We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed - but maybe Oia only has Katharos Lounge”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Thalami

Thalami
Ranked #29 of 90 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
248 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Very disappointed - but maybe Oia only has Katharos Lounge”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We are not very experienced in the restaurants of Oia. Your instinct tells you that you are paying for the view and not much else. I'll put this down to first night nerves - as choices hereafter got better and better. But for £100 the 4 of us - with not a lot of food and one white wine bottle, could not recommend this.
If staying in Oia take a €10 euro taxi down to Katharos lounge where there is also live music, a decent view, and immensely more satisfying food and drink.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MardleyMassif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    286
    112
    26
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, IOM
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We loved everything about Thalami and are a little surprised by some of the negative reviews. We ate in 6 restaurants and this was our joint favorite with neighbour Skala. The food, service and atmosphere were all great not to mention the location/view. A definite for an evening meal in Oia. PS We also loved the house white which was great value and tasted as good as expensive alternatives.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bart_LOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good taverna”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Good price performer
Greek salad was good
Order the pita with the salad
Greek yogurt with grapes is a great dessert

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blipsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice view and very friendly staff”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

I had 54 years recipe dish and it was extremely perfect and tasty and it's baked beef with pasta and Parmesan cheese. The second order was the lamp chops the price was reasonable for both

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place and well priced”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Terrific location in Oia overlooking the caldera (we reserved the tabel we wanted). Very attentive waiters who don't leave you waiting. Pleasently surprised by the quality of the food (try the Yuvetsi - amazing) and the price given that it's in one of the most expensive islands in Greece with one of the best views.
Tables are nicely spaced apart so they're putting common sense before greed.
The house wine was superb value and all in all we had a memorable night with no rush.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank emmaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thalami also viewed

 

Been to Thalami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing