We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect to watch the sunset but pricey”
Review of Ochre Restaurant

Ochre Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 99 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$60
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our Chef Panagiotis Kerpelis is obsessive about the culinary details and fundamental techniques that are the foundation of an exciting culinary imagination and a kitchen that delivers the very best products of the earth to the table.No detail or element can be less important or more important than another.Because a great meal is not one that fills you up.A great meal is a kind of journey that returns you to sources of pleasure you may have forgotten and takes you to places you haven't been before.
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

Firstly the staff work very hard and were extremely helpful and accommodating. All of the food we enjoyed for the different tastes selected. The Rose recommended was beautiful. The sunset view is spectacular and uninterrupted. Only issue was the price as mentioned by others...

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank CraigW3162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

Ate here on the recommendation of our high end property. I don't usually mind paying a high price for a fantastic meal however I did find the prices here were way overpriced for the meals. Food was very good. However, let's be real, you are paying for the view which is spectacular. So I suppose I'm paying an extra 100euro for a family of five just to get the beautiful sunset views. Service was mostly attentive. One issue was we ordered a tuna dish medium rare and it came well done and we have to send it back and wait 15 minutes while all of us were already finishing our meals.
I give it a 3 1/2 star because of the tuna being overcooked as well as the overpriced food. However, the food quality was good and the views amazing and we did have a premium table as well.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaverickJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Ochre -
Didn’t usually contribute to these reviews but this occurrence drives me to do so. Great view and a stunning sunset started the evening, then things went down hill...
Slow service, incorrect meals and the a 30 min gap when they forgot my sons meal - chicken gyros which came RAW

The tried to make amends and we’re very apologetic but somehow they still served raw chicken!!!!

Luckily in the dim light my wife picked it up before he started to eat it.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank markmedwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

First the good stuff—the food was outstanding, fresh and delicious. The sunset was stunning. Now for the not-good stuff. Overall the service was completely disorganized. Although we made a reservation, when we arrived, they seemed not to understand the concept of a reservation and started scrambling to find a table, finally giving us a table for two even though there were three of us so it was very crowded. We baked in the sun for quite a while until we could finally flag down someone to bring us water. On the good side, we shared a wonderful Greek salad and pita bread eventually. Then our entrees arrived—2 of them. We waited and waited and waited for the 3rd entree since we didn’t want to start until everyone had their entree. Meanwhile the food we received was getting cold while the waiter tried to explain why it wasn’t his fault. Whatever. So while the food was wonderful and sunset was gorgeous, the lack of professional service is why they get a 2!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank OkieTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Food was average and extremely overpriced. Staff was unprofessional and dressed like FBI agents for some reason. Took them 30min to split a bill, and messed up orders. Our greek guest companion overheard them talking rudely behind our backs throughout the dinner, and was even asked to explain the dish of the day, because the waiter’s english was insufficient.
The sunset view was nice though.
Would not visit again.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank henningdahlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ochre Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ochre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing