We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute studio, fantastic view, good management”
Review of Casa Sofia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Sofia
Ranked #27 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Cute studio, fantastic view, good management”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We loved our stay in the Casa Sofia studio. It's just like the pictures - and that's good. The communication with the owner Maria was very good and she also helped us with a car rental.

The tiny kitchen includes a sandwich press that we really enjoyed using and you're walking distance to more than one shop for supplies.

As others have said, you have to be quick with your showers but the views make this self-catering apartment a dream. I highly recommend it. Not good if you have trouble going up and down steps - but even then, if you take your time - it's worth it! Loved our stay and the price was good for Oia - after all, you're paying for that GLORIOUS view.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sea-lon-sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    5
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Excellent value in excellent location. I would have given it a better rating, but we had a family emergency while there (my father passed). Our cell phones did not work there and when my family called Casa Sofia's number, the response was "this is not a hotel, it is a house". They ended up calling the American Embassy. They did end up leaving a note for us, but you would think they get many calls regarding lodging questions?? Maybe it was the language barrier.
Overall, we loved the place. There are 80 steps down to the house and 80 steps back up, so be in shape. We were told we could walk 250 steps down to a beach and take a donkey back up. We ended up at the "beach" on a boat trip we took...there is no beach and no donkeys...so don't do it!! Ate at the Blue Sky, very good. The bus is a great way to get around. Very easy to use. The cafe pool was closed during our stay and it was pretty hot during the day. Took bus to beach areas.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pigglywiggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2010

If you want a picture perfect view at a great value, Casa Sofia is for you. It was an adorable little "cave house" built right into the cliffs in Oia Village in Santorini. It was very clean and everthing was white and blue. It was directly below the blue domed building you see in all the pictures of Santorini and had an amazing view of the Caldera. Maria Fouka was a pleasure to work with while securing our reservation. She also arranged a rental car for us and was so incredibly helpful. Vasilly helped us with our baggage when we arrived and was very helpful too. At 80 euros, this was a great deal for a quintessential Santorini experience. If you're looking for luxury and an American style hotel, this is not for you. But really, why go to Greece then? A few items to note. If you are very out of shape or have any type of walking problem, this might not be the place for you. There are many steps to get to and from the main pathway in Santorini, but this is typical of the cave houses in Oia. The room itself is small--a double bed, small desk, shelves and rack for hanging, a few steps down to a small kitchenette with a sink, microwave and refrigerator. The bathroom was very clean and nice but you did have to take a shorter shower to keep the water hot. Santorini is general conserves water and you cannot drink water out of the tap but they did provide a large bottle of water for us and it's very inexpensive to buy. I would absolutely go back to Casa Sofia again and high recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnellyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We just left beautiful Santorini and Casa Sofia two days ago and I couldn't wait to write this review. I travelled with my husband and four children (14-22) and we occupied 2 rooms. My husband and I stayed in the studio, my children in a larger spacious apartment. Maria was amazing in getting all the arrangements done, including a car rental company which greeted us at the airport. Visillis met us at the Bus Station and showed us where to park and he helped carry our luggage to our rooms and gave us helpful tips about the island.. As previously mentioned, the walk down to the house takes only a few minutes but is SO worth it once you get there. Privacy, tranquility and a beautiful view from our patio. The rooms were clean, and we too left our doors open to enjoy the fresh ocean breeze each evening. Maid service was provided each day along with a large bottle of water.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mymiami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We stayed here after reading the TA forums and the website of the Casa as there were no reviews. We stayed in the studio.

We are glad we took the punt based on no reviews. Maria is very helpful on the phone when booking and can arrange hire cars, transfers, etc or just provide directions.

When we arrived (by hire car, which we recommend) we called Maria and within 5 minutes the extremely friendly and fun Vassilis arrived to help us with our bags (and I mean help, he carried both our 20kg cases all the way to the Casa. This guy deserves a medal). He also gave us a couple of good tips for tavernas and places to see.

The Casa is located about 30/40 steps or so down from the main path of Oia. Its cut into the rock face. Its not too strenuous a walk (Vassilis takes the bags anyway) and is fine for anyone of middle fitness. I would avoid it if you are disabled or extremely unfit (although to be honest, avoid Oia totally if that's the case). Its about 3 minute walk to the main square and the same to the castle (its located halfway between the two, down the hill).

The Casa itself is very pretty. The view is spectacular and the little veranda has a table and couple of chairs to sit and read / drink wine etc. You can't see the sunset from here (as with anywhere on this side of Oia), but its only 2 minutes to the castle so don't worry about that.

The Casa has a little kitchen, although we didn't use it so can't comment. It has a microwave / grill and little hob and a fridge (which we did use). It also has its own private shower room. The only down side of this is that the hot water tank is small (20 litres). That means about 5 minutes of showering before a reheat is needed (which takes 20 minutes) but the shower is big enough for two people unlike most Greek showers.

Overall this place is extremely romantic, very private and tucked away. The price is good for Oia and we would definitely stay again. We stayed mid-May and it was pleasant, although I don't think there's air conditioning so it might get hot in summer. There is a fly screen door, so you could leave the door open no problem (its totally private and safe, so no need to worry about this).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#43 of 56 in Oia
349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Sunset Villas
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nikos Villas
Nikos Villas
#46 of 56 in Oia
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#41 of 56 in Oia
383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marcos Rooms
Marcos Rooms
#28 of 34 in Oia
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sofia

Property: Casa Sofia
Address: Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Casa Sofia Hotel Oia
Casa Sofia Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing