We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ochre Restaurant

Ochre Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 91 Restaurants in Oia
Price range: US$15 - US$60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our Chef Panagiotis Kerpelis is obsessive about the culinary details and fundamental techniques that are the foundation of an exciting culinary imagination and a kitchen that delivers the very best products of the earth to the table.No detail or element can be less important or more important than another.Because a great meal is not one that fills you up.A great meal is a kind of journey that returns you to sources of pleasure you may have forgotten and takes you to places you haven't been before.
Huddersfield, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice view, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

As the title suggests it has a great view of the sunset and that's what you are paying the high price for.
The food was average and over cooked and the service was very rushed. We won't be going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexf81171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    170
    87
    36
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucerías, Nayarit, Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We tried to eat at Ochre tonight. It was recommended to us by our hotel as THE place to see the sunset in Oia. We ordered the lobster with spaghetti. After about 35 minutes and no food, we asked the waiter about the status of our food. He said that lobster takes 30 minutes. (really? Don't think so). He said 3-4 minutes more. Nearly a one hour wait and the lobster finally came overcook, rubbery and tasteless. We couldn't eat it yet they wanted to charge us for it which we refused to pay for.
If you go, don't order lobster. In fact, don't go for sunset unless you like being overrun by tourists with cameras.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous - a must in Oia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is the place to go.
Great food, great sunset, great wine and great people.
Our waiter Miro was wonderful, we actually ate their twice on our trip. The 2nd night after the sunset it got chilly so we went inside and finished our meal in the wine room - so amazing.
After a week of eating fish in Israel I tried the Moussaka - it was awesome.
The owner was there the 2nd night and brought us dessert on the house (which we never eat) it was so good we finished both the homemade baklava and the milk cake. OMG
This is seriously a must - do not miss it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing sunset views, service, food & cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Me and my friends stayed in Oia last month. We were staying amongst the white caves which is very pretty but the wrong side of Oia to see the sunset. We came across Ochre when we were having a walk around and there was a lovely view of the sea and the staff were very friendly and helpful when we persistently mentioned our desire to see the sunset.
As we arrived in the evening, we were treated like royalty. I specifically want to name check Kostas who treated us 3 girls like royalty and gave us (well I think so anyway) the best seat in the house. The service was excellent and the food and cocktails really tasty. We never felt hurried and as the sun began to set and the temperature cooled, the staff handed out blankets, actively encouraging us to stay even though we were not ordering anymore food.
I cannot think of anything bad about this place. The price is not cheap but nor it is very expensive given the quality and taste. We loved it so much we went a couple of times and we came back on out last day on the island to say bye to them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thuy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, TN
Level Contributor
155 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“We ate here twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We loved Ochre. Honestly, it was the amazing staff/service and amazing sunsets that pushed this to a 5-star. The food was really good....but it's the whole experience that makes this a place you need to visit. Our first dinner we stayed with a "fresh catch"...and even the food was 5-star. Our 2nd dinner, we stayed on the standard menu, and the food was more of a 4-star meal.

The staff...5-star every visit. We really enjoyed the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ochre Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ochre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing