We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicate tastes”
Review of Fanari Restaurant

Fanari Restaurant
Ranked #59 of 95 Restaurants in Oia
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Athens
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicate tastes”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

During my staying in Fanari villas in Oia, i enjoyed the famous sunset in the fanari restaurant. I ordered oysters which was excellent in taste and style. Congrats to the staff of the restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Christos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    44
    20
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Once in a lifetime experience"”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

It was an once in a lifetime experience combining great food, services and one of the best views at Oia's sunset. Elegant Mediterranean tastes and great hospitality.

Helpful?
2 Thank teonikolako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyfada, Greece
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A culinary experience like no other”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A couple of friends and I stayed in Fanari Villas Hotel for 3 days . So , it was of course essential for us to also visit *that* famous restaurant that everybody was talking about . We later realised that it's famous for not just one , but for a number of reasons .

The service was excellent and extremely friendly . Really nice people . The atmosphere was incredibly peaceful and calm. The only thing you could hear was a symphony of silverware gently touching the plates (I'm not even joking right now) and soothing Ambient orchestral music .

And that view . That breathtaking view . And that sunset . God .

Anyways , let's get to the best part - The Food !!! From the starters , we especially liked the soft beef carpaccio that had an exquisite sugary hint . From the main cources , the salmon - (it was a chef's suggestion ) - was perfectly cooked and each bite was a delicious blend of spices and aromas + a delicate hint of sea salt . And for the dessert , I'm actually quite fond of fruit so I decided to go for the "exotic pineapple" that had a subtle sambuca aftertaste . Sweet , cool and fresh , an ideal last course of a meal .

All in all , an incredible experince , will definitely visit again when in Oia .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Athanasios N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Choose your meal wisely!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this to see the sunset, great table but Mother Nature didn't give us a great show, a little overcast.

Service was good, attentive and timely. We all ordered different main courses, my starter was very disappointing, the mussels were small and clinging to their shells, no plumpness about them, didn't seem fresh. My husbands salmon and parmesan crisps were simple and tasty. I had the salmon as main meal, gorgeous sauce, but very bland accompaniments. The pudding wasn't worth the effort, didn't expect chocolate blancmange.

Our friends starters and mains looked better, octopus, lamb, steak. Too late to change my opinion on my own experience. Choose wisely!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Annieb1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect meal in a perfect setting”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have been pleasantly surprised with Fanari restaurant. After finding that the few recommendations that we had were all reserved for the sunset, we could find a table at Fanari. If you don't like walking stairs, it is probably not for you and you won't reach it as you must walk down steep stairs but you'll miss a perfect spot just under the famous wind mill for fabulous pictures and sunset views. Regarding the food, we had our best Greek salad there and we highly recommend the grilled vegetables with melted cheese (manouri I think). We followed by the fish of the day, a see bass cooked to perfection and very fresh served with some grilled peppers very tasty. The house white wine was good for 7€ the glass. We paid 99€ for two appetizers, two entrees and two glasses of wine. A bit pricey but worth every penny. The staff was very nice and accommodated our request to leave before 9 pm to catch our bus back to our hotel in Kamari.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Schmeky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fanari Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fanari Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing