We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice venue for a romantic meal”
Review of Ochre Restaurant

Ochre Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 95 Restaurants in Oia
Price range: US$15 - US$60
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our Chef Panagiotis Kerpelis is obsessive about the culinary details and fundamental techniques that are the foundation of an exciting culinary imagination and a kitchen that delivers the very best products of the earth to the table.No detail or element can be less important or more important than another.Because a great meal is not one that fills you up.A great meal is a kind of journey that returns you to sources of pleasure you may have forgotten and takes you to places you haven't been before.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice venue for a romantic meal”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We were welcomed with a nice free amuse bouche of minipittas and taramosalata. They had a seafood moussaka at 19.50 which was fantastic. The ordinary moussaka was ordinary. Very good service and hot food, unlike Pelikanos (see review). The Calamari and kleftidakis were okay, but the seafood moussaka was definitely the star of the show. Nice views too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hardy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    176
    89
    37
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice food, great view, lovely people!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Had dinner here last week, we actually had a late reservation but showed up about 15 min before sunset and explained we were coming back later for dinner but did they perhaps have a table we could just grab a drink at and watch sunset? They were happy to accommodate (although I think they thought we were a little nuts to come and go like that, we just didn't want to each that early!) and actually had a perfect table on their little balcony outside. Lovely view, best sunset we had on Santorini with just a few umbrellas in the foreground of our pictures. Dinner was very nice later, not spectacular but pretty good, I think we both had some sort of seafood with pasta. I have a tart of some sort as an app and it was huge. A nice touch - once the sun sets and the air immediately gets cool they bring around blankets to keep you cozy! And the service was very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkeppler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“View not as good as we hoped”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We, like everyone else, went for the view of the sunset. It is in a great position, perched on the very edge of Oia, however the view was somewhat less than we had imagined. We did ask for a table with a good sunset view when booking, and arrived in plenty of time, however those tables had apparently all been taken and we were left with a view of TV aerials and not very pretty roof tops. We did wander around to get a better view to take photos but in all honesty, you can get better photos by walking outside and sitting on the wall (along with hundreds of others!).

The food was OK, although certainly not the best in Oia and you are paying a premium for the supposed view. The service from the girls was however, exemplary. Efficient, smiley and friendly. It is a place to go early, we left just after 8.30 and were the only patrons left at that point.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Longhaul88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It's about the view, not the food.”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Go for the view. Once. The food is good, but I wouldn't say great. I would recommend going about 30-60 minutes before sundown so you can set down and enjoy. Make sure you allow time to get through the crowd that pretty much blocks the little path waiting for the sun to go down.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GC_WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant at the tip of Oia with a great view!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I were staying in Oia for part of our honeymoon and we came here twice during our stay. This was our favorite restaurant in Oia due to the great staff, ambiance, and great food. I got the stuffed octopus both times and my husband got a seafood pasta the first time and a stuffed chicken roll the second time. The Santorini salad was also his favorite on the trip. The was the food was displayed was very high end as well. The staff was very attentive and probably the friendliest during our 10 day trip to Greece. Wish I was back there now!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ts13sievers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ochre Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ochre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing