We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canaves Oia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canaves Oia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We spent one week here as part of a wedding. From the moment we arrived until our final day, the staff were just flawless (really beautiful people) and really made us all feel so welcome. The rooms were straight out of a vogue magazine and the views just breathtaking. I would highly recommend Canaves to anyone wanting to experience the best of the best!!! The whole week was what DREAMS are made of ;) Thank you soooo much and we'll see you all again soon xxxxxxx Jodie Young

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetochillout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    71
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
78
614
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Oia is a wonderful area in Santorini. Feel comfort going to the Canaves Oia Hotel. Stayed for one night and stayed in a two bedroom suite with it's own infinity pool. I am sure all the rooms are lovely. Clean. Well appointed. The bathrooms are small. But very clean and nice. Perfect hotel for honeymooners! The pool is beautiful overlooking the Santorini harbor and volcano. The breakfast buffet was so plentiful and beautiful and so delicious!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harrylover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

amazing. loved this hotel. stayed here for 3 days with my 15 year old daughter. though it was mostly couples, we had a great time relaxing at the pool after spending 5 days on mykonos, and 5 days in turkey. skip the beaches, and take a day or sunset cruise. it was a great way to meet people from all over the world. the hotel can book this for you at the same price as going to a local reservation agent. breakfast was wonderful. the staff was great. had 2 br suite, with big outside terrace area, shower in my daughters room a little low (shes 5'10'). overall well worth the price. paradise. gyro at the pool best anywhere. lovely, helpful staff all around. location streetside very convienent.

Room Tip: make sure you book your room in the "suites" part of the facility as the rooms, pool, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lor1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
465 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

One of the most unusual hotels in which I had to live is on the island of Santorini. It's no secret that the most popular place on the island - this little village of Oia, or as it is called - Oya. It is here that go up and down the crowds, squeezing each other along the narrow white streets. But the problem is that many tourists who arrived in Santorini with a cruise or an excursion to the neighboring island of Crete, there spend too much time trying as quickly as possible to see everything and everywhere in time.
In order to enjoy their stay more on the island, it is worth staying here for at least one or two nights.
We stayed at the Hotel Canaves Oia, which is included in the association Small Luxury Hotels. And indeed, the hotel is tiny, but very cozy, and most importantly - in the traditional local style.

By the way, the usual buffet breakfast at the hotel there. Instead, you order the evening before breakfast. The choice of a rather meager, but there is orange juice.

Standard room consists of a small hall, where is the couch, old TV and a small table.
Design a room decorated in traditional blue and white style. It looks very nice. Bathroom fairly compact. However, instead of the bathroom is a shower here.
Here the most scenic toilet, of all that I've seen. I guess you can sit for hours, immersed in the sea further and thinking about eternity.

And most importantly, a beautiful view in front of you! There's nothing better than to wake up with a sea view, balcony door, so we did not close at night. And finally, balcony, or rather a small terrace, which has sun beds for tanning and a table for gatherings. Hence, a stunning view that there is no doubt the main advantage of this hotel.

On the territory of Canaves Oia, there is a small pool.

If you're going to Santorini, be sure to think of a small stop for the night, you will not regret it.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Irunchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Thankyou for the most amazing and enjoyable stay at canaves. It was my partners and i anniversary, and canaves made it a memorable one. From the amazing plunge pool suite, to the gifts we received, I could not have asked for a better place to celebrate the occasion. The rooms, so unique, large and so beautiful, the food was amazing, including the beautiful strawberry daquiries( you must try one)
The view was unbelievable, i have never seen anything like it, it made it very hard to leave.
Thankyou so much Markos and All the staff at canaves for giving us such an amazing 2 days at the beautiful canaves. Cannot wait to return!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Canaves was an amazing experience for me and my wife! We stayed there for our honeymoon! We loved every second of our stay from the check in to the check out. The highlight was breakfast. You can actually have both buffet and room service breakfast without any extra charges... Oh well, we felt a little lazy so we chose room service breakfast! Tough life!! Having breakfast 200 meters above the sea level overlooking the breathtaking Caldera (the lost atlantis).. Staff alway smiling and assisting... Choose this property and you will not regret it!

Room Tip: All rooms and suites have their views to the Caldera area!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

My partner and I travelled to Oia with 10 of our friends and family and spent 6 magical nights at Canaves Oia Suites. We were there to get married and celebrate the start of our honeymoon with our friends and family. On arrival, Thanassis was there to great all of us and showed everyone personally to their rooms - everybody recieved an upgrade of some kind. We were upgraded to the newly renovated honeymoon suite and it was breathtaking. Thannasis has sourced a photo of my partner and I and it was sitting on the bedside table in a gorgeous frame, with rose petals on the bed, and champagne and fruit waiting. I had to pinch myself it was so beautiful!! The whole hotel was simply amazing, the views are to die for.
But the rooms and hotel are only the start of it. The staff were simply brilliant, by far the best service I have ever received in my entire life! Anything at all we requested was granted with a smile. We got to know all of the staff well and everybody felt like friends by the end of the week (while the staff kept their professionalism of course!).
The day of the wedding went like clockwork, and I must commend Thannasis for the huge amount of planning that went into the day. The attention to detail was second to none.
The restaurant food was gourmet, we ate there a few times. The location is excellent, really close to shops and restaurants.
Overall I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for anyone who wants a beautiful escape, a magical holiday or a small and intimate wedding. It was a week that none of us will ever forget! Thank you Canaves!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are stunning, you can't really go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatJU47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
2.8 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaves Oia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaves Oia Hotel

Property: Canaves Oia Hotel
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#4 Family Hotel in Oia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Canaves Oia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatically clinging to the cliff face, perched high over Santorini’s caldera, Canaves Oia Hotel has been transformed from 17th century cave houses. Consisting of two sections, Canaves Oia and Canaves Oia Suites are 100 metres apart and divided by the pretty cathedral of Oia. Each section has its own pool, pool bar, sun deck and reception and of course the same impeccable service.Enjoy breakfast on your balcony as you soak up the amazing vista. Afterwards, go into Oia and visit the Venetian castle and wander through the steep, narrow streets packed with small boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Canaves Oia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaves Oia Resort
Canaves Hotel Oia
Canaves Oia Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing