We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupendous Santorini sunset Experience!”
Review of Pelekanos

Pelekanos
Ranked #12 of 95 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$34
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stupendous Santorini sunset Experience!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Congratulations--you've found the supreme location for an Oia sunset viewing experience. We hosted a large family (10 plus baby) for dinner, and the staff ensured we had a PHENOMENAL experience. Food was outstanding, but ambience/location/view were even better (is that possible?) We ordered a wide variety of appetizers, and passed them family style. Staff did NOT care that we didn't order a full 3 or 5 course dinner, or even lots of expensive alcoholic drinks, and STILL treated our humble group like celebrities. As a result EVERY ONE in our group created a memorable experience of a great sunset in Santorini, which was the last night of our trip. What a way to finish a tour of Greece!

Video camera: $500
Airline Tickets: $1200/person
Sunset mezes (tapas) at Pelekanos in Oia/Santorini: Priceless

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    270
    78
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best View and Food in town”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We wanted to check out the sunset but also wanted dinner and happened upon Pelekanos. There's a 360 degree view from the top deck and a great view of the sunset without the crowds. It can get windy but they have some glass windows. You can also ask them for blankets. The food is wonderful from the Manouri cheese to the Marinated Octopus which we ordered twice. Food in Oia is a bit more expensive than other parts of the island, but thought their prices were on par for their location.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank micmac74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great steamed mussles”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A great view from the loft here. The entrance is kind of hidden, a spiral stair case leading to the next level, then up another flight of stairs to the deck. Fantastic view to the west (volcano) Steamed mussles and steamed shrimp were our choices, with yellow donkey beer (local) of course.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food but a bit pricey”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We went to this restaurant for lunch today and as many others have said, enjoyed the view the restaurant provides.

Unfortunately I found the drink prices are very expensive and definitely incur some type of 'tourist/view tax' (A cappuccino coffee is more expensive than most of the beers?!).

For lunch I enjoyed a traditional greek meatball meal with some mashed potatoes. The portions were ok, but nothing to be raved about.

Ultimately I think I'd enjoy the prices and meal sizes of one of many other restaurants in the area, which feature similar stunning views.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We ate here 3 or 4 times during our one week stay and could not fault the food at all - it was brilliant. The service was second to none - really friendly and it is the best place to view the sunset. Only one draw back - the portions are huge so make sure you are hungry !!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank carol5061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pelekanos also viewed

 

Been to Pelekanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing