We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great fun”
Review of Santorini Mou

Santorini Mou
Ranked #15 of 93 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Huntington Station, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, great fun”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had ready many good things about this restaurant and it turned out to be right across the street from our hotel. After spending our first day walking from Oia to Fira, we were too tired to go far so we ventured across the street and were so glad that we did. While you will not get a beautiful sunset view from the restaurant (we got it from our hotel before going for dinner), you will get authentic greek food that is delicious and enjoy the singing and bouzouki playing of the owner and friends. There happened to be a tour group having dinner at the same time and their Greek guides led them and other customers around the restaurant doing various Greek dances. It was so much fun to watch while we were eating. And comparative to other pricing in Oia, Santorini Mou was very reasonable. We will definitely go back on our next trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    200
    60
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great music and great evening”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a fabulous dinner at Santorini Mou, our dinner was great and so was the service. I was in Santorini about 17 years ago with my sister and daughter. It was so much fun to see the same man playing and singing on this trip (I'm not sure of his name) but I confirmed it was him when I arrived home and found an old photograph. After dinner you are treated with a little sip of Rekki. A fun night out in Oia.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank twebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredibly local and fun - Must Go!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We learned about this restaurant from the couple who was staying in our apartment prior to our stay and we are so thrilled we went. It is a bit of a walk outside of main part of Oia, about a 15-20 min walk. But it is worth it! Each night there is live music and the vibe is incredibly local, relaxed and fun. We went on their last night of the season, Oct 13, 2013 and the place was packed. It felt like we were invited to a private party! The food is incredible...wonderful, traditional Greek food - not to be missed. Unfortunately, I cant remember what we ate as my boyfriend and I drank 3 bottles of Ouzo and 2 carafes of wine....plus free shots of Rocket that the waitress passes around throughout the night. But I know the food was great! And the bill was the least expensive of all the restaurants we have been too! At the end of the night, which consisted of dancing and singing, we were invited to sit with the band and they toasted us on with champagne! What a special evening they created for this newly engaged couple. We will return! xoxo

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JillyCanino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a bit of a walk outside of the main town of Oia, but there is a bus stop nearby. The food is good basic taverna fare. We started with the zucchini fritters (very nice) Greek salad (fresh and delicious) and grilled fish (great flavor). Music began around 8:15 p.m. They have a fantastic lute player, and the owner and his buddy join in on their guitars and also sing. The entertainment makes for a fun night.

Décor is pretty basic....and a bit funky. Not a place for couples who want a quiet candlelit dinner, but perfect for families and those who just want a lively night out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Homely Greek food and feel”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We recently stayed in Oia and had dinner at Taverna Moy - wonderful ambiance with the live music and great home cooking - the Moussaka was yummy and the saganaki yummy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VRenz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santorini Mou also viewed

 
Oia, Santorini
 
Oia, Santorini
 

Been to Santorini Mou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing