We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Taverna Katina

Taverna Katina
Ranked #15 of 90 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located in Ammoudi Port in Oia on island of Santorini
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A bit dissapointing”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Before going to Santorini, all the reviews of the destination I read online said that you have to go and dine in Ammoudi at sunset, as this would be an unique experience. We did so, and although the experience was indeed fabulous, the view was divine, we were dissapointed by the food. The waiter recommended us two types of fish, a black brim and a red something, I can't quite remember the name of the fish, we paid 40 euros for 2 average size fishes and it didn't even taste good (not great). Also, they served the dish with no side, which was a bit awkard to me, as everywhere we ate fish they always served it with veggies or rice. One of the fishes tasted bitter, like it had iodine in it. The food ruined my night, as I had high expectations.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    305
    85
    39
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pick your fish and pick a seat!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Yurgos taught us all about the beautiful fish here and reserved our waterside seat for sunset.

It was gorgeous, beautiful service and really great food!!

Prices are comparable to any of the other 3 restaurants, (we tried another one later in our trip and wished we had just returned to Katina). Get the Seafood Salad! I haven't stopped dreaming of it since. We also got the saganaki and split a large scorpion fish. YUM!!
Yurgos surprised us with baklava for dessert. Best I had in all of Greece.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank eatprayyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great seafood!!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We had our reservation done through our hotel staff based on their recommendation. The restaurant was great, amazing food, staff and sunset view. Our table was very close to the sea and we were there at around sunset, we simply loved it. Fish was super fresh and one has the option to pick their seafood to be cooked on the spot. Highly recommended if one like fish and seafood.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carthage, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Traditional Greek Easter feast”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

While walking along the waters edge below Oia, we found this treasure of a Taverna. In the Greek Easter tradition, a lamb was roasting on a spit over coals near the pier's edge. As we walked by and stopped to take a picture, we were beckoned in by the owner. He offered us a nice table looking out over the sea. Explaining their special meal of roast lamb, we opted to give it a try. Beginning with a small bottle of wine for us each, to the greek salad with Feta, a generous amount of Tzatziki and bread, we savored every bite and every moment while waiting for our roast lamb meal. Everything about the taverna was memorable. Greek music, people chatting and enjoying the holiday feast, children shooting celebratory fireworks further down the pier, just one of those occasions that you want to savor and enjoy as long as possible. If you pass by without stopping in, it is your loss.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSH8412FV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views, amazing fish, amazing staff!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were recommended this restaurant by a couple we passed whilst walking down the 150 steps from Oia down to Ammoudi Bay! We sat on the table just centimetres from the waves and the view was absolutely fantastic.
We went for a whole Scorpion Fish which fed the two of us, along with a portion of Greek salad and fresh chips - those chips were the best we had tasted during our holiday in Santorini! The meal came to around 50 Euros, which wasn't cheap, but for the quality we received, definitely worth the pennies.
The staff were so attentive and warm, and treated us like good friends. We recommended this place to the people we passed walking back up to Oia and I'm sure they did the same after their meal. This was definitely the best we had in Santorini.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Katina also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Katina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing