We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views but the place needs to be cleaned up”
Review of House Nicoletta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House Nicoletta
Ranked #30 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This cave house is 2 storied and we stayed in the upper story. The house has spectacular views of the beautiful village of Oia, the caldera and the ocean. It is a 1 minute walk to the end of the island where you get the most amazing views of the sunset, a big crowd puller. The owner is a local and very friendly. Cleaning staff comes everyday to clean the bathrooms and make the beds. She is very friendly too. The balcony is small, good enough for 2 people though. No loungers. The downstairs bedroom can seem claustrophobic for some people. The upstairs roof could be a problem for tall people. The bathroom is adequate and functional. There is an additional bathroom outdoors. Would not bring small kids here at all. The place could definitely use some cleaning up and new pillows, they were old and very dusty. The bedcovers need to be changed too. The decor gives a feeling of it being old and dusty. the old dusty books could definitely go. If the AC is not on, the place has a stale smell also, i guess because of the ocean and very little ventilation. The kitchen area is too small even for simple foods, but ok for a couple of days. On the up side there is wifi. The place is close to the Main Street but not on it, so less traffic, less noise. It's more private.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rasin11025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This cliffside apartment proved for us to be the right choice in Oia (after weeks spent examining so many others on the internet).The location also overlooks the ruined castle near the prime sunset viewing spot - a half minute stroll from the apartment.The madding crowds are visible but far enough away not to be intrusive from the peaceful balcony.Loved the bohemian, terracotta/ red themed decor inside and out. The balcony was quite narrow with a nice double seat and just enough space (a tight squeeze) for a small table/chairs to eat out on - but what a view! Most of Oia is visible, and the other cliffside settlements, as the house is at the far end of the village.Minor downsides were not much work surface in the tiny kitchenette for preparing even cold food but ok for a few days.The upper double bed mezzanine was up quite steep and fairly open stairs, no problem for us, but not good for those who don't manage steps well - wouldn't have liked to bring the kids here when they were small! I didn't find this area's double bed arrangement (a bit like a futon) all that comfortable or easy to get in and out of - a bit cramped overall but not a major complaint.The adjoining small shower/bathroom was nicely done.
It was just a lovely place to come back to - half a minute off the busy main village 'drag' - about a 10 min walk to where we parked our car.
We were in the Upper Apartment(there is a Lower one).The terrace of the lower apartment is actually part of a public throughway and though quiet in October, it might be a problem in busier months.The lower apartment also seemed to be enclosed by its own courtyard and we thought this might make it quite dark -but maybe wrong re this.It wasn't an arrangement that would have suited us.Our apt had doors opening right onto the balcony and view.It was airy and bright inside given the effect of the open mezzanine floor.I hadn't fancied some of the cave houses in case they were a bit dark inside but this apartment isn't like that at all.
Very nice and helpful owner who met us at the public parking.
If we go back to Thira (and it is a bit too overdeveloped and touristy,if spectacular) we wouldn't stay anywhere else though some of the properties high above Ammoudhi harbour looked beautiful too but the view isn't quite so expansive.
You don't see the sun going down behind the horizon as such from Nicoletta's (not an issue for us) but this seemed to be the big draw for thousands every night who lined the castle rock and little streets above Ammoudhi.

Room Tip: The upper apt has the best views with a fully private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotlandmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRIGITTET717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whaler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.0 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.0 mi away
Canaves Oia Hotel
Canaves Oia Hotel
#12 of 56 in Oia
937 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
0.0 mi away
Santorini Secret Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House Nicoletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Nicoletta

Address: Ia Village, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
House Nicoletta Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing