We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous View of the Caldera”
other travellers have booked this property
Part of the view from the terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Part of the view from the terrace
children in our terrace looking at the cruise boats serenity
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Part of the view from the terrace
children in our terrace looking at the cruise boats
serenity
Small Studio sleep above the sea
Apart 2 view from the window
Apart 2 king_bed
Apart 2 king_size_bed
the humidity shapes the colour on the walls
apart_2_dining
Kitchen with dish washer in apartment cavehouse
Large apartment
Apart 2 kitchen_window
Apart 2 dining.JPG
Apart no 2 entrance to the kitchen
Apart 2 veranda
Large Studio 1 window
Apart 2 veranda view
Large Studio 1 sofa_bed
Large Studio double and single bed
Large Studio  windows
Small studio_bed_view
Studio terrace
Small Studio entrance
Large Studio 1 bathroom
Small studio entrance to bedroom
Small Studio bathroom with shower
View from the terrace
the beach with caldera view downstairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Oia, Santorini, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Dukeflys6...
Manawa, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous View of the Caldera”
Reviewed 19 May 2011 for a stay in July 2010

My wife and myself and our son, his wife and 3 teen children all stayed in the main (lower) and upper units. You cannot find a better view and the lodging was fine for a family group like ours. Many steps to climb each day, but we managed just fine and the exercise was good. I would not recommend that part for anyone in poor health though.

The place is an authentic "Cave Home" in the old style of the island. Great for casual stays.

Everything suited us just fine. Ana and her grandma were very helpful at all times.

Date of stay: July 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
19 May 2011
Dear Dan,
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have your family as guests. We were very happy when we found your gold necklace under the matress after your departure and more happy when you informed us that you finally received it in the US.

As we want to have happy guests the first think that we mention about the house is that it is not suitable for elderly people due to the stairs. Although, you proved that even grandparents, as long as they are in good shape, can managed it fine. We wish for you and Lynn always to be in good health and enjoy travelling with your son and your grandchildren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCURA
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“An Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 19 May 2011 for a stay in November 2010

First let me say that this place is just perfect. The caldera view was amazing. The rooms, views, food,local people are well worthy of a better reviwer who can better describe how well we were treated. Of how greatful to the owner of this place I am. If you want a amazing view with a welcoming owner. This place is it.

Date of stay: November 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thermwk
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Our all time favorite...”
Reviewed 20 December 2010 for a stay in December 2010
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Oia waves 8 days and didn't want to leave! The apartment was perfect, note that you aren't staying at a resort with all the amenities, and it is a hike down many steps to get to it...but we don't like resorts, and we love to get our exercise, so it was great! Besides, we had the excellent Lilia who insisted on carrying the heaviest suitcase up and down! We would return on a heartbeat, for the view, the patio, the atmosphere, the cave bedroom, the peaceful feeling we had while there.

Date of stay: December 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally T
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay in fabulous and unique accommodation”
Reviewed 12 October 2010 for a stay in June 2010
4
people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent the first four days of our honeymoon at Oia Waves. We understood that accommodation in Oia can be pricey so we wanted something really special, hence why the thought of our own private cave was so appealing. Corresponding with Ana couldn't have been easier, she was extremely helpful and sent pictures, maps, arranged a taxi for us and answered all our questions.

The accommodation is reached through rather a lot of steps (fine on the way down, but a little hard work on the way up!) but is worth it for the view out over the Caldera, still in the heart of Oia but away from the bustling streets (not that they are noisy at all!). The accommodation itself was very traditionally decorated but spotlessly clean, and the addition of a fridge and cooking equipment perfect for making snacks. The bedroom is beautiful, really romantic, and there is so much space in there, it's lovely!

We were enthusiastically welcomed by Ana's mother, who doesn't speak very much English at all, but is still easy to communicate with. She made us a welcome meal and made sure we were settled in.

Oia itself is fabulous. Obviously, the closer to the sunset you are, the pricier things get, but very reasonably priced tavernas can be found on the road behind the main street. For those on a little less budget (like us!) there are a couple of excellent bakeries where we'd just pick up a pastry for the evening and walk up to the sunset. We did splash out and visit the restaurant 1300, which is pricey but definitely worth a visit, absolutely beautiful food. The deconstructed Greek salad was divine!

And as for the sunset... I honestly didn't believe it was possible to get so excited about such a thing - I was wrong, and we went to watch it all four nights!

All in all, if you want to experience the wonder of Oia, and want a truly unique and unforgettable (in a good way!) place to stay, Oia Waves is for you.

Date of stay: June 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Reviewed 14 July 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Date of stay: June 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MA (USA)
Reviewed 7 July 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Date of stay: June 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South Africa
Reviewed 26 May 2010 for a stay in May 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Spaciousness and hospitality
Liked least: The stairs! hee hee
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.