we needed, there was almost no stairs (except a few to get in the rooms n pools), very spacious parking lot. Very kids friendly. It was not cheap, but reasonable when you compare it to the other villas in Oia, with little space outside the rooms n lots of steps.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0raYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    94
    38
    33
    37
See reviews for
72
134
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 dayd in this hotel and we have been generally happy. The first room we had was bit older but then we were moved in one just renovated and somewhat larger. The pros: amazing views over the caldera from every room and even more from the pool. Nice location only a short stroll away from oia centre. Incredibly helpful staff (georgios at the reception). Only minuses: some rooms not up to the standard of the others; the price, which is quite high even if still in the average for oia (other villages in santorini are cheaper). Breakfast was good but given the rate paid it could, i believe, be further improved (e.g. Fresh orange juice onstead of the tasess and cheap one served)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We loved this hotel. It was a lovely suprise as we weren't expecting such breathtaking view. Breakfast not very good however the hotel itself was great. The staff are always on hand to help and very helpful. It is in a great location with lots of exploring to be done nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel offers stunning, unobstructed views of the Caldera. We were speechless when we first arrived and saw the views from our villa. Waking up every morning to these breathtaking views was an amazing experience. The hotel itself is very pretty and worth exploring. At the front it has its own little church and windmill, which are both gorgeous and offer some good photo opportunities of the sunset (if you can tear yourself away from the Caldera view). There is also a large carpark available to those that hire cars.The pool area was clean and a welcome relief from the heat. Swimming in the clean, cool water overlooking the Caldera was amazing. The staff were friendly and helpful. George organised our port and airport transfers to and from the hotel, as well as a day cruise around the island. The cruise was fun- we went to Thirassia toured the volcano and swam in the hot springs.
The breakfast was essentially the same every day and included beautiful Greek yoghurt, honey and jams, bread, pastries, boiled eggs, juice and coffee. The restaurant across the road, Santorini Mou, offers traditional Greek food and has a band playing traditional music which creates a lovely atmosphere. As for the rooms, we stayed in a 2 bedroom villa as there were 5 of us. This consisted of a mezzanine level that had 2 single beds, one room downstairs with a double bed (not really large enough for 2 adults). The fifth bed was a single fold-out located in the kitchen area. The double bed and the foldout were uncomfortable, the doors very noisy, as were the stairs leading to the mezzanine, so no quiet visits to the loo in the middle of the night! The bathroom was small, and there wasn't much shelving or hooks to hang toiletry bags etc. (especially considering there were 5 of us). There's a bus stop in front of the hotel which takes you into Thira, which was very convenient. Oia town is about a 20 minute walk, but you reach a mini market in about 10 minutes. There are many lovely cafes and restaurants in town and the walk provides beautiful, classic Santorini views. We hired a car for a day to explore the island's beaches and spent some time at Perissa which is a beautiful beach and has lovely beach-side restaurants. Keep in mind that you will need transportation if you want to visit beaches every day. The view from this hotel was certainly the highlight of our trip to Greece and made up for any minor shortcomings.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lydz1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise when arriving. The manager George was very nice and welcoming. Only negatives is that the pool is very dated, beds are quite hard and the breakfast isn't great. Besides this though it is in a great position and was a nice place to stay in Oia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairetravel269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTH AUSTRALIA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Firstly a big thank you to George and his team for getting us checked in so early. We arrived on the 615am flight from Athens and arrived at the hotel at about 650am. George was extremely accommodating in serving us coffee whilst the other George came in early to get our room ready. We were in our room and relaxing by 715am.
The location was fantastic, close enough to Oia to walk there, but far enough away to think you were all alone. I think there were maybe only a couple of other accommodation options close by. You can easily walk to town along the road, or follow the walking path from the front of the hotel. There is nothing blocking your view with the edge of the cliffs literally meters away.
Overall the apartments were great, but maybe in need of a bit of a refurbishment. The bed was a little uncomfortable (quite hard and no padding / softness to it) and the furniture on the balcony needed replacing. You can tell that they do touch ups here and there, as is evident by the paint drips on the concrete, but I think it could just that bit better. The bathroom had a step in bath and shower curtain and no bench space for beauty cases etc. The kitchenette was okay - everything you need to do a stay at home platter - and the mini bar fridge a welcome addition. The views from the rooms are just spectacular though. You look back to the direction of Immverogli (excuse the spelling) and the interior of the Caldera. A note that the sunset doesn't actually set this way BUT there is a lovely picnic table at the front of the hotel that satisfies the view of the sunset sensationally. You can see for miles from the patio.
Breakfast was included in our rate and was really quite good. As someone else mentioned, the early you go the warmer you 'hot' portion of your meal was. Each day had a different hot meal portion along with a different cake. And a very proud George was happy to share his home grown fruit. The pool was a lovely area to relax and enjoy the view.
After talking to some locals we decided not to do a catamaran cruise ("touristy" was the wording the used - you pay a lot of money to see the same thing from the mainland) but I do recommend hiring a scooter. We hired one for 2 days and it was great, and cheap. It gave us so much freedom to do what we wanted when we wanted. We made our own way to the back of the island to Red and Perissa beach, down to the lighthouse, over to Karima (?) beach and various back roads that you wouldn't usually find.
Overall, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Atlandtida to anyone, and rave about it to anyone that asks, but I do also think that it could be just that little bit better. They charge a good rate considering the view (!) and location but just be prepared that its not the 5* quality that you may be expecting.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEO029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejle, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

All the way from booking online to checking out, Atlantida was a pleasant experience.

Our room was clean, the kitchen was well-equipped and the private balcony had both comfortable chairs, a table and an umbrella. Our rooms was cleaned when we were at breakfast and we got fresh towels (including pool towels) every day. The thick walls kept the room cool so aircon was unnecessary. Only downside was the very, very hard bed which gave us sore back and hips. We solved it partly by stuffing blankets underneath the sheets but really recommend Atlantida to invest in top mattresses to their beds.

The guy at the reception was very friendly and helped us book an ATV and a catamaran sunset cruise (I recommend both of them!) at the same prices as you can find online or in town.

Breakfast consisted of more than we could eat and was served by the same man every day: Always juice, coffee/tea, bread, marmelade, boiled eggs, yoghurt and fruit. And every day there was a little extra like pancakes or scrambled eggs and bacon. The earlier we attended breakfast the warmer were the eggs - it seemed like most of it was made for everybody at once so getting up early resulted in the best breakfast experience.

There is a bar at Atlantida but it's mostly for water, beers, rum+coke etc. Don't expect freshly made mojitos.

The pool is nice and clean and so are the sunbeds surrounding it. Some of the sunbeds have umbrellas but not all of them - so rude guests would leave their towels at beds all day long to make sure that they would always have the possibility of shade (even when they were gone for hours).

The free wi-fi worked very well from our terrace but we could hardly connect from the pool area or our room.

The view of the caldera is absolutely amazing from all rooms+private balconies+breakfast area+pool: There's no trees or buildings blocking the view at all.

Note that the sun does not set over the caldera, so when staying at any hotel in Oia you either face the sunset or the caldera. I don't think any hotels face both directions but some of the restaurants do (from their roof top terraces). Personally I would prefer the caldera view over the sunset. When staying at Atlantida Villas you have full view of the caldera and can see the sun set behind the landscape and into the sea from the back of the hotel. For an unspoiled sunset view however you should walk to the end of Oia town: Mind you that it gets very crowded!

At one side of the hotel, a new hotel is being build but it was not open yet in June 2013. At the other side is Oia Suites, a similar hotel with higher prices (probably because of the private jacuzzis). In front of the hotel is a foot path leading from Oia to Fira/Thira (approx. 10 km in total). It takes you 10 minutes to walk to the beginning of Oia town and 25 minutes to walk to the end of Oia from where you can see the sun set into the sea. At the back of the hotel is a free parking area to hotel guests and the main road going through the island - it is not noisy and will not disturb your sleep nor caldera watching. Across the street is Santorini Mou, the #1 Oia Restaurant at the time of writing: A lovely Greek taverna with live music every night. A small supermarket is situated just a 5 min. walk down the road (Oia direction).

All in all, I found Atlantida to be good value: A 3-star hotel with a 5-star view, placed right outside Oia which is by far the most charming town in Santorini with +50 restaurants and a nice town centre where you don't have to struggle with stairs if you don't want to and where the sales people won't try to push you into buying anything.

So far, Santorini is my favourite Greek destination in terms of romance, views, peacefulness and restaurant quality (I've visited Crete, Rhodes, Samos, Karpathos and Parga). Just don't chose Santorini if you want to go to the beach every day.

Room Tip: All rooms face the caldera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank piaech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.3 mi away
Nikos Villas
Nikos Villas
#44 of 56 in Oia
154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.4 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#33 of 56 in Oia
27 reviews
0.9 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#43 of 56 in Oia
390 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 56 in Oia
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantida Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantida Villas

Property: Hotel Atlantida Villas
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atlantida Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santorini hotel, atlantida Villas traditional hotel is located in amazing region of Oia santorini. Atlantida Villas hotel of the Santorini hotels belong to the 4 star category of the Santorini hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atlantida Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantida Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing