We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing family run local spot off the beaten path!”

Candouni Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 99 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 5 December 2018

This is a MUST! It was recommended by so many locals that we met. We only had time for lunch, but would've absolutely come back for dinner if we had time. The owner was so friendly and had a story for every dish on the menu. He was passionate about his family business and recipes and you could taste the love in every bite! Highly recommend the roasted calamari in pesto. If you go for dinner, you probably need a reservation.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank kellical1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2018 via mobile

We were in Oia in second week of March and there weren't many restaurants open. We found Candouni as we were just walking around and heard some live music and just happy noises. Best find ever. Such a happy vibe this restaurant has. We ate food and came back again and then came back again for some more. We stayed 2 nights in Oia and had food here thrice.From home made baklava, to sardines, to home style potatoes and prawns and finally the famous walnut cake and fig ice cream, everything super fresh and super tasty. For me Oia is Candouni.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank dbwyqwiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2018

First and foremost- YOU NEED A RESERVATION! The awesome manager at our hotel made our reservation for us, but you will NOT be seated without one! We went on a night when they had live music, which was absolutely amazing. It was hands down the best dinner we had while in Santorini. Although this restaurant is not on the water, the atmosphere is that of a very traditional Greek restaurant- it feels like going back in time! It is partly outdoor, party indoor. There's candles everywhere, trees above you with gorgeous flowers on it. The good was excellent- I had the seafood pasta and my husband had the lamb chops. It is a very romantic place and it was very cozy and welcoming. We LOVED IT HERE! It was a great recommendation from the manager at our hotel.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dralexisorlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Have been there many times and the food was delicious every time.It is a family restaurant not to miss.Warm welcome from the staff and the owners that are lovely people! Don’t miss the Greek traditional dips, the risotto, the lamb and the chocolate lava! Thank you for taking such good care of us, hope to return to Santorini and have a tsipouro with you guys!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank efikama .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

This is a very good Greek restaurant, our dishes were all tasty, good value and service.
There were local guitar players playing authentic Greek music which was really nice.
Recommended for an authentic Greek evening.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Niels L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Candouni Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Candouni Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing