We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel”
Review of Canaves Oia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Canaves Oia Hotel
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
santa monica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Very expensive without providing anything....If you want a view, get it elsewhere. Beds were like boards, pool tiny, staff unwilling to provide any help. Try asking for a side dish at lunch and you are told no way unless you order the full meal. They are not accommodating. Stay in another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank carly1rip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    73
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
81
641
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maywood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My husband I I were married in Positano Italy and spent our honeymoon in Santorini and Mykonos. Santorini is a dream. It is so beautiful and clean and incredibly romantic. Canaves was a beautiful hotel with views the you only see in pictures. The room was very new, large in size and very comfortable. The staff was courteous and accommodating and the breakfasts, served on our private terrace were very nice. The pool area was small but more than adequate and the food served there was delicious. The one complaint I have is that the drinks were not as good as I expected and very expensive. If you are going to have a drink have a Mojito. They were made pretty well. The service was superb. Needless to say, we are planning our trip back and will most definitly stay here again. We love it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Just in case you are confused (as I was), the Canaves is spilt in 2 parts. The hotel and suites. Each has it's own reception, pool and breakfast areas, but you can use either facilites which are just a few minutes apart.

We booked a standard room / cave in the hotel and it was more than adequate. Had great views, fruit and wine on arrival, fridge, sofa, air con, WIFI and dining table. We did have a sneaky look in the rooms with the plunge pool (hotel side) and they were amazing, very large rooms, light, airy, but we couldn't justify the extra cost. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard everyday, with clean towels and a turn down service in the evening.

The staff were fantastic and were keen to help you plan your holiday. They booked our restaurants and we always got great tables with fantastic views.

Highlights: Private dining experience at the hotel, it was the best meal we had and we were the only table there (max of two tables) The perfect way to watch the sunset and so romantic.
Wine tasting at the hotel, another great way to catch the sunset, tasting Santo wines and a meal at the hotel.
Semi private catamaran to watch the sunset, bbq and swimming (can be booked through hotel)
There are plenty of very good quality restaurants to visit in Oia, and plenty of bars and shops to fill the evening.


Improvements:
Kettle in room
Sun loungers on patio
Drinks expensive pool side (over 5 euros for a Mythos/ espresso 3.50 Euro)
We had no problems, but saw a couple of people struggling for sunbeds or brolly for shade (something that could be easily solved)

Over all an amazing holiday, the location is perfect and the hotel provides a very high level of service and some memorable food.(Watermelon and Sambucca! )

Room Tip: If money isn't an issue, go for a room with a plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Just returned from Santorini. we stayed at Canaves Oia, the hotel, for 6 wonderful nights. The staff was excellent. Rooms were well furnished with great new large bathrooms. Breakfast was more than adequate.The location is excellent and the views from our private terrace were amazing! My only negative comment is that my wife would have like a full length mirror. Not a big deal in the scheme of things. The onsight parking is a big plus.
Don't miss dinner in their restaurant. The food was amongst the best on the island.

Room Tip: get a room with a private patio. It costs a little more but it was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpr18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This was by far the most expensive hotel we stayed in on Santorini, but also the best value. The property itself is located a very short walk from the main pedestrian walk/ commercial enter of Oia and is a 5-10 minute walk to many restaurants, shops and markets. The room was excellent: the bedding was exquisite, the air conditioning strong (VERY important!), the spa-style shower was very nice. We spent quite a bit of time at the pool, which was small but very nice. We had a little bit of a problem getting a deck chair, but luckily did not have to wait too long. The pool deck overlooks the Caldera and has a breathtaking view. The pool bar is full service and the attendants very attentive and nice. The hotel restaurant, although is a short walk down the street and a strenuous climb to access it, is excellent as well. It shares the pool deck and also has extraordinary views. The restaurant manager was extremely hospitable and we enjoyed visiting with him very much. He told us that for the best fresh fish, we should let him know the day before so he can make sure they have it on hand for our meal. We did, and it was amazing. We had a entire sea bass, grilled to perfection, at our table. He said that because of the economy, much of the fish is immediately exported instead of send to local markets. This explained the nearly total lack of good fresh fish on Santorini. We were surprised by that. It is available, but by special order and is expensive. Our Sea Bass was around $100 E. For us it was totally worth it and a great experience. I have to say that every staff we encountered there was exceptionally nice, professional and gave excellent service. We definitely will go back. If you do go, be prepared for the fact that most of the hotel cascades down a cliff and there is A LOT of climbing of stairs. Our room was located approximately 60 vertical feet down from the street level. At the restaurant, there is an elevator, but you still have to climb some stairs to get there. It's no wonder all the locals are slim, muscular and beautiful. It's all the exercise and sunshine!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cargorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is our 2nd trip to Oia and our first time at Canaves. We stayed in the hotel section of the resort and had an amazing renovated room - huge sitting area, bedroom and bath. Also our own jacuzzi. Last trip we stayed at Katikies. Canaves has the same view, service and quality of food as Katikies. They are both excellent. We did walk to the suites section most days to sit by the larger pool and restaurant. A short walk and a few steps was a good opportunity to work off the great food and wine! Also had the private dinner one evening and another of fresh caught snapper from that same day. Our 2nd trip was definitely as good as the first - we will go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieH406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We (couple, 29, 32) stayed for 6 nights at Canavas Oia. Watch out what you book: the hotel has two properties, separated by a busy street (5 min walk). Canavas Oia Hotel - not worth the money at all!!! Room nicely renovated BUT: directly at the busy street mentioned above, small balcony, pool also directly at the street (people passing by look at you), lots of better views on the island and in Oia.
Canavas Oia Suites has a beautiful location and nice Pool facilities, BUT:
- Rooms are in "traditional style" euphemism for "not renovated"
- Breakfast is a joke for that room price (coffee is instant, cappuccino costs extra and turns out to be instant coffee with milk foam, very small selection of food)
- Reservation management is unfriendly and arrogant - our room was not free when we arrived, so we had to stay one night in the above mentioned worse part of the hotel and change rooms after the first night. No excuse or anything, at day of departure we had to go to the airport at 1pm and thus asked to stay 1h (!) longer in our room - that was denied. Starting of 11:50am we were called in the room to make sure we check out at 12pm... and this for 400 Euro / night????
-Way too few space at the pool, if you want to ensure a sunbed, better get up early
Positive aspects:
-Very friendly staff
-Great views and balconies
Summing up:
Don’t go there, not worth the money, there are many nicer hotels on the Island and also in Oia even for less money

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelcouple713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#9 of 56 in Oia
914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaves Oia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaves Oia Hotel

Property: Canaves Oia Hotel
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#4 Family Hotel in Oia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Canaves Oia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canaves Oia brand began with the launch of Canaves Oia Hotel, which led to the property’s “boutique” concept. 18 uniquely designed suites are complemented by uninterrupted caldera views and a pristine pool with hanging chandelier, among other assets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Canaves Oia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaves Oia Resort
Canaves Hotel Oia
Canaves Oia Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing