We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heliophos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heliophos
Ranked #20 of 35 Oia B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We would highly recommend staying at Heliophos. It's near Oia but far enough to feel away from the madding crowds. The little village of Finikia is a lovely traditional settlement and has wonderful views over the Agean, albeit not the caldera. It's DIY breakfast and it is lovely to sit outside on your private terrace, but it is a bit limited if you don't want toast or yogurt. Sophia is extremely charming and helpful and makes the stay feel very homely! We would recommend hiring a vehicle to get around from Finikia.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlexaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    25
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
17
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We had the most amazing week here. Sofia is lovely. The location is great just a short walk from oia. The peace and quiet was something else. I could not recommend the place more highly. We stayed in one of the honeymoon suites - I'd go back again tomorrow

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brownthomas75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were not expecting such a cute and well decorated room. Little details made it that much more special to stay there. The location was ideal as it was very close to Oia but just outside a bit so it was quiet and less touristy. The neighbourhood around seems still authentic. The hotel is a Oia, cave style house so it is a steep walk to get to. The hostess, Sofia was very kind and helpful - staying here I would recommend renting a moto bike of quad as it is a far walk from Oia- specially if it is hot. I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crii5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Heliophos is a perfect place for people who like to relax in a quiet,truly authentic,laid-back Greek environment,surrounded by warm and unpretentious hospitality.The whole place is beautifully and tastefully decorated with antique or ethnic objects,lots of them gathered by the owner's many travels around the world.It nevertheless maintains its fundamental Greek character. Our room was a traditional Cycladic cave-house,spacious and airy,with a comfortable bed and a beautiful bathroom.Although there was an air-condition,we never used it as the cave is naturally fresh.There was a small kitchen where one can cook if so likes,as well as a fridge.Breakfast is self-served,meaning that everything you need is provided in the room's kitchen/fridge so you can have it at anytime it suits you.I found it was quite generous and of good quality.The owner is an amazing Greek lady who went all the way to help us with anything we asked for.Finally,the place is situated in a traditional Cycladic village,away from the tourist buzz .There are no cars or motorbikes as there is only a network of small cobbled paths.But in the same time the village is close to Oia(one km from it)which is a major tourist/sunset spot (and very busy as a result).On the whole I would say that Heliophos is an ideal place for people who don't like big,super luxurious hotels but prefer small,traditional places with more personal service,even if that means that you have to carry their bags down a few steps.After all this is part of experiencing the traditional architecture of this part of the world.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WHITEcat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Very nice location, really beautiful place! Sofia, the owner, is really kind and helpful! She gave us all the information we needed about the island, where to eat, what to see etc... The breakfast was really delicious, with fresh bread, a variety of jams, yogurt and local products of Santorini. Our room was really comfortable and beautifully decorated! The decoration of this hotel is something unique, Sofia has decorated this place with objects that she collected from her trips to all over the world! If we visit the island of Santorini again, we will certainly stay there!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleni324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Well we did pay the cheapest price so I suppose we got the cheapest room. I think all the other happy reviews are from the lucky ones that did get the rooms as advertised and the unhappy customers got the same small dated room. It is in a nice place and I dont think the walk into Oia was that long at all. Our room was very small. It wasnt particulary clean (crumbs on table and chairs etc) and 'bathroom', well its an experiance. Its a cupboard really with a huge sink unit in, toilet and shower head with wrap around (you) curtain. A wet room really but very small. It did the job but probably the worst bathroom ever! There was a small sink etc in room, not needed really. The bed was small with a torn tatty net over it and a very old cushion with a ciggarette burn in, nice. And I swear the bed had a single bed size sheet on so there was plently of sheet tug-of-war at night! The breakfast was very basic set out on a table that you also have to sit around, bit cramped and awkward really especailly if everyone is speaking in French! (the owners 1st language) The outside area is nice.
But finding the place!!! As others have stated the owner doesnt speak good English so directions from her over the phone were useless. For reference - head towards Oia. When you've come arouund the mountain road and start seeing buildings again on the right you will see a restaurant called 'Santorini Mou' turn right just after. Head down the hill and turn first right into a small carpark. You will have to park here or get out the taxi. At the other end of carpark from where you entered there is a footpath, head down here and keep to the left going down hill. You will hopefully start seeing signs for it now. it'll be on the right - phew! Quite a trek with heavy luggage!
We didnt really spend much time at the accommodation so it served our purposes but would'nt reccommend.

Room Tip: Pay abit more??
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MWIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed at Heliophos for three days. The room was nice, each room has it's own patio or balcony. These are old houses built into the hillside turned into a lovely bed and breakfast. Very charming!

When we arrived we were disappointed to find that the air-conditioning advertised was in fact "natural A/C" owing to the fact that the rooms are built into the hill and "stay cool". Our concerns were for nothing. The A/C was not necessary, the room stayed pleasantly cool and there was a fan if needed.

The owner, Sophia, is wonderful! A more lovely, hospitable woman could not be asked for!

A great place to stay just a short 5-10min walk into Oia. Peaceful and beautiful!

Room Tip: Sorry, there is no pool, accidentally rated it and can't unrate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank getoutdomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.6 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.0 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Finikia Memories
Finikia Memories
#35 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.5 mi away
Villa Agnadi
Villa Agnadi
#44 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heliophos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliophos

Property: Heliophos
Address: | Finikia Village, Oia 84702, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heliophos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional SANTORINI vacation away from masses. Just 1.5 kms from the famous Oia, with the indescribable view of the largest volcanic caldera in the world, the small village of Foinikia, inhabited mostly by locals, remains in ancient times, before the tourist rush. The villagers with their donkeys, farm laborers and women who talk to their white houses, form a unique atmosphere. Studios Heliophos, in the heart of the village, has been renovated with great respect for rural life, and offers holiday really very quiet, apart from the crowds of tourists, but not far from the commercial and tourist center of Oia or surrounding sandy beaches at 3 kms (Note that inside the volcanic caldera of Santorini no beaches, which are only found around the island). Location: The village Foinikia is 1.5 km from OIA and caldera of Santorini, 15 km from the airport. At 100 meters there is free parking, local bus stop agency and rental cars and motorbikes. Rooms: Each studio decorated with taste, has its own veranda with view, Satellite TV, CD player and radio and are air - conditioned. Wi-Fi Internet. The kitchen is equipped (Coffee maker, toaster, electric plates-fridge), always full of required for complete breakfast included in the price (milk-coffee-orange juice-butter-buns-jam). Possibility of use the large terrace and large communal kitchen, washing machine, dryer and linen included. Bathrooms: private bath with shower, hair dryer, hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Heliophos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliophos Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing